Photo: Hans on Pixabay

25. January 2023

This is changing with the Red-White-Red Card

The Red-White-Red Card allows employers to hire employees from third countries. A legal amendment facilitates the application process. We will tell you what you need to know as an employer about the changes!

You are looking for qualified professionals? You are not alone!

The shortage of skilled workers is a concern for many companies in Salzburg. Whether in IT, craftsmanship, tourism or care – personnel is being sought everywhere. Companies are therefore not only looking within Austria and the EU, but also in the global labor market for suitable skilled workers.

To apply for the Red-White-Red (RWR) card to employ a person from a third country, as an employer you must offer this person a binding job offer or an employment contract.

To hire a person from a third country*, you as an employer must apply for a residence permit together with the person. Sounds complicated – unfortunately, it is in many cases. But that’s where we come in! Our experts will help you if you have found someone suitable from a third country.

New regulations simplify residence permit

One of the many residence permits is the Red-White-Red Card. It allows skilled workers from third countries to live in Austria and work for a specific employer. Find out what the RWR card is and what requirements applicants must meet to obtain this residence permit here.

There is good news for employers regarding the RWR card: to make it easier to hire third-country nationals, the RWR card was reformed in a legislative amendment that came into effect on October 1, 2022. It removes major obstacles that have posed challenges in the past.

Changes for you as an employer:

  • The minimum gross salary for all other key personnel is now set at 2,925 euros per month. (previously, a higher minimum salary applied to skilled workers aged 30 or older)
  • Graduates must be paid at least according to the respective collective agreement. (previously, a minimum gross salary of 2,551.50 euros per month applied)
  • In the new subcategory of the RWR card for core employees, companies in tourism and agriculture can now employ their previous core seasonal workers indefinitely.
  • Companies can now also apply for the family of the skilled worker directly with the Austrian residence authority (previously not possible).

Changes for skilled workers (and thus also for companies):

  • Language certificates are valid for 5 years (previously: valid for 1 year).
  • Work experience is now recognized every six months (previously only full-year work experience was recognized).
  • Additional points are awarded for English skills if the company language is English (previously not the case).
  • No accommodation proof is required in advance. The skilled worker only needs to register at their place of residence (main residence) 3 days after arrival and in any case before picking up the residence permit, if they immigrate without family.
  • The RWR Card Plus for family members is valid for as long as the skilled worker’s RWR card, ideally for 2 years (previously in many cases: valid for 1 year).

Your contacts for questions about the RWR card

There are definitely a few things to consider! But that should not be a reason for you to refrain from hiring skilled workers from all over the world. Once again, we appeal to you: Contact us. Our experts know which residence permit is suitable for your skilled worker, which documents you need, which requirements the skilled worker must meet, which authority is responsible, and are available to assist you in any way.

Please note that when submitting the application, you must provide all documents in full to the responsible residence authority in Salzburg. This guarantees a quick processing time!

Finally, a little tip: We recommend that you always have job advertisements ready in English. On the ABA job exchange, you can search for international skilled workers with them.

 

Update: The government has announced further simplifications for the RWR card. We will keep you informed here as soon as they are implemented.

 

*Third countries are states that are not part of the European Union. Although Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland are not EU member states, they have bilateral agreements that equate their nationals with EU citizens. All other countries are considered third countries, such as Australia, China, North Macedonia, or South Africa.

Our Welcome Service

Mag. Ulrike Klingenschmid

Talent Attraction Management, Welcome Service

+43 5 7599 722 74
ulrike.klingenschmid@innovation-salzburg.at

This might also interest you

5. December 2023

Presentation of Salzburg companies at career fairs

Throughout the year, we will be attending national and international career fairs together with Salzburg-based companies to represent the Salzburg location. There are still available dates with free booth spaces!

7. June 2023

Presentation of Salzburg companies at career fairs

Throughout the year, we will be attending national and international career fairs together with Salzburg-based companies to represent the Salzburg location. There are still available dates with free booth spaces!

7. February 2023

7 tips for intercultural work

Culture influences our working life: a colleague’s aversion to new tools and ways of working, a colleague’s sympathy for clear structures and rules, or a colleague’s relaxed approach to deadlines – this can result in conflicts! But this is not inevitable! Intercultural competencies promote understanding for each other and strengthen cooperation.

20. July 2022

Hiring foreign workers: What you need to consider

The voices from companies are growing louder, stating that skilled workers are missing in certain areas, such as the IT sector. This is an important reason to increasingly search for suitable talents abroad. When hiring so-called expatriates, or expats for short, there are several points to consider.

Our Newsletter

waymarking-g1af35c7b6_1920
Foto: Hans on Pixabay

25. Januar 2023

Das ändert sich bei der Rot-Weiß-Rot-Karte

Die Rot-Weiß-Rot-Karte erlaubt es Arbeitgebern, Arbeitnehmer:innen aus Drittstaaten zu beschäftigen. Eine Gesetzesnovelle erleichtert die Antragstellung. Wir sagen Ihnen, was Sie als Arbeitgeber über die Änderungen wissen müssen!

Sie suchen nach qualifizierten Fachkräften? Da sind Sie nicht allein!

Der Fachkräftemangel beschäftigt viele Unternehmen in Salzburg. Ob IT, Handwerk, Tourismus oder Pflege – überall wird nach Personal gesucht. Unternehmen suchen daher nicht nur innerhalb Österreichs und der EU, sondern auch am globalen Arbeitsmarkt nach geeigneten Fachkräften.

Um als Unternehmer:in die RWR-Karte zur Beschäftigung einer Person aus einem Drittstaat beantragen zu können, müssen Sie dieser ein verbindliches Jobangebot oder einen Arbeitsvertrag unterbreiten.

Um eine Person aus einem Drittstaat* einzustellen, müssen Sie als Arbeitgeber gemeinsam mit ihr einen Aufenthaltstitel beantragen. Klingt kompliziert – ist es in vielen Fällen leider auch. Doch dafür gibt es uns! Unsere Expert:innen helfen Ihnen, wenn Sie jemanden Passenden aus einem Drittstaat gefunden haben.

Neue Regelungen vereinfachen Aufenthaltsbewilligung

Einer der vielen Aufenthaltstiteln ist die Rot-Weiß-Rot-Karte. Sie erlaubt Fachkräften aus Drittstaaten, in Österreich zu leben, als auch bei einem bestimmten Arbeitgeber zu arbeiten. Was die RWR-Karte ist und welche Voraussetzungen Antragstellende erfüllen müssen, um diesen Aufenthaltstitel zu bekommen, erfahren Sie hier.

Zur RWR-Karte gibt es eine gute Nachricht für Arbeitgeber: Um Drittstaatsangehörige leichter einstellen zu können, wurde die RWR-Karte in einer Gesetzesnovelle, die seit 1. Oktober 2022 in Kraft ist, reformiert. Sie räumt große Hürden aus dem Weg, die in der Vergangenheit zu Herausforderungen führten.

Das ändert sich für Sie als Arbeitgeber:

  • Das Mindestbruttogehalt liegt für alle Sonstigen Schlüsselkräfte bei monatlich 2.925 Euro. (früher galt für Fachkräfte ab 30 Jahren ein höheres Mindestgehalt)
  • Studienabsolvent:innen müssen mindestens nach dem jeweiligen Kollektivvertrag bezahlt werden. (früher galt ein Mindestbruttogehalt von 2.551,50 Euro monatlich)
  • Bei der neuen Unterkategorie der RWR-Karte für Stamm-Mitarbeiter:innen können Unternehmen im Tourismus und in der Landwirtschaft ihre bisherigen Stammsaisoniers unbefristet anstellen.
  • Unternehmen können Anträge auch für die Familie der Fachkraft direkt bei der österreichischen Aufenthaltsbehörde stellen (früher war das nicht möglich).

Das ändert sich für Fachkräfte (und damit auch für Unternehmen):

  • Sprachzertifikate sind 5 Jahre gültig (früher: 1 Jahr gültig).
  • Berufserfahrung wird halbjährlich anerkannt (früher wurden nur ganzjährige Berufserfahrungen anerkannt).
  • Es gibt zusätzliche Punkte für Englisch-Kenntnisse, wenn die Unternehmenssprache Englisch ist (früher gab es das nicht).
  • Es ist kein Unterkunftsnachweis im Vorhinein mehr erforderlich. Die Fachkraft muss sich lediglich 3 Tage nach Anreise und jedenfalls vor Abholung des Aufenthaltstitels am Wohnsitz (Hauptwohnsitz) anmelden, sofern sie ohne Familie einwandert.
  • Die RWR-Karte Plus für Familienangehörige ist so lang gültig wie die RWR-Karte der Fachkraft, nämlich im Idealfall 2 Jahre (früher in vielen Fällen: 1 Jahr gültig)

Ihre Ansprechpartner für Ihre Fragen zur RWR-Karte

Auf jeden Fall gibt es einiges zu beachten! Doch das soll kein Hindernisgrund für Sie sein, Fachkräfte aus der ganzen Welt anzustellen. Hier nochmals unser Appell: Wenden Sie sich an uns. Unsere Expert:innen wissen, welche Aufenthaltstitel für Ihre Fachkraft passend ist, welche Dokumente Sie brauchen, welche Voraussetzungen die Fachkraft erfüllen muss, welche Behörde zuständig ist und stehen Ihnen auch sonst mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Beachten Sie, dass Sie beim Antrag alle Dokumente vollständig bei der zuständigen Aufenthaltsbehörde in Salzburg einreichen. Das garantiert eine schnelle Verfahrensdauer!

Zum Schluss noch ein kleiner Tipp: Wir empfehlen Ihnen, Jobanzeigen auch immer auf Englisch parat zu haben. Auf der Jobbörse der ABA können Sie damit nach internationalen Fachkräften suchen.

Update:

Die Regierung hat angekündigt, weitere Erleichterungen für die RWR-Karte einzuführen. Wenn es soweit ist, halten wir Sie hier auf dem Laufenden.

 

*Drittstaaten sind Staaten, die nicht Teil der Europäischen Union sind. Island, Liechtenstein, Norwegen und die Schweiz sind zwar keine EU-Mitgliedsstaaten, haben aber bilaterale Verträge, die deren Staatsangehörige EU-Bürger:innen gleichstellen. Alle anderen Länder gelten als Drittstaaten, also zum Beispiel Australien, China, Nordmazedonien oder Südafrika.

Unser Welcome Service

Mitarbeiter_innenfotos Innovation Salzburg

Mag. Ulrike Klingenschmid

Talent Attraction Management, Welcome Service

+43 5 7599 722 74
ulrike.klingenschmid@innovation-salzburg.at

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

20. Juli 2022

Arbeitskräfte aus dem Ausland einstellen: Was Sie beachten sollten

Immer lauter werden die Stimmen aus den Unternehmen, dass Fachkräfte in bestimmten Bereichen, wie beispielsweise im IT-Bereich, fehlen. Ein wichtiger Grund, sich verstärkt auch im Ausland nach den passenden Talenten umzusehen. Bei der Einstellung sogenannter Expatriates, abgekürzt Expats, gibt es mehrere Punkte zu beachten.

13. Januar 2023

Willkommen auf unserem neuen Webportal!

Lernen Sie uns und unsere Services kennen: Für Sie neu dargestellt!

12. Januar 2023

Salzburg abseits von Mozart und Hochkultur

Wir haben für Sie hier nur eine kleine Auswahl der vielfältigen sportlichen Aktivitäten, die Salzburg zu bieten hat. Es gibt viel zu entdecken – zu jeder Jahreszeit.

11. Januar 2023

Rot-Weiß-Rot-Karte: Das müssen Sie wissen

Sie kommen aus einem Drittstaat und möchten in Salzburg arbeiten? Sie wissen aber nicht, wie Sie hier vorgehen sollen? Hier bekommen Sie einen ersten Überblick, wie Sie als Fachkraft aus einem Drittstaat in Österreich arbeiten können.