impressive place to grow your future

Working and Living in Salzburg

Life in Salzburg offers a lot. The combination of city living with the nearby countryside, diverse nature with recreational and outdoor activities, and cultural diversity attracts many people. Our Welcome Service provides you with all the information you need for living and working in Salzburg.

For those who want it all

From the flat Alpine foothills to the highest mountain, the Großvenediger at 3,657 meters, from thermal spas to ski slopes – the selection of leisure activities is endless.. In addition, Salzburg, like the whole of Austria, boasts political and social stability, safety, and a freely accessible and high-quality education and healthcare system. You have a choice: living in the city of Salzburg – a small yet cosmopolitan city that perfectly combines urban flair with proximity to nature. Or in the beautiful Salzburger Land, where diverse recreational activities are practically right outside your doorstep.

There are many compelling reasons that make Salzburg an ideal location for living, studying, researching, and working!

 

The Guide to Living and Working in Salzburg

Download for free

    Mobility

    The city and the countryside have a well-developed public bus, S-Bahn (urban rail), and regional train network. Over 40 million people use public transportation each year. Many Salzburg residents also rely on bicycles, thanks to the well-developed cycling network and short distances. Business and personal trips abroad are easily possible with Salzburg Airport, which is located near the city and easily accessible.

    Culture

    Salzburg’s arts and cultural scene is in season all year round, captivating visitors from around the world. While classical music enthusiasts have long been drawn to Salzburg for the prestigious Salzburg Festival and Mozart heritage, modern art also has a prominent place in Salzburg. The Museum der Moderne (museum of contemporary art) showcases national and international avant-garde art. For those who prefer performing arts, Salzburg offers venues such as ARGE Kultur, SZENE Salzburg, and Kleines Theater, providing a stage for the vibrant theater and dance scene.

    Beyond high culture, the region embraces its living traditions, from Krampus runs to the Rupertikirtag festival. Salzburg’s event and cultural scene offers a wide range of experiences, including concerts at Rockhouse and the Electric Love Festival.

    Work

    Salzburg is home to many international big players like Red Bull and BMW. In addition to these prominent names, the region hosts numerous small and medium-sized market leaders and innovators, bringing together various industries and a range of expertise in one place. Salzburg is one of the most dynamic economic regions in Europe and, after Vienna, the largest trading hub in Austria. It attracts businesses of all sizes and industries, providing job opportunities beyond the tourism sector. Alongside the IT sector, Salzburg hosts headquarters and leading companies from other sectors, which establish their own systems houses, data hubs, or IT development departments, revealing themselves as exciting technology companies upon closer examination. Innovative business informatics can be found in the strong sectors of trade, automotive, and banking. Digital media companies and some world leaders in Industry 4.0 solutions take advantage of the diverse benefits offered by Salzburg as an ICT location.

    Our Services

    Have you already decided on Salzburg or have you already arrived? We are here to support you!

    • Personal advice and initial clearing on housing and working in Salzburg
    • Neutral and free information
    • Support in contacting authorities and institutions
    • Networking events

    If Salzburg fascinates you and you would like to receive regular updates on life and job opportunities in Salzburg subscribe for our newsletter!

    Support for settling in Salzburg

    Mag. Ulrike Klingenschmid

    Talent Attraction Management, Welcome Service

    +43 5 7599 722 74
    ulrike.klingenschmid@innovation-salzburg.at

    Aktuelles

    8. November 2023

    Training courses for Filmmakers

    Salzburg is the second-largest media hub in Austria and a versatile location for (film) productions. So, it’s the perfect place to start your education in this field

    8. February 2023

    These companies in Salzburg have lots of IT know-how

    What do Red Bull, PALFINGER and Porsche Holding have in common? Headquarters in Salzburg. Does that surprise you? Many other large companies are based here – world market leaders, trading groups and global industrial companies.

    7. February 2023

    7 tips for intercultural work

    Culture influences our working life: a colleague’s aversion to new tools and ways of working, a colleague’s sympathy for clear structures and rules, or a colleague’s relaxed approach to deadlines – this can result in conflicts! But this is not inevitable! Intercultural competencies promote understanding for each other and strengthen cooperation.

    12. January 2023

    Salzburg beyond Mozart and high culture

    Here we have for you just a small selection of the many sporting activities that Salzburg has to offer. There is a lot to discover – in any season.

    11. January 2023

    Red-White-Red card: what you need to know

    Are you from outside the EU and would like to work in Salzburg? But you need to know where to start? This will give you an initial overview of how you can work in Austria as a skilled worker from outside the EU.

    18. November 2022

    These are our top 5 Christmas markets in Salzburg

    During the Advent season, one cannot escape Christmas markets in Salzburg. There are numerous markets in the city and countryside of Salzburg. Our editorial team presents you with their 5 favorite Christmas markets that you absolutely must not miss.

    30. September 2022

    COPA-DATA opens new building

    At the end of September, the second office building of COPA-DATA was opened in Salzburg. Modern workplaces for 120 employees were created there. We were present at the opening.

    14. September 2022

    These IT companies in Salzburg are looking for you!

    Do you have IT skills? Do you want to live and work in Salzburg? Wonderful! There are many IT companies in Salzburg that are looking for IT professionals. Large corporations, small family businesses or hidden champions – Salzburg has it all. No need for a lengthy search for the right employer in Salzburg – we have an overview for you!

    11. August 2022

    Salzburg Ambassadors: representing the location

    Its location, infrastructure and impeccable image make Salzburg a hub for business, art and culture. The Ambassadors programme launched by the state of Salzburg and Innovation Salzburg carries this image out into the world. The Salzburg Ambassadors help position our city internationally.

    Our Newsletter

    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.

ISG_DanielKusiak_cf-9

impressive place to grow your future

Leben und Arbeiten in Salzburg

Das Leben in Salzburg bietet viel. Die Kombination aus Stadtleben mit dem nahen Landleben, die abwechslungsreiche Natur mit Erholungs- und Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten sowie die Kulturvielfalt ziehen viele an. Unser Welcome Service versorgt Sie mit allen Informationen, die Sie zum Leben und Arbeiten in Salzburg brauchen.

Für die, die alles wollen

Vom flachen Alpenvorland bis zum höchsten Berg, dem Großvenediger mit 3.657 m, von Thermen bis zu Skipisten – der Freizeitfaktor ist hoch. Zudem kann Salzburg wie ganz Österreich mit politischer und sozialer Stabilität, mit Sicherheit sowie einem frei zugänglichen und hochwertigen Bildungs- und Gesundheitssystem aufwarten. Sie können wählen: Wohnen in der Stadt Salzburg – einer Klein-, aber auch Weltstadt, die urbanes Flair mit Naturnähe perfekt verbindet. Oder doch im schönen Salzburger Land, wo die vielfältigen Freizeitaktivitäten quasi von der Haustür weg möglich sind.

Es gibt sehr viele, sehr gute Gründe, die Salzburg zum idealen Standort zum Leben, Studieren, Forschen und Arbeiten machen!

 

Der Guide Leben und Arbeiten in Salzburg

Jetzt kostenlos downloaden.

    Mobilität

    Kurz und unkompliziert lautet in Salzburg die Devise in Sachen Mobilität. Stadt und Land verfügen über ein gut ausgebautes, öffentliches Bus-, S-Bahn- und Regionalbahnnetz. Jährlich nutzen über 40 Millionen Menschen die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel. Viele Salzburger:innen setzen außerdem auf das Fahrrad – das sehr gut ausgebaute Fahrradnetz und die kurzen Wege machen es möglich. Geschäftliche und private Auslandsreisen sind mit dem Flughafen Salzburg, der nur unweit der Stadt und dadurch leicht zu erreichen ist, einfach möglich.

    Kultur

    Salzburgs Kunst- und Kulturleben hat das ganze Jahr Saison und begeistert Besucherinnen und Besucher aus der ganzen Welt. Doch nicht nur die Anhänger:innen klassischer Musik kommen in Salzburg auf ihre Kosten. Zwar prägen die hochklassigen Salzburger Festspiele und Mozart prägen seit Jahrhunderten. Doch auch die moderne Kunst hat in Salzburg ihren fixen Platz: Das Museum der Moderne zeigt Kunst aus dem 20. und 21. Jahrhundert. Wer lieber den darstellenden Künsten frönt, ist in Salzburg ebenfalls richtig: Stätten wie ARGE Kultur, SZENE Salzburg und Kleines Theater bieten der starken Theater- und Tanzszene in Salzburg eine Bühne.

    Abseits der Hochkultur bietet das Bundesland viel gelebtes Brauchtum – vom Krampuslauf bis zum Rupertikirtag – und bietet von Konzerten im Rockhouse bis zum Electric Love Festival seiner Event- & Kulturszene ein sehens- und hörenswertes Angebot.

    Arbeiten

    Viele internationale Big Player wie Red Bull oder BMW tummeln sich in Salzburg. Neben den großen Namen sind kleine und mittlere Markt- und Innovationsführer im Bundesland, wodurch sich unterschiedliche Branchen und jede Menge Expertise an einem Ort sammelt. Salzburg ist eine der dynamischsten Wirtschaftsregionen Europas und ist nach Wien der größte Handelsplatz Österreichs. Salzburg vereint groß und klein und ist genau deshalb Anziehungspunkt für Unternehmen jeder Art und Größe und damit auch Anbieter von Arbeitsplätzen auch fernab des Tourismus: Neben der IT-Branche sind es auch die Headquarters und Leitunternehmen aus anderen Bereichen, die ihre eigenen Systemhäuser, Datenhubs oder IT-Entwicklungsabteilungen in Salzburg haben und sich damit beim näheren Hinschauen als spannende Technologieunternehmen entpuppen. Innovative Wirtschaftsinformatik ist in den stark vertretenen Sektoren Handel, Automotive und Banken zu finden. Digitale Medienunternehmen und einige Weltmarktführer für Industrie 4.0-Lösungen nutzen die vielfältigen Vorteile Salzburg als IKT-Standort.

    Unsere Services

    Sie haben sich bereits für Salzburg entschieden und/oder sind bereits angekommen? Wir unterstützen Sie!

    • Persönliche Beratung und erstes Clearing zum Thema Leben und Arbeiten in Salzburg
    • Neutrale und kostenlose Informationen
    • Unterstützung bei Kontakten zu Behörden und Institutionen
    • Vernetzungsveranstaltungen

    Salzburg fasziniert Sie und Sie möchten regelmäßig Updates über das Leben und Arbeitsmöglichkeiten in Salzburg erhalten?

    Unterstützung beim Ankommen in Salzburg

    Klingenschmid

    Mag. Ulrike Klingenschmid

    Talent Attraction Management, Welcome Service

    +43 5 7599 722 74
    ulrike.klingenschmid@innovation-salzburg.at

    Aktuelles

    00-TBI-Website

    8. November 2023

    Ausbildung für Filmschaffende

    Salzburg ist der zweitgrößte Medienstandort in Österreich und ein vielseitiger Standort für (Film-)Produktionen. Der perfekte Ort also, um hier auch eine Ausbildung in diesem Bereich zu beginnen.

    LBH_Werksansicht_06_2017-Web

    8. Februar 2023

    Diese Unternehmen in Salzburg haben großes IT-Know-how

    Was haben Red Bull, PALFINGER und Porsche Holding gemeinsam? Sie haben ihr Headquarter in Salzburg. Das wussten Sie nicht? Viele weitere große Unternehmen sind hier beheimatet: Weltmarktführer, Handelskonzerne und globale Industrieunternehmen.

    rawpixel-666928-unsplash

    7. Februar 2023

    7 Tipps für die interkulturelle Zusammenarbeit

    Die Kultur beeinflusst das Arbeitsleben: die Scheu des Kollegen für neue Tools und Arbeitsweisen, die Sympathie der Kollegin gegenüber klaren Strukturen und Regeln oder der lockere Umgang des Kollegen mit Deadlines – da kann es auch mal zu Konflikten kommen! Das muss aber nicht sein! Interkulturelle Kompetenzen fördern das Verständnis füreinander und stärken die Zusammenarbeit.

    12. Januar 2023

    Salzburg abseits von Mozart und Hochkultur

    Wir haben für Sie hier nur eine kleine Auswahl der vielfältigen sportlichen Aktivitäten, die Salzburg zu bieten hat. Es gibt viel zu entdecken – zu jeder Jahreszeit.

    11. Januar 2023

    Rot-Weiß-Rot-Karte: Das müssen Sie wissen

    Sie kommen aus einem Drittstaat und möchten in Salzburg arbeiten? Sie wissen aber nicht, wie Sie hier vorgehen sollen? Hier bekommen Sie einen ersten Überblick, wie Sie als Fachkraft aus einem Drittstaat in Österreich arbeiten können.

    18. November 2022

    Das sind unsere Top 5 Christkindlmärkte in Salzburg

    In der Vorweihnachtszeit kommt man in Salzburg an einem nicht vorbei: Christkindlmärkte. In der Stadt und am Land Salzburg gibt es zahlreiche davon. Unsere Redaktion stellt Ihnen ihre 5 Lieblings-Weihnachtsmärkte vor, die Sie keinenfalls verpassen dürfen.

    30. September 2022

    COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

    Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.

    14. September 2022

    Diese IT-Unternehmen in Salzburg suchen Sie!

    Sie haben IT-Skills? Sie möchten in Salzburg leben und arbeiten? Wunderbar! Es gibt viele IT-Unternehmen in Salzburg, die IT-Fachkräfte suchen. Große Konzerne, kleine Familienunternehmen oder Hidden Champions – Salzburg hat alles zu bieten. Damit Sie nicht mit lange nach dem richtigen Arbeitgeber in Salzburg suchen müssen, haben wir hier eine Übersicht für Sie!

    11. August 2022

    Salzburg Ambassadors: Botschafter:innen für den Standort

    Die Lage, die Infrastruktur und das tadellose Image machen Salzburg zu einem Zentrum für Wirtschaft, Kunst und Kultur. Das Ambassadors-Programm, das vom Land Salzburg und von Innovation Salzburg gestartet wurde, trägt dieses Image in die Welt hinaus. Die Salzburg Ambassadors sind die Botschafter:innen, die dabei helfen, den Standort international zu positionieren.

    Unser Newsletter

    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
    Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.