21. February 2022

A revolution in plastic technology in the Flachgau region

In the circular economy, switching from plastic to paper doesn’t make sense, and Renner Print Media has recognized this by developing a new product. The company specializes in producing plant labels, supplying nurseries, home improvement stores, and food chains. They also export their products to Germany and Italy.

Reusing Existing Materials

The company has entered the circular economy with the “Circular PP” project. They sought a truly sustainable solution, avoiding greenwashing. “We didn’t want to engage in greenwashing. True circular economy is more than just switching to a different material like paper. The core idea is the reuse of existing materials,” says Daniel Linzmayr, CEO of the company.

In collaboration with Johannes Kepler University Linz, they developed a plastic made entirely from 100% recycled material. Plastic waste from print production is collected, crushed, and processed into regranulate. Colors and varnishes are incorporated. The waste from this material can also be recycled and reused without the addition of new material. No new waste is generated, resulting in an 80% reduction in CO2 emissions. As part of the project, a dedicated certificate for Circular Print was created. Renner received a basic funding grant from FFG for product development, with support from Innovation Salzburg during the application process.

About Renner Print Media GmbH

  • Neumarkt am Wallersee
  • Around 50 employees
  • Specializes in printing plant labels and manufacturing plastics for printing

www.renner-print.at

That might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

7. November 2023

Utilizing Funding for Artificial Intelligence (AI)

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice (aws) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) offer various fundings for companies looking to work with new technology.

Our Newsletter

Grafik Sonnenaufgang petrol
Fotocredit

21. Februar 2022

Eine Revolution in der Kunststofftechnologie im Flachgau

In der Kreislaufwirtschaft ergibt der Umstieg von Plastik auf Papier keinen Sinn – das hat auch die Druckerei Renner erkannt und ein neues Produkt entwickelt. Das Unternehmen produziert Pflanzenetiketten und beliefert damit Gärtnereien, Baumarkt- und Lebensmittelketten und exportiert diese auch nach Deutschland und Italien.

Vorhandenes Material wiederverwenden

Den Einstieg in die Kreislaufwirtschaft hat das Unternehmen mit dem Projekt „Circular PP“ geschafft. Es wurde nach einer Lösung gesucht, die wirklich nachhaltig ist. „Wir wollten kein Greenwashing betreiben. Richtige Kreislaufwirtschaft ist nämlich mehr als ein Umstieg auf ein anderes Material wie Papier. Der Grundgedanke ist vielmehr die Wiederverwertung von bestehendem Material“, sagt Daniel Linzmayr, Geschäftsführer des Unternehmens.

Gemeinsam mit der Johannes-Kepler-Universität Linz wurde ein Kunststoff entwickelt, der aus 100 Prozent wiederverwertetem Material besteht. Die Kunststoffabfälle aus der Produktion von Druckprodukten werden dabei gesammelt, zerkleinert und zu Regranulat verarbeitet. Farben und Lacke werden eingebunden. Auch die Abfälle aus diesem Material können wiederverwertet und ohne Zugabe von neuem Material wiederverwendet werden. Es entsteht kein neuer Abfall und es kann damit 80 Prozent des CO2-Ausstoßes eingespart werden. Im Rahmen des Projekts wurde ein eigenes Zertifikat für Circular Print geschaffen. Für die Produktentwicklung hat Renner eine FFG-Basisförderung erhalten. Innovation Salzburg hat bei der Einreichung unterstützt.

Über Renner Print Media GmbH

  • Neumarkt am Wallersee
  • rund 50 Mitarbeiter:innen
  • druckt Pflanzenetiketten und fertigt Kunststoffe für den Druck

www.renner-print.at

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Januar 2023

Die neue österreichische Filmförderung ist da

Das neue Fördermodell soll die heimische Filmwirtschaft stärken und Arbeitsplätze schaffen.

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

17. November 2022

Bioeconomy Austria: Wissenstransfer zu KMU

Das österreichweite Bioökonomie-Netzwerk befindet sich erfolgreich im Aufbau. Über 150 Partner:innen aus regionalen Clustern & Plattformen, Wirtschaft, Forschung, Politik und Gesellschaft sind bereits Teil des wachsenden Netzwerks und vom gemeinsamen Erfolg überzeugt.

3. Oktober 2022

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.