Photo: ORF Landesstudio Salzburg

19. July 2023

From Mozart to Hightech

In the Austria Picture that aired on ORF 2 on June 11th, our CEO Walter Haas stated, “Salzburg should stand for research, technology, and the future.” The program, produced by the Salzburg Regional Studio, focused on our innovation ecosystem.

Many associate Salzburg with World Heritage, Mozart, high culture, tourism, sports, and nature. Admittedly, the mentioned aspects are truly impressive. But Salzburg is so much more: Did you know that this small federal state has developed into a hotspot for research, technology, and innovation in recent years? In Salzburg, world market leaders coexist with hidden champions. Start-ups find fertile ground here, thrive, and are later sold for millions. Even companies from Silicon Valley have settled here because of the enormous potential for knowledge. Salzburg is also at the forefront of cancer research on an international level.

Innovation as a Driver of Growth

Salzburg relies on research and innovation as the foundation for the future. This pays off, as Salzburg’s economy is doing well – it ranks among the top 20 regions in Europe. It is also at the top of the per capita gross domestic product nationwide, with approximately 28 percent of economic growth coming from innovation, as Walter Haas knows.

The ORF program presents some of these growth drivers – all well-known Salzburg companies and research institutions, as well as the individuals behind them. They provide insights into why the small economic location of Salzburg has several advantages. Among those featured are:

Nicole Meisner-Kober from the Paris Lodron University of Salzburg:
The renowned researcher switched to the University of Salzburg after almost 20 years in the global pharmaceutical industry. Here, she leads a successful project (EV-TT) in the field of drug research and development. “I was convinced by the concept of intelligent specialization – to create critical mass at a small location and focus on a few topics where one conducts excellent research with sufficient resources to be internationally competitive,” says Nicole Meisner-Kober.

Dominik Engel, CEO of FH Salzburg:
FH Salzburg is in constant exchange with practical applications. “Business partners come to us with very specific questions, which we then work on and research at the cutting edge of knowledge and technology,” says Dominik Engel.

Stefan Huber, Head of the Josef Ressel Center for Intelligent and Secure Industrial Automation at FH Salzburg:
The northern part of the federal state is home to many industrial companies. The field of industrial automation, in particular, is highly competitive. The Josef Ressel Center for Intelligent and Secure Industrial Automation researches the fundamentals for digital assistants for industrial machines, making the machines more autonomous through artificial intelligence. This is intended to support and relieve the people operating the machines. Especially in this research field, collaboration with companies is essential. Therefore, cooperation partners from the business world include Copa-Data, B&R Industrial Automation, and TMK (SIGMATEK).

Clemens Brunner and Fabian Knirsch from sproof:
This start-up emerged from FH Salzburg. Sproof has developed a signature tool that allows for easy and legally binding digital signatures. “We engaged in research on the topic, both pursuing our doctoral studies in privacy and security areas, and, in the broadest sense, in digital signing. That’s how the idea for our start-up came about,” says Fabian Knirsch. Today, the five-year-old young company from Puch has 20 employees. They have also secured significant investments. However, they intentionally maintain their proximity to FH Salzburg, as Clemens Brunner explains: “We deliberately chose our location in the Wissenspark Urstein right next to the University of Applied Sciences to have short distances to potential new employees.”

Martin Klässner from be.ENERGISED (part of ChargePoint, formerly known as has.to.be.):
The company from Radstadt produces billing software for electric vehicle charging stations. Within a very short time, they managed to become a world market leader, attract a US corporation, and sell the start-up for 250 million euros. This is the highest amount ever paid for a start-up in Austria.

Marianne Kusejko from SIGMATEK:
The world market leader started in 1988 in a garage with a used soldering machine. Years later, the company revolutionized industrial automation. “Back then, it was a few young people who had the vision and courage to start their own business,” says Managing Director Marianne Kusejko about the founding time. Today, the company develops and produces hardware and software for large industrial machines worldwide.

Josef Atzler, Felix Spira, and Verena Fischer from Molecular Devices:
The company is one of the world’s leading providers of bioanalytical high-performance systems, software, and consumables for life science research as well as pharmaceutical and biotherapeutic development. In October 2022, the Organoid Innovation Center was opened, where the latest methods of 3D biology are used to work and research on laboratory-grown mini-organs. “We work with drugs in the brain medicine, cancer medicine, but also in digestion. So far, all of this has been done with mice and old cancer cell lines that have nothing to do with the current disease or affected organ,” says Managing Director Josef Atzler. This opens up great opportunities for drug research as it could render animal testing obsolete.

These examples are just a few of many that demonstrate that Salzburg is an optimal location for realizing ideas. Find out more about the business location Salzburg!

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

Our Newsletter

Reagenzglas-mit-Fluessigkeit
Foto: ORF Landesstudio Salzburg

19. Juli 2023

Von Mozart bis Hightech

„Salzburg soll für Forschung, Technologie und Zukunft stehen“, so unser Geschäftsführer Walter Haas im Österreich Bild, das am 11. Juni auf ORF 2 ausgestrahlt wurde. In der vom Landesstudio Salzburg produzierten Sendung stand unser Innovations-Ökosystem im Fokus.

Viele assoziieren Salzburg mit Weltkulturerbe, Mozart, Hochkultur, Tourismus, Sport und Natur. Zugegeben, die genannten Dinge sind auch wirklich beeindruckend. Aber Salzburg ist so viel mehr: Hätten Sie gewusst, dass sich das kleine Bundesland seit einigen Jahren zum Hotspot für Forschung, Technologie und Innovation entwickelt hat? In Salzburg sind Weltmarktführer genauso wie Hidden Champions zuhause. Start-ups finden hier fruchtbaren Boden, gedeihen und werden später um viele Millionen verkauft. Sogar Firmen aus dem Silicon Valley haben sich wegen des großen Potenzials an Wissen hier angesiedelt. Oder auch in der Krebsforschung mischt Salzburg international ganz vorne mit.

Innovation als Wachstumstreiber

Salzburg setzt auf Forschung und Innovation als Fundament für die Zukunft. Das zahlt sich aus, denn wirtschaftlich gesehen geht es Salzburg gut – es zählt zu den Top 20 Regionen Europas. Auch beim pro Kopf Bruttoinlandsprodukt ist das Bundesland österreichweit auf Platz eins. „Ungefähr 28 Prozent des Wirtschaftswachstums kommen aus der Innovation“, weiß Walter Haas.

Ein paar dieser Wachstumstreiber werden in der ORF-Sendung vorgestellt – allesamt namhafte Salzburger Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen sowie die Personen dahinter. Sie geben Einblicke darüber, warum der kleine Wirtschaftsstandort Salzburg so einige Vorzüge hat. Mit dabei sind:

Nicole Meisner-Kober von der Paris Lodron Universität Salzburg:
Die renommierte Forscherin wechselte nach fast 20-jähriger Tätigkeit in der globalen Pharmaindustrie an die Universität Salzburg. Hier leitet sie ein erfolgreiches Projekt (EV-TT) im Bereich der Wirkstoffforschung und -entwicklung. „Mich hat das Konzept der intelligenten Spezialisierung überzeugt. Also an einem kleinen Standort kritische Masse zu schaffen und sich festzulegen auf ein paar Themen, in denen man exzellente Forschung betreibt mit ausreichenden Ressourcen, um international kompetitiv zu sein“, sagt Nicole Meisner-Kober.

Dominik Engel, Geschäftsführer der FH Salzburg:
Die FH Salzburg ist in ständigem Austausch mit der Praxis. „Firmenpartner kommen zu uns mit ganz konkreten Fragestellungen, die wir dann am Stand des Wissens und der Technik bearbeiten und beforschen“, sagt Dominik Engel.

Stefan Huber, Leiter des Josef Ressel Zentrums für Intelligente und Sichere Industrieautomatisierung an der FH Salzburg:
Im nördlichen Teil des Bundeslands sind viele Industriebetriebe beheimatet. Besonders der Bereich der Industrieautomatisierung ist heiß umkämpft. Das Josef Ressel Zentrum für Intelligente und Sichere Industrieautomatisierung erforscht die Grundlagen für digitale Assistenten für Industriemaschinen, die die Maschinen durch künstliche Intelligenz autonomer machen. Das soll die Menschen, die die Maschinen bedienen, unterstützen und entlasten. Besonders in diesem Forschungsfeld ist die Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen essenziell. Kooperationspartner aus der Wirtschaft sind deswegen Copa-Data, B&R Industrial Automation und TMK (SIGMATEK).

Clemens Brunner und Fabian Knirsch von sproof:
Das Start-up ist aus der FH Salzburg hervorgegangen. Sproof hat ein Signaturentool entwickelt, mit dem man einfach und rechtsgültig, digital signieren kann. „Wir haben uns in der Forschung mit dem Thema beschäftigt, haben beide unsere Doktoratsstudien in Bereichen Privacy und Security und im weitesten Sinnen eben auch im digitalen Unterschreiben gemacht. Da ist die Idee für unser Start-up entstanden“, sagt Fabian Knirsch. Heute zählt das fünfjährige Jungunternehmen aus Puch 20 Mitarbeiter:innen. Auch hohe Investitionen hat man bereits an Land gezogen. Die Nähe zur FH hält man aber weiter absichtlich, so Clemens Brunner: „Wir haben unseren Standort im Wissenspark Urstein bewusst neben der Fachhochschule gewählt, um kurze Wege zu potenziellen neuen Mitarbeiter:innen zu haben“.

Martin Klässner von be.ENERGISED (Teil von ChargePoint, ehemals has.to.be.):
Das Radstadter Unternehmen stellt Abrechnungssoftware für E-Auto-Ladestationen her. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit ist es gelungen, Weltmarktführer zu werden, einen US-Konzern anzulocken und das Start-up um 250 Millionen Euro zu verkaufen. So viel wurde noch nie für ein Start-up in Österreich gezahlt.

Marianne Kusejko von SIGMATEK:
Gestartet hat der Weltmarktführer 1988 in der Garage mit einer gebrauchten Lötmaschine. Jahre später revolutionierte das Unternehmen die Industrieautomatisierung. „Es waren damals ein paar junge Leute, die die Vision hatten und den Mut, sich selbstständig zu machen“, sagt Geschäftsführerin Marianne Kusejko über die Gründungszeit. Heute entwickelt und produziert das Unternehmen Hard- und Software für große Industriemaschinen weltweit.

Josef Atzler, Felix Spira und Verena Fischer von Molecular Devices:
Das Unternehmen ist einer der weltweit führenden Anbieter von bioanalytischen Hochleistungssystemen, Software und Verbrauchsmaterialien für die biowissenschaftliche Forschung sowie die pharmazeutische und biotherapeutische Entwicklung. Im Oktober 2022 wurde das Organoid Innovation Center eröffnet, in dem mit neuesten Methoden der 3D-Biologie an im Labor gewachsenen Mini-Organen gearbeitet und geforscht wird. „Wir arbeiten mit Wirkstoffen im Bereich Gehirnmedizin, im Bereich Krebsmedizin, aber auch in der Verdauung. Bis jetzt macht man all das mit Mäusen und alten Krebszelllinien, die nichts mit dem aktuellen Krankheitsbild oder dem befallenen Organ zu tun haben“, so Geschäftsführer Josef Atzler. Dadurch ergeben sich besonders für die Medikamentenforschung große Chancen, da es Tierversuche obsolet machen könnte.

Diese Beispiele sind nur wenige von vielen die zeigen, dass Salzburg ein optimaler Standort für die Verwirklichung von Ideen ist. Mehr Informationen über den Wirtschaftsstandort Salzburg erfahren!

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

2. Februar 2024

salz21: Salzburg wird wieder zur Bühne für Innovation

Die größte Innovationsveranstaltung des Jahres findet am 6. und 7. März wieder im Messezentrum statt. Wir sind auch dabei und stellen unsere Programmhighlights vor. 

17. Januar 2024

Forschungsprämie beantragen – so geht’s!

KMU können für Aufwendungen in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) eine Forschungsprämie beim Finanzamt beantragen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie es geht!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: mit Technologie zu besserer Bewegung

Mehrere Salzburger Forschungseinrichtungen haben es mit weiteren Partnern geschafft, mit „Digital Motion“ wieder ein COMET-Projekt nach Salzburg zu holen. COMET ist das Flaggschiff-Programm zur Förderung von Spitzenforschung in Österreich.

17. November 2023

Salzburg bekommt erstes Virtual Production Studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam eröffnet erstes Virtual Production Studio Österreichs.

Unser Newsletter