Photo: Tobis/Luis Zeno Kuhn

21. November 2022

Movie release of „The Magic Flute“

“The Magic Flute” has been in theaters since Thursday, November 17, 2023. As the name suggests, the film takes up the story of Mozart’s “The Magic Flute”. The result is a successful combination of fantasy spectacle and coming-of-age story, in which Mozart’s music takes center stage.

The Film Fund of the state of Salzburg supported the film and played a crucial role in making it a reality. In addition to financial support, Edith Urban from Filmlocation Salzburg at Innovation Salzburg also provided advice and assistance: “I first came into contact with the film project in 2018. Since then, we at Filmlocation Salzburg have been accompanying the film. The significance for the film location Salzburg is great, as it has been sold to cinemas worldwide. We show the world that Salzburg is the music capital and also offers extraordinary filming locations with the breathtaking scenery of the city and the state of Salzburg.”

Salzburg as a film location

The city and state of Salzburg also provided the perfect film location. Locations used included the Schloss Leopoldskron, Burg Hohenwerfen, the city of Salzburg, and the Gastein train station. “The Magic Flute” premiered in Austria for the first time on Thursday, November 10th 2023, in Salzburg.

Producers Christopher Zwickler and blockbuster specialist Roland Emmerich were able to attract a high-caliber cast for the film. Game of Thrones actor Iwan Rheon plays Papageno, while Oscar winner Fahrid Murray Abraham takes on the role of the school principal. The young cast also shines, with Jack Wolfe as Prince Tamino and Asha Banks as Princess Pamina. Opera stars Rolando Villazón, Morris Robinson, and Sabine Devieilhe ensure that even opera purists will enjoy the film.

About The Magic Flute

17-year-old Tim (Jack Wolfe), a singing student at the legendary Mozart boarding school in the Austrian Alps, discovers a centuries-old secret portal one night that catapults him into the fantastic world of Mozart’s “The Magic Flute.” As Prince Tamino, he meets the wily birdcatcher Papageno (Iwan Rheon), with whose help he must face dangerous adventures every night to rescue Princess Pamina (Asha Banks) from the clutches of Prince Sarastro (Morris Robinson). But even during the day, Tim’s school life is not boring, as he tries to win the coveted lead role of Tamino in the annual school performance of “The Magic Flute” and also meets the tough Sophie (Niamh McCormack), who turns his head.

This might also interest you

27. May 2024

Mr. Eddy: How interesting is Salzburg for Netflix?

In the name of our film location Salzburg, we had the opportunity to host a delegation from Netflix. During a stroll through the city center and Hellbrunn, the team could get an impression of Salzburg’s film scenery. Steve Eddy, Director of the DACH Region for Netflix, answered a few questions for us on that occasion.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

8. November 2023

Training courses for Filmmakers

Salzburg is the second-largest media hub in Austria and a versatile location for (film) productions. So, it’s the perfect place to start your education in this field

31. July 2023

“Algorithms, Brands & Emotions” at the Salzburg Media Summit

On July 28th, creatives, experts, and managers from the media and technology industry gathered for the traditional event organized by the Association of Film and Music Salzburg, Innovation Salzburg, and the Salzburg Chamber of Commerce at Schloss Leopoldskron.

Our Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.

TheMagicFlute_Bild (2)
Foto: Tobis/Luis Zeno Kuhn

21. November 2022

Kinostart von „The Magic Flute“

„The Magic Flute“ ist seit Donnerstag, 17.11.2023 in den Kinos zu sehen. Wie der Name schon verrät, greift der Film die Geschichte von Mozarts Zauberflöte auf. Das Resultat ist eine gelungene Kombination aus Fantasie-Spektakel und Coming of Age Geschichte, in der Mozarts Musik im Mittelpunkt steht.

Die Filmförderung des Landes Salzburg hat den Film unterstützt und trug maßgeblich dazu bei dass er realisiert werden konnte. Neben der finanziellen Förderung stand Edith Urban von der Filmlocation Salzburg bei Innovation Salzburg auch sonst mit Rat und Tat zur Seite: „Ich bin bereits das erste Mal im Jahr 2018 mit dem Filmprojekt in Berührung gekommen. Seither begleiten wir von der Filmlocation Salzburg den Film. Die Bedeutung für den Filmstandort Salzburg ist groß, denn er wurde weltweit an die Kinos verkauft. Wir zeigen der Welt, dass Salzburg Musikhauptstadt ist und auch mit der atemberaubenden Kulisse der Stadt und des Landes Salzburg außergewöhnliche Drehorte bietet. “

Salzburg als Filmkulisse

Denn die Stadt und das Land Salzburg sorgten auch für die passende Filmkulisse. Als Drehorte dienten unter anderem das Schloss Leopoldskron, die Burg Hohenwerfen, die Stadt Salzburg und auch der Bahnhof in Gastein. „The Magic Flute“ wurde bei seiner Österreich-Premiere erstmals am Donnerstag, 10.11.2023, in Salzburg gezeigt.

Die Produzenten Christopher Zwickler und Blockbuster-Spezialist Roland Emmerich konnten einen hochkarätigen Cast für den Film gewinnen. So spielt der aus Game of Thrones bekannte Schauspieler Iwan Rheon den Papageno, in die Rolle des Schuldirektors schlüpfte Oscar-Gewinner Fahrid Murray Abraham. Daneben glänzt der junge Cast mit Jack Wolfe als Prinz Tamino und Asha Banks als Prinzessin Pamina. Die Opernstars Rolando Villazón, Morris Robinson und Sabine Devieilhe sorgen dafür, dass auch Opern-Purist:innen auf den Geschmack des Films kommen.

Über The Magic Flute

Der 17-jährige Tim (Jack Wolfe), Gesangsschüler am legendären Mozart-Internat in den österreichischen Alpen, entdeckt eines Nachts ein jahrhundertealtes geheimes Portal, das ihn in die fantastische Welt von Mozarts „Die Zauberflöte“ katapultiert. Als Prinz Tamino begegnet er dort dem gewitzten Vogelfänger Papageno (Iwan Rheon), mit dessen Hilfe er von nun an jede Nacht gefährliche Abenteuer bestehen muss, um die Prinzessin Pamina (Asha Banks) aus den Fängen des Fürsten Sarastro (Morris Robinson) zu befreien. Aber auch tagsüber ist Tims Schulalltag nicht langweilig, denn er versucht, die begehrte Hauptrolle des Tamino in der jährlichen Schulaufführung der „Zauberflöte“ zu ergattern, und lernt auch noch die toughe Sophie (Niamh McCormack) kennen, die ihm mächtig den Kopf verdreht.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

27. Mai 2024

Mr. Eddy: Wie interessant ist Salzburg für Netflix?

Im Namen unserer Filmlocation Salzburg durften wir eine Delegation von Netflix empfangen. Beim Spaziergang durch die Innenstand und Hellbrunn konnte sich das Team einen Eindruck der Filmkulisse Salzburg machen. Steve Eddy, Director der DACH Region für Netflix, hat uns bei der Gelegenheit ein paar Fragen beantwortet.

17. November 2023

Salzburg bekommt erstes Virtual Production Studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam eröffnet erstes Virtual Production Studio Österreichs.

8. November 2023

Ausbildung für Filmschaffende

Salzburg ist der zweitgrößte Medienstandort in Österreich und ein vielseitiger Standort für (Film-)Produktionen. Der perfekte Ort also, um hier auch eine Ausbildung in diesem Bereich zu beginnen.

31. Juli 2023

„Algorithmen, Brands & Emotionen“ beim Salzburg Media Summit

Am 28. Juli trafen sich Kreative, Expert:innen und Manager:innen aus der Medien- und Technologiewirtschaft zum traditionsreichen Event der Fachvertretung Film und Musik Salzburg, Innovation Salzburg und der Industriellenvereinigung Salzburg im Schloss Leopoldskron.

Unser Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.