Photo: Lorrygram

27. July 2021

Lorrygram – Transportainment made in Salzburg

Transportainment, the combination of transport and entertainment, is the mission of Johann Strasser. In the 1990s, his company Wingliner created easy-to-use truck bodies that can be opened and closed automatically.

In 2018, he founded the startup Lorrygram, which integrates ultra-high-definition displays into the side walls of Wingliner trucks, bringing entertainment on the road. There are already many mediatrucks on the market, but what’s new about Lorrygram is that the truck remains a fully loaded and transportable vehicle, and not just a mobile screen like many other providers. The difference is that ultra-high-definition displays are integrated into its side walls. Already, the system is being used, for example, by the Trumer Brewery.

During the pandemic, Lorrygram has been mainly affected by supply chain disruptions as many components are sourced from Asia. “We’re responding by sourcing more components locally. For example, cable harnesses are now coming from Neumarkt,” says Johann Strasser, Managing Director of Lorrygram and Wingliner.

Diverse applications

Lorrygram has various applications, including customized and location-specific content such as traffic updates and weather conditions, aside from advertising (image or video). The contents are transmitted to the displays via satellite from the Lorrygram headquarters. Other applications include mobile electric charging stations in Wingliner containers with Lorrygram displays. The containers are mobile and can be temporarily installed, for instance, at events. The Wingliner wings are opened, allowing viewers to see the ads on the Lorrygram screens while charging their electric cars.

Lorrygram can also be used in emergencies. For instance, the emergency response team of a chemical company uses the displays on their firefighting trucks to get an overview of fire sites. When there’s a fire, a camera drone rises from the firefighting truck and transmits images to the displays on the truck.

Lorrygram was supported by the FFG Small Project Funding program. The funding helped test suitable hardware and develop the associated software. The advantage of such funding? “As the main shareholder in Lorrygram, funding gives me the opportunity to give up fewer shares and still manage the financing of the project,” says Johann Strasser.

Lorrygram GmbH

Lorrygram is an ultra-high-definition display integrated into the side walls of Wingliner trucks, which can be played back individually and location-specifically. The Lorrygram startup has been around since 2018 and is based in Eugendorf (Flachgau). Currently, one employee is permanently employed. The FFG Small Project Funding program was used to implement the project.

www.lorrygram.com

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

7. November 2023

Utilizing Funding for Artificial Intelligence (AI)

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice (aws) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) offer various fundings for companies looking to work with new technology.

Our Newsletter

Lorrygram
Foto: Lorrygram

27. Juli 2021

Lorrygram – Transportainment made in Salzburg

Transportainment, das ist die Verbindung aus Transport und Entertainment und die Mission von Johann Strasser. In den 1990er-Jahren schuf sein Unternehmen Wingliner einfach zu bedienende LKW-Aufbauten, die vollautomatisch geöffnet und geschlossen werden können.

2018 gründete er das Startup Lorrygram, das Ultra-HD-Displays in die Wingliner-Seitenwände integriert. So wird Entertainment auf die Straße geholt. Mediatrucks gibt es bereits viele am Markt. Das neue an Lorrygram? Der LKW ist nach wie vor ein LKW und nicht nur eine fahrende Leinwand, wie bei vielen anderen Anbietern. Das heißt, dass er voll beladen werden kann und zum Transport genutzt werden kann. Mit dem Unterschied, dass sich in seinen Seitenwänden Ultra-HD-Displays befinden. Bereits jetzt wird das System zum Beispiel von der Trumer Brauerei genutzt.

In der Pandemie ist Lorrygram vor allem durch Lieferengpässe betroffen, da viele Komponenten aus Asien bezogen werden. „Darauf reagieren wir, indem wir immer mehr Komponenten lokal beziehen. Zum Beispiel kommen die Kabelstränge jetzt aus Neumarkt, sagt Johann Strasser, Geschäftsführer von Lorrygram und Wingliner.

Vielfältige Anwendungsmöglichkeiten

Die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von Lorrygram sind vielfältig: So können neben Werbung (Bild oder Video) individualisierte und ortsspezifische Inhalte, wie zum Beispiel Staumeldungen oder Wetterlage, ausgespielt werden. Dafür werden von der Lorrygram-Zentrale die Inhalte über Satellit auf die Displays übertragen. Eine weitere Anwendung sind zum Beispiel mobile Elektrotankstellen in Wingliner-Containern mit Lorrygram-Displays. Die Container sind mobil und können temporär aufgestellt werden, etwa bei Veranstaltungen. Die Wingliner-Flügel werden aufgemacht, man kann die Werbung auf den Lorrygram-Bildschirmen sehen und gleichzeitig sein Elektroauto auftanken.

Lorrygram kann aber auch im Katastrophenfall eingesetzt werden. Zum Beispiel verwendet die Betriebsfeuerwehr eines Chemieunternehmens die Displays auf ihren Feuerwehrtrucks, um sich Überblick über Brandherde zu verschaffen. Bei einem Brand steigt eine Kamera-Drohne aus dem Feuerwehrwagen auf und überträgt die Bilder auf die Displays am Truck.

Unterstützt wurde Lorrygram durch die FFG Kleinprojekt-Förderung. Mit der Förderung wurde geeignete Hardware getestet und die zugehörige Software entwickelt. Der Vorteil von solchen Förderungen? „Als Hauptgesellschafter bei Lorrygram geben mir Förderungen die Möglichkeit, weniger Anteile abzugeben und trotzdem die Finanzierung des Vorhabens zu bewältigen“, sagt Johann Strasser.

Lorrygram GmbH

Lorrygram sind in LKW-Seitenwände von Wingliner integrierte Ultra-HD-Displays, die individuell und ortsspezifisch bespielt werden können. Das Startup Lorrygram besteht seit 2018 und hat seinen Sitz in Eugendorf (Flachgau). Zurzeit ist ein Mitarbeiter festangestellt. Für die Umsetzung wurde die FFG Kleinprojekt-Förderung lukriert.

www.lorrygram.com

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Januar 2023

Die neue österreichische Filmförderung ist da

Das neue Fördermodell soll die heimische Filmwirtschaft stärken und Arbeitsplätze schaffen.

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

3. Oktober 2022

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.