Foto: Frank Wimmer

24. June 2022

START-Prize of over one million euros for young researcher

The bioscientist Elfriede Dall from the University of Salzburg has been awarded the START Prize, Austria’s most highly endowed and recognised science prize for young researchers. Over the next six years, the prize winner will have 1.2 million euros at her disposal for her research on the cell protein legumain.

If legumain is detected outside its usual location in the human cell, those affected are very likely to suffer from cancer or Alzheimer’s disease. Dall now wants to elucidate the underlying mechanisms in detail, especially with a view to developing active substances in the future.

Although the protein legumain is one of the busy workhorses in our cells, it is still largely unexplored. It is known that it cuts foreign antigens, such as pathogens, into small pieces so that they can be recognised and disposed of by the immune system. The protein performs this task in the so-called lysosome, where it is more or less “at home”. However, if it occurs in other places, it “causes damage like a bull in a china shop, leading to Alzheimer’s or various forms of cancer”, explains Elfriede Dall.

But why does the protein sometimes appear where it doesn’t really belong, namely outside the lysosome? That is unclear. “But what we have already discovered in Salzburg in the working group of structural biologist Hans Brandstetter is a second function of legumain: It can not only cleave foreign antigens but, on the contrary, also glue them together, but only when it occurs outside the lysosome. Our hypothesis is that the gluing function is one of the key mechanisms in the development of the disease,” says Dall.

Until now, however, there has been no way to observe these connections at the site of action in the cell, says Dall and adds: “In the START project, we now want to develop the appropriate methods for this. Only when we fully understand the connections can we develop targeted substances that can be used for Alzheimer’s or cancer therapy. Experiments in the animal model prove that we are on the right track. It could be shown that blocking legumain can stop the growth of tumours and have a positive effect on neurological abilities in Alzheimer’s disease.”

The award winner

Elfriede Dall completed her PhD in molecular biology at the University of Salzburg in 2013. Since 2014, she has been a Senior Scientist in Hans Brandstetter’s Structural Biology Group at the Department of Biosciences and Medical Biology at the University of Salzburg. Dall’s previous FWF project, which has been running since 2018, was already dedicated to researching legumain.

About the project

The START project “Functional Studies on Extra-lysosomal Legumain” investigates the functions of the protein legumain outside the endolysosome of the human cell. Normally, the effect of the enzyme, which breaks down foreign antigens, is limited to this cell organelle. Outside, however, other mechanisms become effective that are associated with the occurrence of cancer and Alzheimer’s disease. These functions are to be researched in detail in order to lay the basis for active substances in this field.

The START Programme

The START-Prize is Austria’s most highly endowed science prize for young researchers. The prize, which is awarded once a year by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF) and presented by the Minister of Education, is endowed with up to 1.2 million euros.

The prize winners are selected by an international jury of experts, whose members come from Harvard University, for example.

That might be interesting for you

19. July 2023

From Mozart to Hightech

In the Austria Picture that aired on ORF 2 on June 11th, our CEO Walter Haas stated, “Salzburg should stand for research, technology, and the future.” The program, produced by the Salzburg Regional Studio, focused on our innovation ecosystem.

21. March 2023

The economy must align with nature

How to use resources efficiently, reuse them, or replace them with natural materials is what circular economy and bioeconomy are concerned with. Experts discussed what it takes to transition to a green economy during a panel at the salz21 innovation festival.

20. March 2023

Hydrogen: This is how we achieve the green transformation

Hydrogen as an energy carrier has great potential. Read an overview of applications and research projects in Salzburg and what hurdles experts still need to overcome for a green transformation.

1. December 2022

This is what you should know about funding

So that you are prepared for the next funding application, we will answer the most important questions about innovation funding here.

Our Newsletter

FWF_START_2022_ElfriedeDall_Credit_FrankWimmer_1-1-1-1536×1024
Foto: Frank Wimmer

24. Juni 2022

START-Preis von über einer Million Euro für Nachwuchsforscherin

Die Biowissenschaftlerin Elfriede Dall von der Universität Salzburg wird mit dem START-Preis, dem höchstdotierten und anerkanntesten Wissenschaftspreis Österreichs für Nachwuchsforscher:innen ausgezeichnet. In den nächsten sechs Jahren stehen der Preisträgerin für ihre Forschungen am Zellprotein Legumain 1,2 Mio Euro zur Verfügung.

Wird Legumain außerhalb seines angestammten Ortes in der menschlichen Zelle nachgewiesen, leiden die Betroffenen mit hoher Sicherheit an Krebs oder Alzheimer. Vor allem im Hinblick auf eine künftige Wirkstoffentwickelung will Dall nun die zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen im Detail aufklären.

Obwohl das Protein Legumain zu den eifrigen Arbeitstieren in unseren Zellen gehört, ist es noch großteils unerforscht. Bekannt ist, dass es fremde Antigene wie zum Bespiel Krankheitserreger in kleine Stücke zerschneidet, so dass sie vom Immunsystem erkannt und entsorgt werden können. Diese Aufgabe erfüllt das Protein im sogenannten Lysosom, dort ist es quasi „daheim“. Tritt es jedoch an anderen Orten auf, richtet es „wie ein Elefant im Porzellanladen Schäden an, die zu Alzheimer oder verschiedenen Formen von Krebs führen“, erklärt Elfriede Dall.

Warum aber kommt das Protein überhaupt manchmal dort vor, wo es eigentlich nicht hingehört, nämlich außerhalb des Lysosoms? Das ist unklar. „Was wir in Salzburg in der Arbeitsgruppe des Strukturbiologen Hans Brandstetter bisher aber schon entdeckt haben, ist eine zweite Funktion von Legumain: Es kann fremde Antigene nicht nur spalten, sondern sie im Gegenteil auch zusammenkleben, allerdings nur wenn es außerhalb des Lysosoms auftritt. Unsere Hypothese ist, dass die Verklebe-Funktion einer der Schlüsselmechanismen bei der Entstehung der Krankheit ist“, so Dall.

Bisher gab es jedoch keine Möglichkeit, diese Zusammenhänge am Ort des Geschehens in der Zelle zu beobachten, sagt Dall und ergänzt: „Im START-Projekt wollen wir nun die geeigneten Methoden dafür entwickeln. Erst wenn wir die Zusammenhänge vollständig verstehen, können wir gezielt Substanzen entwickeln, die zur Alzheimer- oder Krebstherapie einsetzbar sind. Versuche im Tiermodell belegen, dass wir auf dem richtigen Weg sind. Es konnte gezeigt werden, dass ein Blockieren von Legumain das Wachstum von Tumoren stoppen und sich positiv auf neurologische Fähigkeiten bei Alzheimer-Erkrankungen auswirken kann.“

Die Preisträgerin

Elfriede Dall schloss 2013 an der Universität Salzburg ihr Doktorat in Molekularbiologie ab. Seit 2014 ist sie Senior Scientist in der Arbeitsgruppe für Strukturbiologie von Hans Brandstetter am Fachbereich Biowissenschaften und Medizinische Biologie der Universität Salzburg. Bereits Dall‘s bisheriges, seit 2018 laufendes FWF-Projekt war der Erforschung von Legumain gewidmet.

Zum Projekt

Das START-Projekt „Functional Studies on Extra-lysosomal Legumain“ untersucht die Funktionen des Proteins Legumain außerhalb des Endolysosoms der menschlichen Zelle. Üblicherweise ist die Wirkung des Enzyms, das körperfremde Antigene aufspaltet, auf dieses Zellorganell beschränkt. Außerhalb werden allerdings andere Mechanismen wirksam, die mit dem Auftreten von Krebs und Alzheimer assoziiert sind. Diese Funktionen sollen eingehend erforscht werden, um die Basis für Wirkstoffe in diesem Bereich zu legen.

Das START-Programm

Der START-Preis stellt den höchstdotierten Wissenschaftspreis Österreichs für Nachwuchsforscher:innen dar. Der einmal jährlich vom Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung (FWF) ausgeschriebene und durch den Bildungsminister vergebene Preis ist mit bis zu 1.2 Millionen Euro dotiert.

Die Preisträger:innen werden von einer international besetzten Fachjury ausgewählt, deren Mitglieder zum Beispiel von der Harvard Universität stammen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

19. September 2022

PMU erforscht regeneratives Potential von extrazellulären Vesikeln zusammen mit Boehringer Ingelheim

Extrazelluläre Vesikel Theralytische Technologien ist ein Leitprojekt der Wissenschafts- und Innovationsstrategie des Landes Salzburg und wird aus Mitteln des Landes Salzburg und des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung für Investitionen in Wachstum und Beschäftigung gefördert.

1. September 2022

Forschungs- und Transferzentren in Salzburg

Salzburg verfügt über eine starke Forschungslandschaft mit sechs Universitäten und Fachhochschulen und zahlreichen außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen. Mit der WISS2025 werden die Salzburger Forschungsstrukturen noch gestärkt.