Photo: Salzburg Research

11. July 2019

Automated shuttle tests technology of domestic companies

No steering wheel, no driver: The automated Digibus® is back on the roads in the municipality of Koppl, Salzburg, with several innovations on board.

The new technologies developed by domestic companies contribute to passenger communication and improved positioning accuracy, and are now being scientifically tested in real-world operations.

In the Austrian flagship project “Digibus® Austria,” a high-profile consortium led by Salzburg Research is researching and testing the reliable and safe operation of automated minibusses in public transportation. The autonomy and driving safety of autonomous vehicles are being further enhanced, with a focus on measures related to vehicle-to-vehicle communication and technical infrastructure.

In the municipality of Koppl, located in Salzburg, an ITS G5 infrastructure by Kapsch TrafficCom was installed for the first time in Austria outside of highways or cities for the testing of automated driving. The European standard ITS G5 (5.9 GHz) enables extensive traffic networking (V2X – Vehicle-to-everything). With the help of V2X, vehicles and traffic infrastructure can now communicate with each other and exchange data. The V2X 5.9 GHz on-board unit by Kapsch TrafficCom in the automated Digibus® transmits messages up to 10 times per second. In the Digibus® Austria flagship project, the transmission of correction data for highly accurate satellite positioning is being tested via ITS-G5. The Digibus® utilizes this correction data to compensate for errors in satellite signals, enabling centimeter-level positioning accuracy.

Another technological innovation in the bus focuses on passenger communication. Commend International, in collaboration with the consortium, is investigating the information and interaction needs of passengers in an autonomous vehicle. In the Digibus® and in the town center of Koppl, communication points have been installed, allowing passengers to make inquiries or report issues. Currently, the inquiries are forwarded to a control center, but in the future, simple and recurring inquiries could be answered using chatbots.

Flagship project “Digibus® Austria”

The flagship project “Digibus® Austria” runs until March 2021 and is funded by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology as part of the research program “Mobility of the Future.” Salzburg Research coordinates a high-profile partner consortium, consisting of leading companies and research institutes along the entire value chain of public transportation, from vehicle providers to mobility service providers, who contribute to the project’s outcomes.

  • Research partners: Salzburg Research (project coordination), Virtual Vehicle Research Center, AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, University of Salzburg – Center for Human-Computer Interaction, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences – Institute of Transportation, apptec ventures GmbH.
  • Corporate partners: Kapsch TrafficCom AG, PRISMA solutions EDV-Dienstleistungen GmbH, Commend International GmbH, Fluidtime Data Services GmbH, HERRY Consult GmbH, ÖBB-Holding AG, EasyMile SAS.
  • Associated partners: State of Salzburg, State of Lower Austria, ÖAMTC Fahrtechnik GmbH, A1 Telekom Austria AG.

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

Our Newsletter

Digibus-Austria-automatisiertes-Shuttle-in-Koppl-Ortsschild-2019-titelcSalzburg-Research
Foto: Salzburg Research

11. Juli 2019

Automatisiertes Shuttle testet Technologie heimischer Unternehmen

Kein Lenkrad, kein Lenker, keine Lenkerin: Der automatisierte Digibus® ist wieder in der Salzburger Gemeinde Koppl unterwegs – mit einigen Innovationen an Bord.

Die neuen Technologien von heimischen Unternehmen helfen bei der Fahrgastkommunikation sowie der genaueren Positionierung und werden nun im Realbetrieb wissenschaftlich getestet.

Im österreichischen Leitprojekt „Digibus® Austria“ erforscht und erprobt ein hochkarätiges Konsortium unter der Leitung von Salzburg Research den zuverlässigen und sicheren Betrieb von automatisierten Kleinbussen im öffentlichen Personennahverkehr. Selbständigkeit und Fahrsicherheit von autonomen Fahrzeugen sollen weiter verbessert werden. Dafür werden Maßnahmen für die Kommunikation zwischen Fahrzeug und anderen Verkehrsteilnehmer/-innen sowie im Bereich der technischen Infrastruktur untersucht.

In der Salzburger Gemeinde Koppl wurde erstmals in Österreich abseits der Autobahn bzw. von Städten eine ITS G5-Infrastruktur von Kapsch TrafficCom für den Test von automatisiertem Fahren errichtet. Der europäische Standard ITS G5 (5,9 GHz) ermöglicht umfangreiche Verkehrsvernetzung (V2X – Vehicle-to-everything). Mit Hilfe von V2X wissen Fahrzeuge und Verkehrsinfrastruktur erstmals voneinander und tauschen untereinander Daten aus. Die ebenfalls von Kapsch TrafficCom V2X 5,9 GHz-On Board-Unit im automatisierten Digibus® sendet bis zu 10-mal pro Sekunde eine Nachricht aus. Im Leitprojekt Digibus® Austria wird die Übertragung von Korrekturdaten für eine hochgenaue Satellitenpositionierung über ITS-G5 getestet. Der Digibus® verwendet die Korrekturdaten, um Fehler der Satellitensignale auszugleichen – eine Positionierungsgenauigkeit im Zentimeterbereich wird dadurch möglich.

Eine weitere technische Neuerung im Bus befasst sich mit der Fahrgastkommunikation. Commend International untersucht mit dem Konsortium, welche Informationen und Interaktionsmöglichkeiten Fahrgäste in einem autonomen Fahrzeug brauchen. Im Digibus® sowie im Ortszentrum von Koppl wurden Sprechstellen installiert. Damit können Fahrgäste Anfragen stellen oder Probleme melden. Momentan leitet die Anfrage zu einer Leitstelle weiter, künftig sollen einfache, wiederkehrende Anfragen mit Hilfe von Chatbots beantwortet werden können.

Leitprojekt „Digibus® Austria“

Das Leitprojekt „Digibus® Austria“ läuft bis März 2021 und wird im Rahmen des Forschungsprogramms „Mobilität der Zukunft“ vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie gefördert. Salzburg Research koordiniert ein hochkarätiges Partnerkonsortium, in dem führende Unternehmen sowie Forschungsinstitute entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette des Öffentlichen Personen-Nahverkehrs (ÖPNV) vom Fahrzeuganbieter bis zum Mobilitätsdienstleister zu den Ergebnissen beitragen.

  • Forschungspartner: Salzburg Research (Projektleitung), Virtual Vehicle Research Center, AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, Universität Salzburg – Center für Human-Computer Interaction, Universität für Bodenkultur – Institut für Verkehrswesen, apptec ventures GmbH.
  • Unternehmenspartner: Kapsch TrafficCom AG, PRISMA solutions EDV-Dienstleistungen GmbH, Commend International GmbH, Fluidtime Data Services GmbH, HERRY Consult GmbH, ÖBB-Holding AG, EasyMile SAS.
  • Assoziierte Partner: Land Salzburg, Land Niederösterreich, ÖAMTC Fahrtechnik GmbH, A1 Telekom Austria AG

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

3. Oktober 2022

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.