Photo: Symptoma

18. February 2021

Symptoma: Finding the causes of illnesses with AI

Symptoma has developed an intelligent database for doctors and is researching solutions to optimize the diagnostic process. The company has also developed a COVID-19 symptom checker based on artificial intelligence (AI). The demand for the symptom checker is high.

Even the best doctors are overwhelmed by the 20,000 known diseases – understandably so. At best, they are familiar with the symptoms of around 1,000 illnesses, so the correct diagnosis is not an easy undertaking. However, incorrect or late diagnoses can have life-threatening consequences for patients. If the right diagnosis were made in time, 1.5 million lives could be saved every year.

Symptoma has taken on this problem. The company based in Attersee, Salzburg, and Vienna has developed an intelligent database for doctors and is researching solutions to optimize the diagnosis process.

Medical information via chatbot

Fifteen years of research and development have gone into Symptoma’s AI software algorithms. According to CEO Jama Nateqi, it is one of the world’s largest disease databases. Numerous doctors use the AI, but patients can also access it. The use is simple: “Users enter symptoms. Our chatbot then automatically asks the right questions to better narrow down the possible cause or search. This works so well now that you can enter ‘Tiramisu’ as a search term, and the system will ask you about stomach pain and suggest salmonella as a possible cause.” Ten million doctors and patients worldwide rely on Symptoma every month to research the causes of symptoms.

AI helps with Covid-19 risk detection

At the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, Symptoma adapted its symptom checker accordingly and trained the AI on COVID-19 symptoms. Users only need to answer the chatbot’s questions and enter their symptoms. The symptom checker then indicates the likelihood of being infected with COVID-19 based on the symptoms. If desired, a COVID-19 test can also be arranged right away.

The company has thus developed the first AI worldwide that calculates personal COVID-19 risk and has also been certified as a medical device. Symptoma has been validated in several scientific studies (such as in Nature and JMIR) and tested in over 100 million tests worldwide in 36 different languages. One study demonstrated that Symptoma has the highest accuracy on the market for symptomatic COVID-19 cases, with a hit rate of 96.32%, making it more reliable than solutions from Apple or the Center for Disease Control in the US, for example.

In November 2020, Symptoma also started a cooperation with the city of Vienna. Right from the start, the symptom checker specifically for Vienna citizens processed a proud 1.5 million questions and answers within 24 hours. The digital option for assessing personal COVID-19 risk was well received by the Viennese. Symptoma, or rather its CEO Jama Nateqi, also achieved another success: He was recently voted Austrian of the Year 2020 in the research category by the newspaper “Die Presse”.

This might also interest you

19. July 2023

From Mozart to Hightech

In the Austria Picture that aired on ORF 2 on June 11th, our CEO Walter Haas stated, “Salzburg should stand for research, technology, and the future.” The program, produced by the Salzburg Regional Studio, focused on our innovation ecosystem.

24. May 2023

EdTech Austria Summit: How modern education works

On June 1st, the second EdTech Austria Summit will take place. The event, organized by EdTech Austria and Innovation Salzburg, focuses on the future of education.

4. April 2023

Why the European Green Deal also affects SMEs

The EU is creating political and legal frameworks with the Green Deal to transform the economy and society sustainably. What does this mean for companies, especially SMEs? Our expert Romana Schwab clarifies in the interview.

21. March 2023

The economy must align with nature

How to use resources efficiently, reuse them, or replace them with natural materials is what circular economy and bioeconomy are concerned with. Experts discussed what it takes to transition to a green economy during a panel at the salz21 innovation festival.

Our Newsletter

Titelbild_Symptoma
Foto: Symptoma

18. Februar 2021

Symptoma: Krankheitsursachen finden mit KI

Symptoma hat eine intelligente Datenbank für Ärzt:innen entwickelt und forscht an Lösungen, um den Diagnoseprozess zu optimieren. Auch für Covid-19 hat das Unternehmen einen Symptom-Checker entwickelt, der auf Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) basiert. Die Nachfrage nach dem Symptom-Checker ist groß.

Auch die besten Ärztinnen und Ärzte sind angesichts der 20.000 bisher bekannten Krankheiten überfordert – verständlich. Bestenfalls kennen sie die Symptome von rund 1.000 Erkrankungen, sodass die korrekte Diagnose nicht gerade eine einfaches Unterfangen ist. Falsche oder zu späte Diagnosen können jedoch lebensbedrohliche Konsequenzen für die Patient:innen bedeuten. Jedes Jahr könnten 1,5 Millionen Menschenleben gerettet werden, wenn rechtzeitig die richtige Diagnose gestellt werden würde.

Diesem Problem hat sich Symptoma angenommen. Das Unternehmen mit Sitz am Attersee, in Salzburg und Wien hat eine intelligente Datenbank für Ärzt:innen entwickelt und forscht an Lösungen, um den Diagnoseprozess zu optimieren.

Medizinische Informationen via Chatbot

Bereits fünfzehn Jahre Forschung und Entwicklung stecken hinter den Algorithmen der KI-Software von Symptoma. Sie ist laut Geschäftsführer Jama Nateqi eine der größten Krankheitsdatenbanken der Welt. Zahlreiche Ärzt:innen nutzen die KI, doch auch Patient:innen können darauf zurückgreifen. Die Verwendung ist einfach: „Nutzer:innen geben Symptome ein. Unser Chatbot stellt dann automatisch die richtigen Fragen, um dann die mögliche Ursache, beziehungsweise die Suche, besser einzugrenzen. Das funktioniert mittlerweile so gut, dass du zum Beispiel „Tiramisu“ als Suchwort eingeben kannst, und das System fragt dich nach Bauchschmerzen und schlägt Salmonellen als mögliche Ursache vor.“ Zehn Millionen Ärzt:innen und Patient:innen weltweit vertrauen Symptoma monatlich die Recherche nach den Ursachen von Symptomen an.

KI hilft bei Erkennung des Covid-19 Risikos

Zu Beginn der Corona-Pandemie hat Symptoma seinen Symptom-Checker entsprechend adaptiert und die KI auf Covid-19 Symptome trainiert. Dafür müssen Nutzer:innen lediglich die Fragen des Chatbots beantworten und ihre Symptome eingeben. Der Symptom-Checker gibt dann anhand der Symptome die Wahrscheinlichkeit an, an Covid-19 erkrankt zu sein. Auf Wunsch kann auch gleich ein Corona-Test in die Wege geleitet werden.

Das Unternehmen hat somit die erste KI weltweit entwickelt, die das persönliche Covid-19 Risiko errechnet und zudem als Medizinprodukt zertifiziert wurde. Symptoma wurde im Rahmen mehrerer wissenschaftlicher Studien validiert (zum Beispiel in Nature und JMIR) und in über 100 Millionen Tests weltweit auf 36 verschiedenen Sprachen erprobt. Eine Studie hat demonstriert, dass Symptoma mit einer Treffergenauigkeit von 96,32 % für symptomatische Covid-19-Fälle die höchste auf dem Markt aufweist und somit verlässlicher ist als zum Beispiel die Lösungen von Apple oder dem Center of Disease Control in den USA.

Symptoma startete im November 2020 zudem eine Kooperation mit der Stadt Wien. Gleich zu Beginn hat der Symptom-Checker speziell für die Bürger:innen Wiens binnen 24 Stunden stolze 1,5 Millionen Fragen und Antworten verarbeitet. Die digitale Möglichkeit zur Einschätzung des persönlichen Covid-19 Risikos kam somit gut an bei den Wiener:innen. Einen weiteren Erfolg konnte Symptoma, beziehungsweise deren CEO Jama Nateqi, verzeichnen: Kürzlich wurde er von der Tageszeitung „Die Presse“ zum Österreicher des Jahres 2020 in der Kategorie Forschung gewählt.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

3. Oktober 2022

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.

1. September 2022

Forschungs- und Transferzentren in Salzburg

Salzburg verfügt über eine starke Forschungslandschaft mit sechs Universitäten und Fachhochschulen und zahlreichen außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen. Mit der WISS2025 werden die Salzburger Forschungsstrukturen noch gestärkt.