Photo: wildbild

10. March 2022

When does a project fall under R&D?

Is your company involved in research and/or development? With many projects it is not entirely clear whether a project is actually research or perhaps “only” an engineering project. With our help, you can manage the correct classification of your project.

Why is the distinction important?

Isn’t it irrelevant whether my project is research or development? No, not at all. There are grants and incentives for R&D. But there are also grants for digitalization projects, such as software development, or engineering projects, just different ones. In order not to invest time and resources in a funding application that does not fit the project, the distinction must be made in advance.

And beware: Funding applications must be submitted before the start of the project!

R&D aims to increase the state of knowledge or develop new applications based on this knowledge. It must be systematic, with a defined scientific goal, and using scientific methods. A distinction is made between basic research (without a specific purpose), applied research (with specific possible applications), and experimental development (development of new or improved procedures, products, or materials).

These criteria must be met for R&D:

  1. Novelty: Generating new knowledge.
  2. Creative: The solution to a problem lies not in routine activities but in new methods and approaches.
  3. Uncertain: Uncertain in terms of results.
  4. Systematic: Planned and budgeted.
  5. Reproducible: Research must be documented and accessible to others. This does not apply to research results protected by patents.

Examples of R&D include the construction of prototypes and the construction and operation of pilot plants. Software development also falls under this category, for example, when new technologies, operating systems, programming languages, or data management systems are developed or when they involve new methods for the application or protection of software.

What does not fall under research and development?

The distinction is not easy to make. For example, these projects and activities do not belong to R&D:

  • Data collection
  • Industrial engineering and retrofitting of plants to start a production process
  • Market research
  • Routine production, adaptation, or use of software
  • Trial operation or manufacturing

Where can I get support?

You tell us about your project, and we will tell you whether it is an R&D project or not. In both cases, we can support you in getting your project off the ground – with funding and intellectual property advice, our network, and our expertise. Get in touch with us!

Your contact

Mag. Romana Schwab

That might be interesting for you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

8. March 2024

How do we shape our future?

Political and technological challenges, as well as solutions to questions about the world of tomorrow, were discussed at the well-attended Innovation and Technology Forum salz21 on March 6th at the Salzburg Exhibition Center. Let’s take a look back at the panels organized by Innovation Salzburg.

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

Our Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.

GMP-Labor_der_PMU_ekb7kt
Foto: wildbild

10. März 2022

Wann fällt ein Projekt unter F&E?

Ist Ihr Unternehmen in Forschung und/oder Entwicklung tätig? Bei vielen Projekten ist nicht ganz klar, ob es sich bei einem Projekt tatsächlich um Forschung handelt, oder vielleicht „nur“ um ein Engineering-Projekt. Mit unserer Hilfe schaffen Sie die richtige Einordnung Ihres Projektes.

Warum ist die Unterscheidung wichtig?

Ist es nicht egal, ob mein Projekt Forschung oder Entwicklung ist? Nein, ganz und gar nicht. Für F&E gibt es Förderungen und Prämien. Aber auch für Digitalisierungsprojekte, wie zum Beispiel Software-Entwicklung, oder Engineering-Projekte gibt es Förderungen, nur eben andere. Um nicht Zeit und Ressourcen in einen Förderantrag zu stecken, der nicht zum Projekt passt, muss die Unterscheidung im Vorfeld getroffen werden.

Und Achtung: Förderanträge muss man vor Projektbeginn stellen!

F&E zielt darauf ab, den Stand des Wissens zu vermehren oder neue Anwendungen von diesem Wissen zu erarbeiten. Sie muss systematisch, mit einem definierten wissenschaftlichen Ziel und mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden erfolgen. Man unterscheidet zwischen Grundlagenforschung (ohne konkreten Verwendungszweck), angewandter Forschung (mit konkreten Verwendungsmöglichkeiten) und experimenteller Entwicklung (Entwicklung neuer oder besserer Verfahren, Produkte oder Materialien).

Diese Kriterien müssen für F&E erfüllt sein

Diese fünf Charakteristiken sind:

  • neuartig: neues Wissen wird generiert
  • schöpferisch: Die Lösung eines Problems liegt nicht in routinemäßigen Tätigkeiten, sondern in neuen Methoden und Herangehensweisen
  • ungewiss: unsicher hinsichtlich der Ergebnisse
  • systematisch: geplant und budgetiert
  • reproduzierbar: die Forschung muss dokumentiert werden und für andere zugänglich sein. Das betrifft nicht Ergebnisse eine Forschung, die durch Patente geschützt sind

Beispiele für F&E sind der Bau von Prototypen und der Bau und Betrieb von Pilotanlagen. Auch Softwareentwicklungen fallen darunter, wenn dabei zum Beispiel neue Technologien, Betriebssysteme, Programmiersprachen oder Datenverwaltungssysteme entwickelt werden oder wenn sie neue Methoden zur Anwendung oder zum Schutz von Software beinhalten.

Was NICHT unter Forschung und Entwicklung fällt

Die Abgrenzung ist nicht so einfach zu treffen. Diese Projekte und Tätigkeiten gehören zum Beispiel nicht zu F&E:

  • Datensammlung
  • Industrielles Engineering und Umrüsten von Anlagen, um einen Produktionsprozess zu starten
  • Marktforschung
  • Routinemäßige Herstellung, Anpassung oder Einsatz von Software
  • Probebetrieb oder -fertigung

Eine vollständige Abgrenzung finden Sie in der Forschungsprämienverordnung der FFG.

Wo bekomme ich Unterstützung?

Sie nennen uns Ihr Vorhaben und wir sagen Ihnen, ob es sich dabei um ein F&E-Projekt handelt oder nicht. In beiden Fällen können wir Sie dabei unterstützen, Ihr Projekt in Gang zu bringen – mit Förder- und Schutzrechtberatungen, unserem Netzwerk und unserem Know-how. Melden Sie sich bei uns!

Kontakt

Romana Schwab

Mag. Romana Schwab

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

17. Januar 2024

Forschungsprämie beantragen – so geht’s!

KMU können für Aufwendungen in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) eine Forschungsprämie beim Finanzamt beantragen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie es geht!

2. Februar 2024

salz21: Salzburg wird wieder zur Bühne für Innovation

Die größte Innovationsveranstaltung des Jahres findet am 6. und 7. März wieder im Messezentrum statt. Wir sind auch dabei und stellen unsere Programmhighlights vor. 

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: mit Technologie zu besserer Bewegung

Mehrere Salzburger Forschungseinrichtungen haben es mit weiteren Partnern geschafft, mit „Digital Motion“ wieder ein COMET-Projekt nach Salzburg zu holen. COMET ist das Flaggschiff-Programm zur Förderung von Spitzenforschung in Österreich.

15. November 2023

Ein neues Bindemittel für den Holzbau

Die Bauneg GmbH aus dem Flachgau hat ein neuartiges Bindemittel für den Niveauausgleich von Holzwohnbauten entwickelt, das elastisch bleibt und so für Schallschutz sorgt. Unterstützt wurde das KMU dabei von der Innovationsförderung des Landes und von Innovation Salzburg.

Unser Newsletter