Photo: BMW Group

15. May 2021

The new BMW Group Campus

The BMW Group is investing in its Maxglan site and is building a new “Campus Salzburg” there at a cost of more than 28 million euros.

Two large buildings, suffused with light, with a green inner courtyard and associated parking areas, form the new BMW Group Campus in the city of Salzburg. What will really make the difference will ultimately be the 450 people who work there. At the moment it is still very quiet – because of Covid, only about ten percent of the workforce is on site. So the meeting place that the campus was planned to be will have to wait a little longer. However, the concept is already clearly evident: Work can take place in a variety of ways – people who need space away from the open-plan office can digitally book themselves into one of the many meeting rooms directly on site at any time. At 26 rooms, their number has more than doubled. Whether beanbags or bar tables, for four or alone – a room, a terrace or one of the many small lounge islands in the midst of the conventional office desks is always ready for any need.

Values as a point of attraction for professionals

For the BMW Group, this is part of the diversity it strives for. This is also confirmed by Egon Mutschlechner, who was responsible at BMW for monitoring work concepts and their implementation in the building: “Positioning towards sustainability is central to BMW. This includes ecological topics but also social ones, such as lived diversity.” The fact that this campus exudes both is part of the concept. “We are all in a situation where we need to be attractive to skilled workers. This includes not only an attractive working environment, but also living values such as sustainability in many areas,” Mutschlechner explains.

As far as ecology is concerned, the operators here rely on photovoltaics: a third of the energy comes from the roof and from the horizontal panels on the parking garage. That covers about a third of the campus’s total electricity consumption. The CO2 savings that can be realised from that come to some 232 tonnes per year. In addition, a water recovery system was installed as part of the rebuild of the in-house car wash. Previously, 180 litres of drinking water were required for each vehicle wash – with the water treatment system, only 20–30 litres of drinking water are now required per new wash cycle.

Salzburg – a location with advantages

28 million euros were invested in the new 12,000 square meter building. The fact that this was done specifically in Salzburg comes as no surprise to Mutschlechner. “We have a good connection here to the Eastern European markets and to the Western markets. In addition, the company also wants to position itself with these values, and the environment also plays a major role. And there is this – Salzburg itself is not a big city, but it has the right connections to reach Munich or Vienna quickly as well. With Innovation Salzburg, we have a very competent point of contact that has also supported us, for example, with a funding strategy for these huge projects.” In the “war for talents,” life also plays a major role for employees: “The city and the region here offer a special quality of life. I came here from Italy ten years ago and started a family here. Designing life outside of work is a big plus for expats like me.”

Education and Training as a core issue

Participants in the on-site training courses will also be able to enjoy Salzburg – at least temporarily. With 2,675 m2 of space, the new training centre is more than six times larger than the previous training area. Instead of 40 people, up to 150 attendees can be accommodated per day. These are employees of dealer partners from all twelve markets in the Central and Southeastern Europe region, in the areas of sales consulting, repair and maintenance, or service consulting. “Services related to mobility must be understood and the emotion and quality of BMW as a premium provider must be lived,” explains Mutschlechner. So training – especially at the moment – is also necessary through digital means. The equipment for the trainers, cameras, technology and rooms were brought up to date for this purpose. In ‘blended learning’, personal on-site training and virtual course content complement one other, ensuring optimal learning success.

“We are very happy to have strong and innovative leading companies like the BMW Group in Salzburg, which have been consciously committed to the region for decades. Opening the new Campus Salzburg in the middle of the pandemic makes me hopeful that we will master the current tense situation together and that Salzburg will be sustainably strengthened as a business location,” said State Governor Wilfried Haslauer on the occasion of the opening. Neil Fiorentinos, CEO of BMW Vertriebs GmbH, said: “The BMW Group location in Salzburg is a permanent fixture in the region. With the new building, we are opening the next chapter in that success story. The Salzburg Campus is a logical consequence of the outstanding work of the past decades.” Incidentally, BMW milestones over these decades and their connection with major world events are captured in a work of art by Alexander Paradeiser in the large meeting room – once again demonstrating an eye for detail.

Our services for relocation and arrival

Your contact for business relocation

Monika Feichtner

Monika Feichtner, MBA

(on maternity leave)
Service Center Innovation

+43 5 7599 722 75
monika.feichtner@innovation-salzburg.at

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

5. December 2023

Presentation of Salzburg companies at career fairs

Throughout the year, we will be attending national and international career fairs together with Salzburg-based companies to represent the Salzburg location. There are still available dates with free booth spaces!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

Our Newsletter

P90412944_highRes_aussenaufnahme-bmw-g
Foto: BMW Group

15. Mai 2021

Der neue BMW Group Campus

Die BMW Group investiert in ihren Standort in Maxglan und errichtet dort um mehr als 28 Millionen Euro einen neuen „Campus Salzburg“.

Zwei große lichtdurchflutetet Gebäude mit einem grünen Innenhof und dazugehörigen Parkflächen bilden den neuen BMW Group Campus in der Stadt Salzburg. Was ihn wirklich ausmacht, werden schlussendlich die 450 Menschen, die dort arbeiten. Derzeit ist es noch recht ruhig, wegen Covid sind immer nur etwa zehn Prozent der Belegschaft vor Ort. Der Ort der Begegnung als der der Campus geplant war, muss also noch ein wenig warten. Das Konzept ist jedoch bereits klar ersichtlich: Arbeit kann auf verschiedenste Art stattfinden: Wer einen Platz abseits des Großraumbüros braucht, bucht sich jederzeit digital und direkt vor Ort in einen der vielen Besprechungsräume ein. Mit 26 Stück sind diese mehr als verdoppelt worden. Ob Sitzsack oder Stehtische, zu viert oder allein – für jeden Anspruch gibt es einen Raum, eine Terrasse, oder eine der vielen kleinen Lounge-Inseln inmitten der herkömmlichen Bürotische.

Werte als Anziehungspunkt für Fachkräfte

Für die BMW Group ist das Teil der angestrebten Vielfalt. Das bekräftigt auch Egon Mutschlechner, der bei BMW für die Begleitung der Arbeitskonzepte und die Umsetzung im Bau verantwortlich war: „Die Positionierung in Richtung Sustainability ist zentral für BMW. Dazu gehören ökologische Themen aber auch gesellschaftliche, wie eine gelebte Vielfalt.“ Dass dieser Campus beides ausstrahlt, ist Teil des Konzepts. „Wir alle befinden uns in der Situation, dass wir attraktiv für Fachkräfte sein müssen. Dazu gehört nicht nur eine attraktive Arbeitsumgebung, sondern auch gelebte Werte, wie eben Nachhaltigkeit in vielen Bereichen“, erörtert Mutschlechner.

Was die Ökologie betrifft, setzen die Betreiber hier auf Photovoltaik: ein Drittel der Energie kommt vom Dach und von den horizontalen Paneelen am Parkhaus. Rund ein Drittel des Gesamtstromverbrauches des Campus kann somit abgedeckt werden. Die CO2-Einsparungen, die sich hieraus realisieren lassen, betragen 232 Tonnen im Jahr. Außerdem wurde im Rahmen des Umbaus der hausinternen Waschanlage eine Wasserrückgewinnungsanlage eingebaut. Für eine Fahrzeugwäsche wurden bislang 180 Liter Trinkwasser benötigt – mit der Wasseraufbereitungsanlage sind pro neuem Waschvorgang nun nur noch 20-30 Liter Trinkwasser erforderlich.

Salzburg – ein Standort mit Vorzügen

Für den 12.000 Quadratmeter großen Neubau wurden 28 Millionen Euro in die Hand genommen. Dass das genau in Salzburg gemacht wurde, überrascht Mutschlechner nicht: „Wir haben hier eine gute Verbindung zu den osteuropäischen und zu den westlichen Märkten. Zudem möchte sich das Unternehmen mit den genannten Werten auch positionieren, dabei spielt die Umgebung auch eine große Rolle. Und: Salzburg selbst ist zwar keine große Stadt, hat aber die richtigen Verbindungen, um auch München oder Wien schnell zu erreichen. Mit Innovation Salzburg haben wir eine sehr kompetente Ansprechstelle, die uns beispielsweise auch bei einer Förderstrategie für diese riesigen Vorhaben unterstützt hat.“ Im „war for talents“ spielt das Leben für die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter ebenfalls eine große Rolle: „Stadt und Land bieten eine besondere Lebensqualität. Ich bin vor zehn Jahren aus Italien hergekommen und habe hier eine Familie gegründet. Die Gestaltung des Lebens außerhalb der Arbeit ist ein großer Pluspunkt für Expats wie mich.“

Aus- und Weiterbildung als Kernstück

In den Genuss von Salzburg werden auch – zumindest vorübergehend – die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Trainings vor Ort kommen. Mit einer Fläche von 2.675 m2 ist das neue Trainingszentrum mehr als sechsmal so groß als der bisherige Schulungsbereich. Statt bisher 40 Personen können nun bis zu 150 pro Tag geschult werden. Dabei handelt es sich um Angestellte der der Händlerpartner aus allen zwölf Märkten der Region Zentral- und Südosteuropa. in den Bereichen Verkaufsberatung, Reparatur und Wartung oder auch Serviceberatung. „Die Services rund um die Mobilität müssen verstanden werden und die Emotion und die Qualität von BMW als Premiumanbieter gelebt werden“, erläutert Mutschlechner. Deswegen sind Trainings auch – gerade derzeit – digital notwendig. Die Ausstattung für die Trainerinnen und Trainer, Kameras, Technik und Räume wurde dafür auf den neuesten Stand gebracht. Beim ‚blended learning‘ ergänzen sich persönliches Training vor Ort und virtuelle Kursinhalte und sorgen so für einen optimalen Lernerfolg.

„Wir sind sehr froh, dass wir starke und innovative Leitbetriebe wie die BMW Group in Salzburg haben, die sich seit Jahrzehnten ganz bewusst zur Region bekennen. Die Eröffnung des neuen Campus Salzburg mitten in der Corona Pandemie stimmt mich hoffnungsvoll, dass wir die augenblicklich angespannte Situation gemeinsam meistern werden und der Wirtschaftsstandort Salzburg nachhaltig gestärkt wird,“ erklärte Landeshauptmann Wilfried Haslauer anlässlich der Eröffnung. Neil Fiorentinos, Geschäftsführer der BMW Vertriebs GmbH, sagte: „Der BMW Group Standort Salzburg ist eine feste Größe in der Region. Mit dem Neubau schlagen wir das nächste Kapitel der Erfolgsgeschichte auf. Der Campus Salzburg ist eine logische Folge aus der herausragenden Arbeit der vergangenen Jahrzehnte.“ BMW-Meilensteine dieser Jahrzehnte und ihr Zusammenhang mit großen Weltereignissen sind übrigens in einem Kunstwerk von Alexander Paradeiser im großen Besprechungsraum festgehalten – hier wurde einmal mehr das Auge für Details bewiesen.

Unsere Services für das Ansiedeln und Ankommen

Ihr Kontakt für Betriebsansiedlung

Mitarbeiter_innenfotos Innovation Salzburg

Monika Feichtner, MBA

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

25. Januar 2023

Das ändert sich bei der Rot-Weiß-Rot-Karte

Die Rot-Weiß-Rot-Karte erlaubt es Arbeitgebern, Arbeitnehmer:innen aus Drittstaaten zu beschäftigen. Eine Gesetzesnovelle erleichtert die Antragstellung. Wir sagen Ihnen, was Sie als Arbeitgeber über die Änderungen wissen müssen!

13. Januar 2023

Willkommen auf unserem neuen Webportal!

Lernen Sie uns und unsere Services kennen: Für Sie neu dargestellt!

12. Januar 2023

Salzburg abseits von Mozart und Hochkultur

Wir haben für Sie hier nur eine kleine Auswahl der vielfältigen sportlichen Aktivitäten, die Salzburg zu bieten hat. Es gibt viel zu entdecken – zu jeder Jahreszeit.

11. Januar 2023

Rot-Weiß-Rot-Karte: Das müssen Sie wissen

Sie kommen aus einem Drittstaat und möchten in Salzburg arbeiten? Sie wissen aber nicht, wie Sie hier vorgehen sollen? Hier bekommen Sie einen ersten Überblick, wie Sie als Fachkraft aus einem Drittstaat in Österreich arbeiten können.