Unlock data treasures with data science!

16. December 2020

IDA Lab: Advancing through research in Data Science

Due to digitalization, many companies are sitting on valuable data sets whose potential often remains untapped. With the IDA Lab, Salzburg’s companies have a research partner for data science and artificial intelligence at their disposal.

Data is THE raw material of the 21st century,” says Wolfgang Trutschnig, Professor of Mathematics at the University of Salzburg and Director of the IDA Lab (Lab for Intelligent Data Analytics Salzburg). Because of this, many advantages can be generated for companies and customers.

However, the potential of their data is often not being utilized. Companies are already collecting vast amounts of data, but often do not know how to analyze it effectively. With Artificial Intelligence and Data Science, this data can be harnessed and used to benefit them and their customers. For example, sales figures in individual company branches can be predicted. Based on precise forecasts of sales figures, logistics such as delivery quantities or inventory levels can be optimized.

Another example given by Wolfgang Trutschnig is machine maintenance: “If I know when I need to service my machine, I can plan machine utilization better. I don’t do too many or too few maintenance tasks.” Artificial intelligence helps to develop models for predicting the optimal maintenance time and many other applications, thus optimizing resources.

AI solves complex practical problems

However, many practical problems are so complex that existing methods are not sufficient to solve them. For example, standard models for sales forecasts can usually predict the sales figures of a branch on a normal weekday, but struggle with sales figures before or after holidays or during periods with price offers.

The more variables that need to be taken into account, the more complex the problems become. Wolfgang Trutschnig cites the example of production in a company: “There are often thousands of variables that affect the product: which specific raw materials or materials are used, which employees are in the company during production, which machines are used, and many more. The task of AI and Data Science is to filter out those variables that really have an impact on the quality of the product and to identify areas where the company can improve product quality.”

Wolfgang-2283-768×1024
Wolfgang Trutschnig (Photo: Peter Hellekalek)

IDA Lab: regional hub for data-related research

So how can companies answer their data-related questions from their economic practice? Since October, Salzburg companies can turn to the IDA Lab to access research in the field of data science and AI. The IDA Lab is a cooperation between the University of Salzburg (project leader), Paracelsus Medical University, Salzburg Research Research Society, and Salzburg University of Applied Sciences, and is funded by the state of Salzburg as part of the Science and Innovation Strategy 2025 (WISS 2025).

The researchers at the IDA Lab support companies in processing their data treasures. They see themselves as a regional hub for research questions from business and science with a focus on data science. The IDA Lab is able to adjust existing methods problem-adaptively as well as develop new tailored methods. “The companies benefit from methodical, applicable research at the cutting edge of technology, and we benefit from exciting practical questions. This is how we create an advantage through research,” says Wolfgang Trutschnig. The prerequisite for cooperation with the IDA Lab is that data is already available. Only then can methods be developed for analyzing the data.

AI creates new markets

With the tremendous dynamics in digitization and working with data, a rapidly growing global market is also opening up for many industries and innovative providers. “Our entrepreneurs should actively take advantage of this opportunity. With the IDA Lab, we have another important partner for knowledge transfer,” says Walter Haas, Managing Director of Innovation Salzburg.

This might also interest you

8. March 2024

How do we shape our future?

Political and technological challenges, as well as solutions to questions about the world of tomorrow, were discussed at the well-attended Innovation and Technology Forum salz21 on March 6th at the Salzburg Exhibition Center. Let’s take a look back at the panels organized by Innovation Salzburg.

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

Our Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.

Datenschätze mit Data Science heben!

16. Dezember 2020

IDA Lab: Vorsprung durch Forschung in Data Science

Durch die Digitalisierung sitzen viele Unternehmen auf Datenschätzen, deren Potenzial meistens ungenutzt bleibt. Mit dem IDA Lab steht Salzburgs Unternehmen ein Ansprechpartner in der Forschung zu Data Science und Künstlicher Intelligenz zur Verfügung.

Daten sind DER Rohstoff des 21. Jahrhunderts“, so Wolfgang Trutschnig, Professor für Mathematik an der Universität Salzburg und Direktor des IDA Lab (Lab for Intelligent Data Analytics Salzburg). Denn dadurch lassen sich für Unternehmen und Kund:innen so einige Vorteile generieren.

Das Potenzial ihrer Daten wird aber häufig nicht genutzt. Denn Unternehmen sammeln bereits eine Unmenge an Daten, wissen aber oftmals nicht, wie sie die Daten bestmöglich analysieren können. Mit Künstlicher Intelligenz und Data Science kann dieser Datenschatz gehoben und so verwendet werden, dass sie und ihre Kund:innen davon profitieren. So können zum Beispiel Verkaufszahlen in den einzelnen Filialen des Unternehmens prognostiziert werden. Basierend auf präzisen Prognosen der Verkaufszahlen kann nachfolgend auch die Logistik, wie die Liefermengen oder den Lagerstand, optimiert werden.

Als weiteres Beispiel nennt Wolfgang Trutschnig die Wartung von Maschinen: „Wenn ich weiß, wann ich meine Maschine warten muss, kann ich die Maschinenauslastung besser planen. Ich mache nicht zu viele und nicht zu wenige Wartungen.“ Künstliche Intelligenz hilft also dabei, Modelle für Prognosen über den optimalen Wartungszeitpunkt und viele weitere Anwendungen zu entwickeln und dadurch Ressourcen zu optimieren.

KI löst komplexe Fragestellung aus der Praxis

Viele Fragestellungen aus der Praxis sind jedoch so komplex, dass bestehende Methoden nicht ausreichen, um sie zu lösen. So können Standardmodelle für Absatzprognosen zwar meist die Verkaufszahlen einer Filiale an einem normalen Werktag vorhersagen, tun sich aber mit Verkaufszahlen vor oder nach Feiertagen oder zu Perioden mit Preisangeboten schwer.

Fragestellungen werden komplexer, je mehr Variablen mit einbezogen werden müssen. Als Beispiel nennt Wolfgang Trutschnig die Produktion in einem Betrieb: „Da gibt es oftmals tausende Variablen, die auf das Produkt einwirken: Welche bestimmten Rohstoffe oder Materialien werden verwendet, welche Mitarbeiter/innen sind zu dem Zeitpunkt der Produktion im Betrieb, welche Maschinen werden eingesetzt und viele mehr. Die Aufgabe von KI und Data Science ist, diejenigen Variablen herauszufiltern, die wirklich eine Auswirkung auf die Qualität des Produkts haben und an welchen Schrauben der Betrieb drehen kann, um die Produktqualität zu optimieren.“

Wolfgang-2283-768×1024
Wolfgang Trutschnig (Foto: Peter Hellekalek)

IDA Lab: regionale Anlaufstelle für datenbezogene Forschung

Wie können es Unternehmen nun schaffen, ihre datenbezogenen Fragestellungen aus ihrer wirtschaftlichen Praxis zu beantworten? Um Zugang zu Forschung im Bereich Data Science und KI zu bekommen, können sich Salzburger Unternehmen seit Oktober auch an das IDA Lab wenden. Das IDA Lab ist eine Kooperation zwischen Universität Salzburg (Projektleiterin), Paracelsus Medizinische Privatuniversität, Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft und Fachhochschule Salzburg und wird vom Land Salzburg im Rahmen der Wissenschafts- und Innovationsstrategie 2025 (WISS 2025) gefördert.

Die Forscher:innen des IDA Labs unterstützen die Unternehmen beim Verarbeiten ihrer Datenschätze. Dabei verstehen sie sich als regionale Anlaufstelle für Forschungsfragen aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft mit Data Science-Bezug. Das IDA Lab ist sowohl in der Lage, bestehende Methoden problemadäquat zu adjustieren als auch neue, maßgeschneiderte Methoden zu entwickeln. „Die Unternehmen profitieren durch methodische, anwendbare Forschung am Puls der Zeit und wir durch spannende Fragestellungen aus der Praxis. So schaffen wir Vorsprung durch Forschung“, sagt Wolfgang Trutschnig. Voraussetzung, um mit dem IDA Lab kooperieren zu können, ist also, dass bereits Daten vorhanden sind. Erst dann können Methoden zur Analyse der Daten entwickelt werden.

KI schafft neue Märkte

Mit der enormen Dynamik in der Digitalisierung und der Arbeit mit Daten öffnet sich auch ein weltweit stark wachsender Markt für viele Branchen und innovative Anbieter. „Diese Chance sollten unsere Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer aktiv nutzen. Mit dem IDA Lab steht uns dafür ein weiterer wichtiger Partner für den Wissenstransfer zur Verfügung“, sagt Innovation Salzburg-Geschäftsführer Walter Haas.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

8. März 2024

Wie gestalten wir unsere Zukunft?

Politische und technologische Herausforderungen sowie Lösungsansätze zu Fragen über die Welt von morgen wurden beim gut besuchten Innovations- und Technologieforum salz21 am 6. März in der Messe Salzburg besprochen. Ein Rückblick auf die von Innovation Salzburg organisierten Panels.

2. Februar 2024

salz21: Salzburg wird wieder zur Bühne für Innovation

Die größte Innovationsveranstaltung des Jahres findet am 6. und 7. März wieder im Messezentrum statt. Wir sind auch dabei und stellen unsere Programmhighlights vor. 

17. Januar 2024

Forschungsprämie beantragen – so geht’s!

KMU können für Aufwendungen in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) eine Forschungsprämie beim Finanzamt beantragen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie es geht!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: mit Technologie zu besserer Bewegung

Mehrere Salzburger Forschungseinrichtungen haben es mit weiteren Partnern geschafft, mit „Digital Motion“ wieder ein COMET-Projekt nach Salzburg zu holen. COMET ist das Flaggschiff-Programm zur Förderung von Spitzenforschung in Österreich.

Unser Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.