Breathing exercises for lung patients using VR headsets. (Photo: PMU)

25. July 2019

VR Breath Coach: The Healing Power of Waterfalls

The healing effects of the Krimml Waterfalls on allergies and asthma have been proven. In a current project, it is being investigated whether these effects can also be achieved in virtual reality.

Anyone who has ever stood there, felt the fine mist on their face, and heard the roaring water will probably not be surprised that the Krimml Waterfalls can offer more than just a natural experience. They have been proven to have healing effects by the University Institute for Ecomedicine at Paracelsus Medical University Salzburg (PMU). Arnulf Hartl, the head of the university institute, aims to replicate these effects through virtual reality in a joint research project with FH Salzburg and make them accessible to patients at home.

“Chronic lung diseases such as asthma and COPD are associated with a high level of suffering for the affected individuals. Being able to do something against these chronic diseases in the home environment, especially during winter when the waterfalls in Krimml are frozen, is a major goal of this project. One in five Austrians over the age of 40 has COPD, and 11% of children and adolescents in Austria have asthma,” says Hartl. The researchers aim to capture the healing power of the waterfalls in a virtual reality breathing therapy exergame and make it accessible to patients who cannot visit the Hohe Tauern National Park due to their conditions.

Proper breathing through gamification

The technology behind the exergames can capture and reproduce the body movements and breathing of the “players.” As a result, the patient can receive self-improving feedback from a virtual breathing therapist, an avatar. In the virtual environment of the waterfalls, professional breathing exercises can be learned and practiced. “For this, we receive support from Martin Dürl, a professor of physiotherapy at FH Salzburg,” says Hartl. “He is the avatar in this project and will demonstrate breathing physiotherapy in the virtual environment. The patients should mimic the exercises, and depending on how well they perform, they will be digitally rewarded or asked to repeat them. The application provides feedback to allow patients to improve themselves.” The home therapy should be medically applicable within three years.

In virtual reality, the physioacoustic impression can be replicated particularly well. The team from the Multimedia Technology degree program at FH Salzburg records sounds and images on-site. The image information is used to calculate a digital open-world scenario in which the user can freely move around.

“We want to create a 3D environment that looks as realistic as possible,” says Markus Tatzgern, head of the Game Development and Mixed Reality department at Multimedia Technology. Big data analysis of the acquired data is also an important aspect for the researchers.

“By using new digital tools such as Big Data or Machine Learning, we can derive better methods. For example, we can analyze patterns to determine which respiratory exercises work best,” says Hartl. Currently, six researchers are working on the project, including Carina Grafetstätter, the operational manager for PMU, and Hilmar Linder, head of the Multimedia Technology degree program at FH Salzburg.

Collaborative Project

The entire technological process in this ICT project is continuously accompanied by clinical studies at PMU to develop Virtual Reality Exergames that are medically effective. The first of these studies is currently providing extensive basic information, such as which natural elements work particularly well in virtual reality, the level of immersion required in virtual reality, or the health effects that can be derived. “This cooperative project was made possible through the ICT and research strategy of the state. The work of Innovation Salzburg has also played a significant role in enabling us to conduct joint research,” says Tatzgern.

The tools developed in the project and the joint Virtual Reality Physiology Lab of PMU and FH will also be used for future industry-related projects. “Measuring physiological reactions to stimuli in virtual reality is a promising innovative method for testing the effects of products on humans at an early stage of development. Virtual prototypes tailored to individuals are evaluated quickly and cost-effectively, thereby reducing time-to-market. An example of this would be health-promoting architecture designed to reduce stress and enhance mood,” says Hartl.

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

7. November 2023

Utilizing Funding for Artificial Intelligence (AI)

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice (aws) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) offer various fundings for companies looking to work with new technology.

Our Newsletter

VR Atemcoach
Atemtraining für Lungenkranke mit VR-Brillen. (Foto: PMU)

25. Juli 2019

VR-Atemcoach: Die heilende Kraft der Wasserfälle

Den Krimmler Wasserfällen wurden heilende Wirkung auf Allergie- und Asthmaerkrankungen nachgewiesen. In einem aktuellen Projekt wird nun untersucht, ob diese Wirkung auch in der virtuellen Realität erzielt werden kann.

Jeder der schon mal dort gestanden ist, den feinen Sprühnebel im Gesicht gespürt und das brausende Wassertoben gehört hat, wird wohl nicht überrascht sein, dass die Krimmler Wasserfälle mehr können, als ein reines Naturerlebnis zu sein. Ihnen wurden vom Universitätsinstitut für Ecomedicine an der Paracelsus Medizinischen Privatuniversität Salzburg (PMU), heilende Wirkungen nachgewiesen. Diese will Arnulf Hartl, Leiter des Universitätsinstituts, in einem gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekt mit der FH Salzburg durch Virtual Reality nachahmen und Patienten auch daheim zugänglich machen.

„Chronische Lungenerkrankungen wie Asthma und COPD gehen mit einem hohen Leidensdruck der Betroffenen einher. Auch im häuslichen Umfeld und im Winter, wenn die Wasserfälle in Krimml zugefroren sind, etwas gegen diese chronischen Erkrankungen machen zu können, ist ein großes Ziel dieses Projekts. Jeder Fünfte Österreicher über 40 hat COPD und 11% der Kinder und Jugendlichen in Österreich haben Asthma“, sagt Hartl. Die heilende Kraft der Wasserfälle wollen die Wissenschaftler in einem Virtual Reality Atemphysiotherapie Exergame einfangen und damit Patienten zugänglich machen, die durch ihre Erkrankungen nicht in den Nationalpark Hohe Tauern gelangen können.

Richtig atmen durch Gamification

Die Technologie hinter den Exergames kann Körperbewegungen und Atmung der „Spieler“ aufnehmen und wiedergeben. Dadurch soll der Patient ein selbstverbesserndes Feedback mit einem virtuellen Atemphysiotherapeuten, einem Avatar erfahren. In der virtuellen Umgebung der Wasserfälle sollen so professionelle Atemübungen erlernt und trainiert werden. „Dafür bekommen wir Unterstützung von Martin Dürl, Professor für Physiotherapie an der FH Salzburg“, sagt Hartl. „Er ist der Avatar in diesem Projekt und wird in der künstlichen Umwelt Atemphysiotherapie vorzeigen. Die Patienten sollen die Übungen nachatmen und je nachdem wie gut sie diese ausführen, werden sie digital belohnt oder müssen sie nochmal machen. Die Anwendung gibt dabei Feedback, damit die Patienten sich selbst verbessern können“. Die Kur für zuhause, soll in spätestens drei Jahren medizinisch einsetzbar sein.

In der Virtual Reality kann vor allem der physioakustische Eindruck gut nachgebaut werden. Das Team des FH Studiengangs MultiMediaTechnology nimmt dafür Geräusche und Bilder vor Ort auf. Aus den Bildinformationen wird ein digitales Open World Szenario berechnet, in dem sich der Nutzer frei bewegen kann.

„Wir wollen eine 3D Umgebung schaffen, die so real wie möglich aussieht“, sagt Markus Tatzgern, Fachbereichsleiter für Game Development und Mixed Reality bei MultiMediaTechnology. Auch Big Data – die Auswertung der gewonnen Daten – ist ein wichtiger Aspekt für die Wissenschaftler.

„Durch den Einsatz neuer digitaler Werkzeuge wie Big Data oder Machine Learning können wir bessere Verfahren ableiten. Wir können zum Beispiel an den Mustern ablesen, welche atemphysiologischen Übungen am besten funktionieren“, sagt Hartl. An dem Projekt arbeiten derzeit sechs Forscherinnen und Forscher, darunter die operative Leiterin für die PMU Carina Grafetstätter und Hilmar Linder, Leiter des FH Studiengangs MultiMediaTechnology.

Gemeinsames Projekt

Der ganze technologische Prozess in diesem IKT Projekt wird laufend durch klinische Studien an der PMU begleitet, um medizinisch möglichst wirkungsvolle Virtual Reality Exergames zu entwickeln. Die erste dieser Studien soll derzeit umfangreiche Basisinformationen bereitstellen, zum Beispiel welche Naturelemente besonders gut in der Virtual Reality wirken, wie stark die Immersion in Virtual Reality sein muss, oder welche Gesundheitseffekte man ableiten kann. „Möglich ist dieses Kooperationsprojekt erst durch die IKT- und Forschungsstrategie des Landes geworden. Auch die Vermittlungsarbeit von Innovation Salzburg hat maßgeblich dazu beigetragen, dass wir hieran gemeinsam forschen“, so Tatzgern.

Die im Projekt entwickelten Werkzeuge und das gemeinsame Virtual Reality Physiology Lab der PMU und FH, sollen hinkünftig auch für weitere, wirtschaftsnahe Projekte genutzt werden: „Physiologische Reaktionen auf Stimuli in der Virtual Reality messbar zu machen, ist eine vielversprechende innovative Methode, um die Wirkung von Produkten auf den Menschen schon in einer frühen Entwicklungsphase zu testen. Auf den Menschen zugeschnittene virtuelle Prototypen werden schnell und kostengünstig evaluiert und damit die time-to-market Zeit verkürzt. Ein Beispiel dafür wäre gesundheitsfördernde Architektur, die entstressend und stimmungsaufhellend wirken soll“ so Hartl.

 

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.

19. September 2022

PMU erforscht regeneratives Potential von extrazellulären Vesikeln zusammen mit Boehringer Ingelheim

Extrazelluläre Vesikel Theralytische Technologien ist ein Leitprojekt der Wissenschafts- und Innovationsstrategie des Landes Salzburg und wird aus Mitteln des Landes Salzburg und des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung für Investitionen in Wachstum und Beschäftigung gefördert.