Agriculture Minister Norbert Totschnig and Climate Minister Leonore Gewessler at the "Bioeconomy Austria" reception, photo: Holzcluster Steiermark.

17. November 2022

Bioeconomy Austria: Knowledge Transfer to SMEs

The nationwide bioeconomy network in Austria is successfully being established. Over 150 partners from regional clusters and platforms, business, research, politics, and society are already part of the growing network and convinced of its common success.

During a formal evening reception at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences in Vienna on Tuesday, November 8, 2022, Agriculture Minister Norbert Totschnig and Climate Minister Leonore Gewessler announced the successful establishment of the nationwide network for bioeconomy.

In the ten-member project consortium, the focus of Innovation Salzburg is on knowledge transfer with a particular focus on the real situation of Austrian small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). Five months after the start of the project, over 150 partners from regional clusters and platforms, business, research, politics, and society have already been recruited for “Bioeconomy Austria.” “Bioeconomy Austria” enables them to exchange information and know-how.

Along the entire value chain, the partners jointly seek ways to avoid waste and replace fossil resources with renewable alternatives. The network’s first focus is on the raw material wood.

The network partners emphasized the importance of “Bioeconomy Austria” during the formal reception:

From a research perspective, Boris Hultsch, CEO of the Wood K plus Competence Center, emphasized, “We see the Bioeconomy Austria network as a great opportunity to establish the bioeconomy as a leading theme for Austria and Europe in politics and society. To implement this, innovative solutions for new materials made from renewable resources such as wood and new efficient process technologies for businesses are needed. That is precisely the research expertise and mission of Wood K plus, which we contribute to the new bioeconomy network.”

Monika Kanzian of the Austrian Federal Forestry (ÖBf) added, “Wood grows back and is available in a relevant quantity and spatial proximity. That makes this raw material so important for the social change towards the bioeconomy. ÖBf makes an important contribution by providing around 1.5 million cubic meters of harvested wood each year. Bioeconomy Austria connects us with important partners along the entire value chain – this way, additional potentials in the field of bioeconomy can be tapped.”

“From the perspective of the wood industry, the bioeconomy offers a great opportunity to knowledgeably promote the production and use of renewable resources to provide products, processes, and services in all economic sectors as part of a sustainable economic system. Thus, it has the great potential to produce novel ecological solutions. To achieve this, a large network like Bioeconomy Austria is essential to promote discourse and mutual exchange,” summarized Dieter Lechner, Deputy CEO of the Association of the Austrian Wood Industry, the network’s benefits.

Networking of Federal State Clusters

A particular focus of “Bioeconomy Austria” is the networking of the regional federal state clusters with each other. They are also linked to activities of the federal government and the EU. For Salzburg, Innovation Salzburg is part of the network and, after identifying the needs and requirements of the economy (with a focus on SMEs), develops suitable forms of knowledge preparation and practical implementation to reach companies from high tech to low tech. “We see the bioeconomy and the national consensus on it as an opportunity to strengthen our economic location and our companies,” says Walter Haas, CEO of Innovation Salzburg (pictured on the right with Werner Balika, photo: Holzcluster Steiermark). On behalf of Atomic Austria GmbH, Helmut Holzer (Director Quality, Anticipation & Advanced Research) adds, “You have to look beyond the horizon and take advantage of the opportunity to exchange ideas with stakeholders from other industries. Only through collaboration can you solve the requirements of the future.”

In the future, the network will be expanded to include all renewable resources of the bioeconomy, from fields and water to biobased residual materials. By 2024, the growing and pre-competitive network will develop into an Austria-wide bioeconomy cluster. “Bioeconomy Austria” is a flagship project of the national bioeconomy strategy and is supported by the Austrian Forestry Fund.

Through the newly created cooperation platform, www.bioeconomy-austria.at, direct networking with all participating partners is possible. It is thus the gateway to the bioeconomy in Austria. The growing network is open to all interested organizations.

Your Contact to Bioeconomy Austria

DI Dr. Werner Balika

This might also interest you

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

3. November 2023

Development of raw material recycling thanks to funding

The extraction of gravel produces extremely fine material that was previously considered waste. An innovation from Pongau makes it possible to utilise this material for the first time. This means that 100 per cent of the raw material can be used. The mechanical recovery process was developed by Christian Ehrensberger GmbH from Tenneck near Werfen.

13. October 2023

Circular Economy:
Building with and in Existing Structures

“Dismantle. Breakthrough. Departure.” was the motto of this year’s Alpine Construction Symposium at the Salzburg University of Applied Sciences on October 12, 2023. The focus was on topics related to construction in existing structures and the recycling of materials from decommissioned buildings. There are many challenges in this regard, but also solutions.

4. April 2023

Why the European Green Deal also affects SMEs

The EU is creating political and legal frameworks with the Green Deal to transform the economy and society sustainably. What does this mean for companies, especially SMEs? Our expert Romana Schwab clarifies in the interview.

Our Newsletter

Bioökonomie_Empfang_Wien_DS-186
Landwirtschaftsminister Norbert Totschnig und Klimaministerin Leonore Gewessler beim "Bioeconomy Austria" Empfang, Foto: Holzcluster Steiermark

17. November 2022

Bioeconomy Austria: Wissenstransfer zu KMU

Das österreichweite Bioökonomie-Netzwerk befindet sich erfolgreich im Aufbau. Über 150 Partner:innen aus regionalen Clustern & Plattformen, Wirtschaft, Forschung, Politik und Gesellschaft sind bereits Teil des wachsenden Netzwerks und vom gemeinsamen Erfolg überzeugt.

Im Rahmen eines feierlichen Abendempfangs am Dienstag, 8.11.2022 an der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien, haben Landwirtschaftsminister Norbert Totschnig und Klimaministerin Leonore Gewessler den erfolgreichen Aufbau des bundesweiten Netzwerks für Bioökonomie verkündet.

Im zehnköpfigen Projektkonsortium ist der Arbeitsschwerpunkt von Innovation Salzburg der Wissenstransfer mit besonderem Fokus auf die reale Situation der österreichischen Klein- und Mittelbetriebe (KMU). Fünf Monate nach Projektstart wurden bereits über 150 Partner:innen aus regionalen Clustern & Plattformen, Wirtschaft, Forschung, Politik und Gesellschaft für „Bioeconomy Austria“ gewonnen. „Bioeconomy Austria“ ermöglicht diesen den Austausch von Informationen und Know-how.

Entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette werden von den Partner:innen gemeinsam Wege gesucht, Abfälle zu vermeiden und fossile Rohstoffe durch nachwachsende Alternativen zu ersetzen. Der erste Schwerpunkt des Netzwerks liegt auf dem Rohstoff Holz.

Die Netzwerkpartner:innen strichen im Rahmen des feierlichen Empfangs die Bedeutung von „Bioeconomy Austria“ hervor:

Aus Sicht der Forschung betont Boris Hultsch, Geschäftsführer der Kompetenzzentrum Holz GmbH (Wood K plus): „Wir sehen im Netzwerk Bioeconomy Austria die große Chance, die Bioökonomie als Leitthema für Österreich sowie Europa in Politik und Gesellschaft zu verankern. Für die Umsetzung werden vor allem innovative Lösungen für neue Werkstoffe aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen wie Holz und neue effiziente Prozesstechnologien für Betriebe benötigt. Genau das ist die Forschungsexpertise und Mission von Wood K plus, die wir in das neue Bioökonomie-Netzwerk einbringen.“

Monika Kanzian von den Österreichischen Bundesforsten (ÖBf) ergänzt: „Holz wächst nach und ist in relevanter Menge sowie räumlicher Nähe verfügbar. Das macht diesen Rohstoff für den gesellschaftlichen Wandel in Richtung Bioökonomie so wichtig. Die ÖBf leistet mit der Bereitstellung von jährlich rund 1,5 Mio. Erntefestmetern Holz einen wichtigen Beitrag dazu. Bioeconomy Austria vernetzt uns mit wichtigen PartnerInnen entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette – so können zusätzliche Potenziale im Bereich der Bioökonomie ausgeschöpft werden.“

„Aus der Sicht der Holzindustrie bietet die Bioökonomie die große Chance, wissensbasiert die Erzeugung und Nutzung nachwachsender Ressourcen zu forcieren, um Produkte, Verfahren und Dienstleistungen in allen wirtschaftlichen Sektoren im Rahmen eines zukunftsfähigen Wirtschaftssystems bereitzustellen. Somit hat sie das große Potenzial, neuartige ökologische Lösungen hervorzubringen. Um dies zu erreichen, ist ein großes Netzwerk wie Bioeconomy Austria unumgänglich, um den Diskurs und gegenseitigen Austausch zu fördern“, fasst Dieter Lechner, stellvertretender Geschäftsführer des Fachverbands der Holzindustrie Österreich, die Vorteile des Netzwerks zusammen.

Vernetzung der Bundesländer-Cluster

Ein besonderer Fokus von „Bioeconomy Austria“ liegt auf der Vernetzung der regionalen Bundesländer-Cluster untereinander. Dabei werden diese auch mit Aktivitäten des Bundes und der EU verknüpft. Für Salzburg ist Innovation Salzburg Teil des Netzwerks und entwickelt nach Erfassen der Bedürfnisse und der Anforderungen aus der Wirtschaft (Fokus auf KMU) geeignete Formen der Wissensaufbereitung und Praxisüberführung, um Unternehmen von Hightech bis zu Lowtech zu erreichen. „Wir sehen die Bioökonomie und den nationalen Schulterschluss dazu als Chance, um unseren Wirtschaftsstandort und unsere Unternehmen zu stärken“, sagt Walter Haas, Geschäftsführer von Innovation Salzburg (im Bild rechts mit Werner Balika, Foto: Holzcluster Steiermark). Seitens der Atomic Austria GmbH ergänzt Helmut Holzer (Director Quality, Anticipation & Advanced Research): „Man muss über den Tellerrand hinausblicken und die Möglichkeit nutzen, sich mit Stakeholdern aus anderen Industriezweigen auszutauschen. Nur durch Kollaboration kann man die Erfordernisse der Zukunft lösen.“

In weiterer Folge wird das Netzwerk auf alle nachwachsenden Rohstoffquellen der Bioökonomie ausgeweitet – von Acker, über Wasser bis hin zu biobasierten Reststoffen. Bis 2024 entsteht so aus dem wachsenden und vorwettbewerblichen Netzwerk ein österreichweiter Bioökonomie-Cluster. „Bioeconomy Austria“ ist ein Leuchtturmprojekt der nationalen Bioökonomiestrategie und wird durch den Österreichischen Waldfonds gefördert.

Auf der neu geschaffenen Kooperationsplattform www.bioeconomy-austria.at ist die Vernetzung mit allen beteiligten Partner:innen auf direktem Wege möglich. Sie ist damit das Tor zur Bioökonomie in Österreich. Das wachsende Netzwerk steht allen interessierten Organisationen offen.

Ihr Kontakt zu Bioeconomy Austria

Werner Balika

DI Dr. Werner Balika

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

15. November 2023

Ein neues Bindemittel für den Holzbau

Die Bauneg GmbH aus dem Flachgau hat ein neuartiges Bindemittel für den Niveauausgleich von Holzwohnbauten entwickelt, das elastisch bleibt und so für Schallschutz sorgt. Unterstützt wurde das KMU dabei von der Innovationsförderung des Landes und von Innovation Salzburg.

3. November 2023

Entwicklung von Rohstoff-Recycling dank Förderung

Beim Abbau von Kies fällt feinstes Material an, das bisher als Abfall galt. Eine Innovation aus dem Pongau macht möglich, dass dieses Material erstmals verwendet werden kann. So werden 100 Prozent des Rohstoffes genutzt. Entwickelt wurde das Verfahren der maschinellen Rückgewinnung von der Christian Ehrensberger GmbH aus Tenneck bei Werfen.

13. Oktober 2023

Kreislaufwirtschaft:
Bauen mit und im Bestand

„Abbruch. Ausbruch. Aufbruch.“ lautete das Motto des diesjährigen Fachsymposiums Brennpunkt Alpines Bauen an der Fachhochschule Salzburg am 12. Oktober 2023. Im Mittelpunkt standen Themen rund um das Bauen im Bestand und die Wiederverwertung von vorhandenen Materialien aus ausgedienten Gebäuden. Schwierigkeiten gibt es dabei viele, Lösungen aber auch.

4. April 2023

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.

Unser Newsletter