Photo: Bergspezl

20. October 2021

Bergspezl is expanding into the online world

Large online retailers make life difficult for brick-and-mortar retailers. To compete in the fiercely contested market, they must also be present online. That is why Bergspezl, a mountain sports and bike retailer from Salzburg, has not only launched an online shop, but also digitized all sales processes – from ordering to shipping and returns. With approximately twenty employees

Since February 2021, customers can purchase products from the mountain sports specialist online as well. “Bergspezl pursues a holistic sales strategy: we are both online and offline,” says CEO Stefan Scherholz. In addition to the existing four branches, more will be added throughout Austria. “Bergspezl’s online strategy is actually a logistics strategy,” adds Stefan Scherholz. What does this mean? Launching an online shop is just the beginning of e-commerce. The real effort lies in the processes behind it.

Distributed warehouses save costs

Stefan Scherholz wanted to make the move to the online world seamless. This means that everything from ordering, payment, commissioning, logistics to returns is done digitally. The online shop is connected to the ERP system. The special thing about Bergspezl is that there is no central warehouse, but the inventory is sourced from the branches. When a customer places an order, the shop system helps select the branch with the most stock of the product for shipping. The product is then shipped from that branch. The Bergspezl team scans the product with a smartphone and subtracts it from the inventory of the branch. The product and shipping data are automatically transmitted to the shipping partner for faster and easier collection of the product. Returns to the branch are also handled digitally.

This system, with its decentralized warehouses and seamless digital process, saves significant logistics costs. The distributed warehouses also benefit Bergspezl in terms of availability. “Otherwise, I would have to have all the goods I already have in-store in an extra warehouse,” says Stefan Scherholz. This would be an additional burden, especially since many suppliers are currently facing delivery difficulties due to the pandemic.

Bergspezl received support from external partners in implementing the e-commerce system. For example, the interface to logistics had to be programmed. The retailer received DigiCommerce, the e-commerce promotion of the state of Salzburg, for this purpose. Innovation Salzburg supported them with the submission. “The submission with Innovation Salzburg went smoothly. We were able to bill the programming of the logistics interface through the funding,” says Stefan Scherholz.

Challenges on the way to the online world

Part of the online strategy also includes online advertising. “We are not yet very well-known in Austria because we have only a few stores. And even online, for example in Google rankings, one has to compete against other online retailers,” explains Stefan Scherholz.

He underestimated the path to a functioning e-commerce system. The interfaces to the ERP system are very complex. The Bergspezl team also faced many challenges that they had not expected. “For example, there are no standardized product photos in the sports industry. Each manufacturer provides photos in a different format or even refers to their printed catalog. This doesn’t make designing an appealing online shop any easier,” Stefan Scherholz tells about the obstacles.

Despite all the challenges, the conclusion is positive. However, how it will affect the revenue remains to be seen. Bergspezl has a plan for the next two to three years in which the online shop will be continuously improved and online marketing will be carried out. “We are still in the learning curve,” says Stefan Scherholz.

Your contact for grants

Romana Schwab

Mag. Romana Schwab

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

Our Newsletter

Handheld_c_Bergspezl
Foto: Bergspezl

20. Oktober 2021

Bergspezl expandiert in die Online-Welt

Große Onlinehändler machen das Leben des stationären Handels schwer. Um sich am umkämpften Markt zu behaupten, müssen sie ebenfalls online präsent sein. Aus diesem Grund hat Bergspezl, Bergsport- und Bikehändler aus Salzburg, nicht nur einen Onlineshop gelauncht, sondern auch alle Verkaufsprozesse – von der Bestellung, bis zum Versand und Retoure – digitalisiert. Mit ca. zwanzig. Mitarbeiter:innen

Seit Februar 2021 kann man die Produkte des Bergsportspezialisten nun auch online erwerben. „Bergspezl verfolgt im Verkauf eine ganzheitliche Strategie: Wir sind online und offline“, sagt Geschäftsführer Stefan Scherholz. Neben den vier bestehenden Filialen sollen noch weitere in ganz Österreich dazukommen. „Die Onlinestrategie vom Bergspezl ist eigentlich eine Strategie der Logistik“, ergänzt Stefan Scherholz Was das bedeutet? Mit dem Launch eines Shops ist es im E-Commerce noch lange nicht getan. Der große Aufwand steckt in den Abläufen dahinter. 

Verteilte Lager sparen Kosten

Stefan Scherholz wollte den Schritt in die Onlinewelt nämlich durchgängig gestalten. Das bedeutet, dass von der Bestellung, der Bezahlung, der Kommissionierung, der Logistik bis hin zum Rückversand alles digital abläuft. Der Onlineshop ist dafür mit dem ERP-System vernetzt. Das besondere daran ist, dass es beim Bergspezl kein zentrales Lager gibt, sondern der Bestand aus den Filialen herangezogen wird. Wenn eine Kundin oder ein Kunde etwas bestellt, unterstützt das Shopsystem dabei, jene Filiale für den Versand auszuwählen, die am meisten von dem Produkt vorrätig hat. Von dieser Filiale wird das Produkt versendet. Das Bergspezl-Team scannt die Ware mit einem Smartphone und zieht sie so vom Bestand der Filiale ab. Die Produkt- und Versanddaten werden an den Versandpartner automatisch übermittelt, damit die Abholung der Ware schneller und einfacher abgewickelt werden kann. Auch der Rückversand an die Filiale erfolgt digital.  

Dieses System mit den dezentralen Lagern und der durchgängigen digitalen Abwicklung spart enorme Logistikkosten. Doch auch beim Thema Verfügbarkeit spielen die verteilten Lager Bergspezl in die Hände. „Ich müsste sonst die gesamte Ware, die ich schon stationär habe, auch noch in einem extra Lager haben“, so Stefan Scherholz. Da viele Lieferanten aktuell wegen der Pandemie Lieferschwierigkeiten haben, wäre das eine zusätzliche Belastung. 

Bei der Umsetzung des E-Commerce-Systems wurde der Bergspezl von externen Partner:innen unterstützt. Die Schnittstelle zur Logistik musste zum Beispiel programmiert werden. Dafür bekam der Händler die DigiCommerce, die E-Commerce-Förderung des Landes Salzburg. Innovation Salzburg unterstützte ihn bei der Einreichung. „Die Einreichung gemeinsam mit Innovation Salzburg hat reibungslos funktioniert. Wir konnten so zum Beispiel die Programmierung der Logistikschnittstelle über die Förderung abrechnen“, so Stefan Scherholz. 

Hürden auf dem Weg in die Online-Welt

Teil der Onlinestrategie ist auch Online-Werbung. „Wir sind in Österreich noch nicht so bekannt, weil wir nur wenige Filialen haben. Und auch online, zum Beispiel in Google Rankings, muss man sich gegen andere Onlinehändler behaupten“, erklärt Stefan Scherholz. 

Den Weg zu einem funktionierenden E-Commerce-System hat er jedenfalls unterschätzt. Die Schnittstellen zum ERP sind sehr komplex. Das Bergspezl-Team bewältigte auch viele Herausforderungen, mit denen sie gar nicht gerechnet haben. „Es gibt zum Beispiel keine standardisierten Produktfotos in der Sportbranche. Jeder Hersteller liefert Fotos in anderer Form oder verweist gar auf seinen gedruckten Katalog. Das macht die Gestaltung eines ansprechenden Onlineshops nicht gerade einfacher“, erzählt Stefan Scherholz von den Hürden. 

Trotz aller Herausforderungen fällt das Fazit positiv aus. Wie sich das ganze auf den Umsatz auswirkt, wird man aber erst sehen. Bergspezl verfolgt einen Plan für die nächsten zwei bis drei Jahre, in dem der Onlineshop stetig verbessert und Online-Marketing betrieben wird. „Wir befinden uns da noch in der Lernkurve“, so Stefan Scherholz. 

Ihr Kontakt für Förderungen

Mitarbeiter_innenfotos Innovation Salzburg

Mag. Romana Schwab

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Januar 2023

Die neue österreichische Filmförderung ist da

Das neue Fördermodell soll die heimische Filmwirtschaft stärken und Arbeitsplätze schaffen.

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

3. Oktober 2022

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.