Photo: Bauneg

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

The SME from Thalgau specialises in floor constructions with special requirements. It supports screed manufacturers and architects in the planning process. Since 2022, the company has been working on the challenge of reducing impact sound in wooden buildings. This has to do with the floor structure: there are various cables and pipes under every floor. Between these and the screed is an insulating layer that provides both sound insulation and levelling. In concrete buildings, this usually consists of cement-bonded chippings. For timber constructions, which are becoming increasingly popular, levelling with cement is not possible. This is because cement is rigid and does not bounce. It therefore absorbs too little sound, which is why the sound insulation values specified by ÖNORM cannot be achieved in timber buildings.

The problem is well known in the construction industry. “We work with a number of building physicists and they have all told us that they would prefer to install unbound chippings, as this would provide the best sound insulation. However, ÖNORM four offers this. A binding agent that does not volatilise after drying but still remains elastic could be an alternative, according to the building physicists. It was in response to this suggestion that we developed our permanently elastic binder,” says Christoph Grden, Managing Director of Bauneg.

For the timber construction of the future

The production and application of Elastogrit uses very little water. In addition, the moisture it contains evaporates within 72 hours of being applied to the floor, which significantly speeds up construction progress. “Compared to normal, cement-bound chippings, this saves two weeks,” says expert Christoph Grden. Another advantage is the CO2 savings during production, as no cement is used.

And what do the people who initiated the innovations have to say about the finished product? “‘This is the timber construction of the future’ is what the building physicist said when we presented him with our test certificate,” says Grden happily.

Funding as a driver of innovation

The province of Salzburg promotes innovations such as these in order to strengthen Salzburg’s economy. Our Innovation Service Centre provides advice and helps with the application process. “Our funding expert Florian Dürager provided us with comprehensive advice and gave us great support in formulating the application and structuring the project. It was quite a challenge to get the idea out of our heads and onto paper and then to formulate it in such a way that it would be suitable for a funding application,” says Christoph Grden. “For us as a small company, it was very important to receive this innovation funding. It gave us quite a boost because it simply made it easier for us to make certain decisions, such as cooperation with testing institutes or construction site trials,” emphasises Grden. “We also realised that it’s really positive when someone from outside questions the planned project critically. Because as an outsider, you see things differently and don’t have the prior knowledge that exists within the company. That definitely helped us in the development of the project,” concludes Grden.

About Bauneg GmbH

  • SME
  • Thalgau
  • 4 employees
  • Development, production and trade of special products for floor constructions
  • bauneg.at

Your contact for funding

Florian Dürager

Mag. (FH) Florian Dürager

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

7. November 2023

Utilizing Funding for Artificial Intelligence (AI)

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice (aws) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) offer various fundings for companies looking to work with new technology.

3. November 2023

Development of raw material recycling thanks to funding

The extraction of gravel produces extremely fine material that was previously considered waste. An innovation from Pongau makes it possible to utilise this material for the first time. This means that 100 per cent of the raw material can be used. The mechanical recovery process was developed by Christian Ehrensberger GmbH from Tenneck near Werfen.

Our Newsletter

Bindemittel-Holzbau-2
Foto: Bauneg

15. November 2023

Ein neues Bindemittel für den Holzbau

Die Bauneg GmbH aus dem Flachgau hat ein neuartiges Bindemittel für den Niveauausgleich von Holzwohnbauten entwickelt, das elastisch bleibt und so für Schallschutz sorgt. Unterstützt wurde das KMU dabei von der Innovationsförderung des Landes und von Innovation Salzburg.

Das KMU aus Thalgau ist spezialisiert auf Fußbodenkonstruktionen mit besonderen Anforderungen. Es unterstützt Estrichhersteller:innen und Architekt:innen bei der Planung. Seit 2022 arbeitet das Unternehmen an der Herausforderung, den Trittschall in Holzbauten einzudämmen. Das hat mit dem Fußbodenaufbau zu tun: Unter jedem Fußboden befinden sich verschiedene Leitungen und Rohre. Zwischen diesen und dem Estrich befindet sich eine Dämmschicht, die einerseits für Schallschutz und andererseits für Niveauausgleich sorgt. Diese besteht bei Betonbauten meist aus zementgebundenem Splitt. Für Holzbauten, die immer beliebter werden, ist so ein Splittausgleich mit Zement nicht möglich. Denn Zement ist starr und federt nicht. Somit absorbiert er zu wenig Schall, weswegen damit auch nicht die von der ÖNORM vorgegebenen Schallschutzwerte in Holzbauten erreicht werden können.

Das Problem ist in der Baubranche bekannt. „Wir arbeiten mit einigen Bauphysiker:innen zusammen und alle haben uns gesagt, dass sie am liebsten ungebundenen Splitt einbauen würden, denn damit würde der beste Schallschutz erreicht werden. Die ÖNORM vierbietet das aber. Ein Bindemittel, das sich nach dem Trocknen nicht verflüchtigt, aber trotzdem elastisch bleibt, könnte eine Alternative sein, so die Bauphysiker:innen. Auf diesen Anstoß hin haben wir unser dauerelastisches Bindemittel entwickelt“, so Christoph Grden, Geschäftsführer von Bauneg.

Für den Holzbau der Zukunft

Bei der Herstellung und Anwendung von Elastogrit wird nur wenig Wasser verbraucht. Außerdem verdunstet die enthaltene Feuchtigkeit nach der Einbringung in den Fußboden binnen 72 Stunden, was den Baufortschritt wesentlich beschleunigt. „Gegenüber normalem, zementgebundenen Splitt spart man sich dadurch zwei Wochen“, sagt der Experte Christoph Grden. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist die CO2-Einsparung bei der Herstellung, da kein Zement verwendet wird.

Und was sagen die Personen, die die Innovationen angestoßen haben, zum fertigen Produkt? „‚Das ist der Holzbau der Zukunft‘ hat der Bauphysiker gesagt, als wir ihm unser Prüf-Zeugnis vorgelegt haben“, freut sich Grden.

Förderung als Innovationsmotor

Das Land Salzburg fördert Innovationen wie diese, um die Salzburger Wirtschaft zu stärken. Unser Servicecenter Innovation berät dazu und hilft bei der Antragstellung. „Unser Förderexperte Florian Dürager hat uns umfänglich beraten und uns bei der Formulierung des Antrags und der Strukturierung des Projekts sehr unterstützt. Denn das war schon eine Herausforderung, die Idee aus den Köpfen heraus auf Papier zu bringen und dann auch so auszuformulieren, dass sie einem Förderantrag gerecht wird“, so Christoph Grden. „Für uns als kleines Unternehmen war es sehr wichtig, diese Innovationsförderung zu bekommen. Das hat uns ziemlich gepusht, weil wir uns dann einfach leichter getan haben, bestimmte Entscheidungen wie über die Zusammenarbeit mit Prüfinstituten oder Baustellenversuche sehr erleichtert hat“, betont Grden. „Wir haben außerdem gemerkt, dass es durchaus positiv ist, wenn jemand von außen das geplante Vorhaben kritisch hinterfragt. Denn als Externe:r sieht man die Dinge anders und hat nicht das Vorwissen, das es firmenintern gibt. Das hat uns auf jeden Fall weitergeholfen bei der Entwicklung des Projekts“, so Grden abschließend.

Über Bauneg GmbH

  • KMU
  • Thalgau
  • 4 Mitarbeiter:innen
  • Entwicklung, Produktion und Handel von Spezialprodukten für Fußbodenkonstruktionen
  • bauneg.at

Ihr Kontakt für Förderungen

Florian Dürager

Mag. (FH) Florian Dürager

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

8. März 2024

Wie gestalten wir unsere Zukunft?

Politische und technologische Herausforderungen sowie Lösungsansätze zu Fragen über die Welt von morgen wurden beim gut besuchten Innovations- und Technologieforum salz21 am 6. März in der Messe Salzburg besprochen. Ein Rückblick auf die von Innovation Salzburg organisierten Panels.

2. Februar 2024

salz21: Salzburg wird wieder zur Bühne für Innovation

Die größte Innovationsveranstaltung des Jahres findet am 6. und 7. März wieder im Messezentrum statt. Wir sind auch dabei und stellen unsere Programmhighlights vor. 

17. Januar 2024

Forschungsprämie beantragen – so geht’s!

KMU können für Aufwendungen in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) eine Forschungsprämie beim Finanzamt beantragen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie es geht!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: mit Technologie zu besserer Bewegung

Mehrere Salzburger Forschungseinrichtungen haben es mit weiteren Partnern geschafft, mit „Digital Motion“ wieder ein COMET-Projekt nach Salzburg zu holen. COMET ist das Flaggschiff-Programm zur Förderung von Spitzenforschung in Österreich.

Unser Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.