Photo: Innovation Salzburg/Wuger

Services for creatives

Filmlocation Salzburg

Breathtaking nature and mountain scenery, authentic country life, cosmopolitan character… Salzburg combines a variety of film settings in a small geographical area, making it a real favourite among film-makers. Film producers also benefit from the services of our Filmlocation Salzburg.

These services include:

  • Advice and support in obtaining funding and permits
  • Support in contacting authorities
  • Coordination with film funding institutions
  • Access to a network of media professionals and production support services (crews, equipment, studios, etc.)
  • Support in preparing press events and premieres
  • Help with location scouting

 

From local productions to Hollywood: The film funding of the State of Salzburg

For over 20 years, film funding has been an integral part of the creative scene. The State of Salzburg provides funding of up to 50 % of the money spent in the region for commercial film productions. It is open to national and international film producers and screenwriters who plan to carry out a film or TV production in the state of Salzburg, and it is not limited to any specific genre. The production must contribute to the local economy, particularly the film industry, by creating employment opportunities in Salzburg (Salzburg Effect and Salzburg Film Industry Effect). Additionally, the film must have international market potential, such as films produced for the entire German market or those with international distribution. Past projects supported by the film funding include the evergreen “The Sound of Music,” the Hollywood blockbuster “Knight and Day” starring Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz, the popular crime series “Die Toten von Salzburg,” the successful debut film by Austrian director Adrian Goiginger “Die Beste aller Welten,” and many more.

Contact

News

27. May 2024

Mr. Eddy: How interesting is Salzburg for Netflix?

In the name of our film location Salzburg, we had the opportunity to host a delegation from Netflix. During a stroll through the city center and Hellbrunn, the team could get an impression of Salzburg’s film scenery. Steve Eddy, Director of the DACH Region for Netflix, answered a few questions for us on that occasion.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

8. November 2023

Training courses for Filmmakers

Salzburg is the second-largest media hub in Austria and a versatile location for (film) productions. So, it’s the perfect place to start your education in this field

31. July 2023

“Algorithms, Brands & Emotions” at the Salzburg Media Summit

On July 28th, creatives, experts, and managers from the media and technology industry gathered for the traditional event organized by the Association of Film and Music Salzburg, Innovation Salzburg, and the Salzburg Chamber of Commerce at Schloss Leopoldskron.

5. April 2023

No movies without film funding

Interview with filmmaker Adrian Goiginger, who gained recognition through his heart-wrenching film, Die beste aller Welten, which showcases Salzburg from an unexpected perspective. We talked about the significance of funding for filmmakers, Salzburg as a filming location, and his personal developments since his debut work.

1. January 2023

The new Austrian film subsidy is here

The new funding model is intended to strengthen the domestic film industry and create jobs.

21. November 2022

Movie release of „The Magic Flute“

“The Magic Flute” has been in theaters since Thursday, November 17, 2023. As the name suggests, the film takes up the story of Mozart’s “The Magic Flute”. The result is a successful combination of fantasy spectacle and coming-of-age story, in which Mozart’s music takes center stage.

27. August 2022

Film location Salzburg: created for the camera

Manuela Strihavka has been a member of the Salzburg Film Advisory Board since 2002 and has been its chair since 2009. We interviewed her on July 27, 2022, on the occasion of the 20th anniversary celebration of the film location and the Media Summit.

29. July 2022

20 years of film funding: The Filmlocation Salzburg is a story of success

Salzburg is a popular location for TV and cinema films. Film has a great tradition in the city and the state – a tradition also supported by the state of Salzburg. Filmförderung Salzburg celebrated its 20th anniversary at the Media Summit in Schloss Leopoldskron on Friday, July 29.

14. July 2020

“Liefering is more inspiring to me than any trendy district in Vienna.”

Filmmaker Adrian Goiginger, known for his successful debut film “Die Beste aller Welten,” discussed with us in an interview why Salzburg remains his top choice as a film location.

Our Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.

Filmdreh Ambassadors Innovation Salzburg
Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Wuger

Services für Kreativschaffende

Filmlocation Salzburg

Eine beeindruckende Natur und Bergwelt, authentisches Landleben oder Weltstadtflair: Salzburg vereint auf kleinem Raum abwechslungsreiche Filmkulissen und lässt die Herzen von Filmemacher:innen höherschlagen. Unterstützung erhalten Produzent:innen von kommerziellen Filmprojekten mit dem Service unserer Film­location.

Zu diesen Leistungen gehören:

  • Beratung zur Filmförderung
  • Unterstützung bei Behördenkontakten
  • Koordination mit den Filmförderstellen
  • Vermittlung von filmtechnischen Dienstleister:innen, Crews, Equipment, etc.
  • Kontakte zu Medien
  • Unterstützung bei der Vorbereitung von Presseterminen und Premieren
  • Hilfe bei der Suche nach Locations

 

Von Heimatfilm bis Hollywood: die Filmförderung des Landes Salzburg

Seit mehr als 20 Jahren ist die Filmförderung fixer Bestandsteil der Kreativszene. Durch sie fördert das Land Salzburg kommerzielle Filmproduktionen mit bis zu 50 % der im Bundesland ausgegebenen Gelder. Sie richtet sich an nationale und internationale Filmproduzent:innen und Drehbuchautor:innen, die eine Film- oder TV-Produktion im Land Salzburg durchführen wollen und ist an kein Genre gebunden. Voraussetzung ist, dass die Produktion sowohl die Wirtschaft und insbesondere die Filmbranche mit gesteigerten Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten in Salzburg stärkt (Salzburg-Effekt und Salzburger Filmbranchen-Effekt). Außerdem muss der Film international verwertbar sein, also zum Beispiel Filme, die für den gesamten deutschen Markt produziert werden oder die international vertrieben werden.  In der Vergangenheit gehörten dazz der Evergreen „The Sound of Music“, der Hollywood-Blockbuster „Knight and Day“ mit den Hauptdarsteller:innen Tom Cruise und Cameron Diaz, die beliebten Krimis „Die Toten von Salzburg“, das erfolgreiche Erstlingswerk des österreichischen Jungregisseurs Adrian Goiginger „Die Beste aller Welten“ und viele mehr.

Kontakt

Aktuelles

Location Tour Netflix Team

27. Mai 2024

Mr. Eddy: Wie interessant ist Salzburg für Netflix?

Im Namen unserer Filmlocation Salzburg durften wir eine Delegation von Netflix empfangen. Beim Spaziergang durch die Innenstand und Hellbrunn konnte sich das Team einen Eindruck der Filmkulisse Salzburg machen. Steve Eddy, Director der DACH Region für Netflix, hat uns bei der Gelegenheit ein paar Fragen beantwortet.

Filmstudio-Couch-in-Cyclorama-Kulisse

17. November 2023

Salzburg bekommt erstes Virtual Production Studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam eröffnet erstes Virtual Production Studio Österreichs.

00-TBI-Website

8. November 2023

Ausbildung für Filmschaffende

Salzburg ist der zweitgrößte Medienstandort in Österreich und ein vielseitiger Standort für (Film-)Produktionen. Der perfekte Ort also, um hier auch eine Ausbildung in diesem Bereich zu beginnen.

31. Juli 2023

„Algorithmen, Brands & Emotionen“ beim Salzburg Media Summit

Am 28. Juli trafen sich Kreative, Expert:innen und Manager:innen aus der Medien- und Technologiewirtschaft zum traditionsreichen Event der Fachvertretung Film und Musik Salzburg, Innovation Salzburg und der Industriellenvereinigung Salzburg im Schloss Leopoldskron.

5. April 2023

Keine Filme ohne Filmförderung

Interview mit dem Salzburger Filmemacher Adrian Goiginger, der bekannt wurde durch seinen herzzerreißenden Film, Die beste aller Welten, der Salzburg aus einer unerwarteten Perspektive zeigt. Wir haben über die Bedeutung von Förderungen für Filmschaffende, Salzburg als Filmstandort und seine persönlichen Entwicklungen seit seinem Erstlingswerk gesprochen.

1. Januar 2023

Die neue österreichische Filmförderung ist da

Das neue Fördermodell soll die heimische Filmwirtschaft stärken und Arbeitsplätze schaffen.

21. November 2022

Kinostart von „The Magic Flute“

„The Magic Flute“ ist seit Donnerstag, 17.11.2023 in den Kinos zu sehen. Wie der Name schon verrät, greift der Film die Geschichte von Mozarts Zauberflöte auf. Das Resultat ist eine gelungene Kombination aus Fantasie-Spektakel und Coming of Age Geschichte, in der Mozarts Musik im Mittelpunkt steht.

27. August 2022

Filmstandort Salzburg: Für die Kamera geschaffen

Manuela Strihavka ist seit 2002 Beiratsmitglied und seit 2009 Vorsitzende des Salzburger Filmbeirats. Wir haben sie am 27.07.2022 anlässlich der 20 Jahre Feier der Filmlocation und des Media Summit interviewt.

29. Juli 2022

20 Jahre Filmförderung: Die Filmlocation Salzburg ist eine Erfolgsgeschichte

Salzburg ist ein beliebter Schauplatz für TV- und Kinofilme. Der Film hat in Stadt und Land daher eine große Tradition, die auch vom Land Salzburg gefördert wird. Die Filmförderung Salzburg feierte am Freitag, 29.7.2022 beim Media Summit im Schloss Leopoldskron ihr 20-jähriges Bestehen.

14. Juli 2020

„Liefering ist für mich inspirierender als jeder Bobo-Bezirk in Wien“

Der durch seinen erfolgreichen Debütfilm „Die Beste aller Welten“ bekannt gewordene Filmemacher Adrian Goiginger hat mit uns im Interview über den Standort Salzburg als seine erste Wahl als Filmlocation gesprochen.

1. Juli 2020

Am Filmset von „Die Toten von Salzburg“

In Salzburg rollt nicht nur die Filmrolle, sondern auch der Stift über das Drehbuch. Und das nicht nur im Fall vom Touristenmagnet Sound of Music sehr erfolgreich. Unter den bekannten Gesichtern, die in Salzburg schon vor der Linse standen, findet sich auch die Filmcrew von „Die Toten von Salzburg“.

Unser Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.