Provincial Governor Wilfried Haslauer demonstrates circular economy using a wooden chair, Photo: Innovation Salzburg/Benedikt Schemmer

21. March 2023

The economy must align with nature

How to use resources efficiently, reuse them, or replace them with natural materials is what circular economy and bioeconomy are concerned with. Experts discussed what it takes to transition to a green economy during a panel at the salz21 innovation festival.

Do you remember the wooden chairs in your school? Each and every one of us has sat on such a chair, without thinking about where it comes from or what happens to it when it reaches the end of its life. Ideally, it comes from wood from an Austrian forest, is debarked and debranched in a sawmill, and its valuable raw materials are processed elsewhere. A carpentry workshop shapes the wood into a chair. After hundreds of children have sat on the chair, the wood is further processed, for example, into another piece of furniture. Only when the wood can no longer be used is it burned and gives us warmth.

THAT is circular economy. Each component of a natural raw material is used, then reprocessed or recycled until it reaches the end of its life cycle. However, our current economic system looks different. We consume more resources than can grow back. We produce products and when we no longer need them, we throw them away and buy something new. This has immense effects on CO2 emissions and makes us dependent on finite resources. Our economy is decoupled from nature.

Therefore, the circular economy is an important part of the European Green Deal. At the panel “Gamechanger Circular Economy and Bioeconomy” on Thursday, March 16, 2023, at the salz21 innovation festival, experts and users from the economy spoke about how we can move from our current linear economy to a circular one. The panel was organized by Innovation Salzburg.

From concrete to packaging

The construction industry, for example, shows how materials can be reused or used differently. Big changes are coming to the construction industry, as it is responsible for 30 to 40 percent of emissions. But there is another way: Salzburg Wohnbau is currently building a building that is 80 percent constructed from reused materials. This works by recycling concrete from old buildings or reusing wood.

In addition to the circular economy, bioeconomy is also a topic that many companies are dealing with. Bioeconomy means replacing artificial materials with natural ones. This is particularly challenging for food packaging. It is not only about reducing plastic packaging, but actually replacing it. In addition, strict hygiene regulations must be followed in the food sector. Meanwhile, this is best achieved with PET, which is why the food industry is highly dependent on it. Replacing PET is one of its biggest challenges.

Old machines for new materials

But it is not only in terms of hygiene regulations that companies are facing unforeseen obstacles, but also in the production process itself. Existing production plants in the food sector are designed for “old” materials. New raw materials have different requirements – they are, for example, more heat-sensitive and stretchier – and are therefore not compatible with the old machines. Investments in new equipment are expensive. And usually, companies also need to involve their suppliers in the transformation to a different material. Therefore, a circular economy and bioeconomy only work across the entire supply chain. If successful, a critical mass can also be reached. Lone fighters find it difficult to assert themselves in the market. However, when many companies use new materials, the green transformation accelerates.

Tobias Stern, Executive Director of the Institute of Environmental Systems Science at the University of Graz and Bioeconomy Austria network partner, sees collaboration as the key to success: “Bioeconomy can be a real game-changer in terms of green growth and emission reduction. This requires networks like Bioeconomy Austria, which bring all actors in the value chain to the table.”

The green transformation must also be economically viable. The Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) also notes that the conversion involves high costs. The demand for funding is increasing steadily. The FFG provides around 60 million euros annually for research projects on the topic. In addition to targeted funding, better legal framework conditions are also needed on how companies can and may use residual and old materials. For example, in construction, only 38 percent concrete recycling may be used. However, the technology already enables one hundred percent.

Less is more

When shifting from a linear to a circular economy, we must also consider the finite nature of natural resources. Wood is a popular raw material that benefits our forest-rich Austria. However, 88 percent of the wood growth is already used. The remaining stocks are in small private forests and are therefore difficult to develop. The pressure on our forests is high. Therefore, it is not only a matter of replacing raw materials but also of dealing with resources very carefully and sparingly.

Technologies alone will not solve the problem. We need an economy that is oriented towards nature. The central building block of a functioning circular economy and bioeconomy is society, which bears the costs. Awareness of the value of finite resources must increase. This includes, for example, that people know what and how they can best recycle. We need to learn to use resources better so that they do not run out. Karin Huber-Heim, Executive Director of the Circular Economy Forum Austria, emphasizes the importance of the careful use of valuable resources and awareness of sustainable consumption: “It is crucial that we all start together now.”

The panel was organized by Innovation Salzburg, Bioeconomy Austria, and the Salzburg Science and Research Council. Bioeconomy Austria is the gateway to the bioeconomy in Austria. The growing network is open to all interested organizations: www.bioeconomy-austria.at

Participants in the discussion were:

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

3. November 2023

Development of raw material recycling thanks to funding

The extraction of gravel produces extremely fine material that was previously considered waste. An innovation from Pongau makes it possible to utilise this material for the first time. This means that 100 per cent of the raw material can be used. The mechanical recovery process was developed by Christian Ehrensberger GmbH from Tenneck near Werfen.

Our Newsletter

Kreislaufwirtschaft
Landeshauptmann Wilfried Haslauer demonstriert Kreislaufwirtschaft anhand eines Holzstuhls, Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Benedikt Schemmer

21. März 2023

Die Wirtschaft muss sich an der Natur orientieren

Wie man Ressourcen sparsam einsetzt, sie wiederverwendet oder gegen natürliche Materialien ersetzt, damit beschäftigen sich die Kreislaufwirtschaft und die Bioökonomie. Was es für einen Wandel zu einer grünen Wirtschaft braucht, diskutierten Expert:innen bei einem Panel beim Innovationsfestival salz21.

Erinnern Sie sich an die Holzstühle in Ihrer Schule? Jede und jeder von uns ist schon auf so einem Stuhl gesessen. Ohne sich Gedanken zu machen, wo er herkommt oder was mit ihm passiert, wenn er sein Lebensende erreicht hat. Im Idealfall stammt er aus Holz aus einem österreichischen Wald. Er wurde in einem Sägewerk entrindet und entastet. Diese wertvollen Rohstoffe wurden anderweitig verarbeitet. Aus dem Holz formte eine Tischlerei den Stuhl. Nachdem hunderte Kinder auf dem Stuhl die Schulbank drückten, wird das Holz weiterverarbeitet – zum Beispiel zu einem weiteren Möbelstück. Erst wenn das Holz nicht mehr verwertet werden kann, wird es verbrannt und schenkt uns Wärme.

DAS ist Kreislaufwirtschaft. Jeder Bestandteil eines natürlichen Rohstoffs wird genutzt, danach neu verarbeitet oder recycelt bis er das Ende seines Lebenszyklus erreicht hat. Doch unser aktuelles Wirtschaftssystem sieht anders aus. Wir verbrauchen mehr Ressourcen als nachwachsen können. Wir produzieren Produkte und wenn wir sie nicht mehr brauchen, werfen wir sie weg und kaufen etwas Neues. Das hat immense Auswirkungen auf die CO2-Emissionen und macht uns abhängig von endlichen Ressourcen. Unsere Wirtschaft ist von der Natur entkoppelt.

Deshalb ist die Kreislaufwirtschaft ein wichtiger Bestandteil des European Green Deals. Beim Panel „Gamechanger Circular Economy and Bioeconomy“ am Donnerstag, 16.3.2023, am Innovationsfestival salz21 sprachen Expert:innen und Anwender:innen aus der Wirtschaft darüber, wie wir von unserer jetzigen linearen zu einer zirkulären Wirtschaft kommen. Das Panel wurde von Innovation Salzburg veranstaltet.

Von Beton bis Verpackung

Wie Materialien wiederverwendet oder anders genutzt werden können, zeigt etwa die Bauwirtschaft. Im Bau stehen große Veränderungen an, ist er doch für 30 bis 40 Prozent der Emissionen verantwortlich. Doch es geht auch anders: Salzburg Wohnbau errichtet aktuell ein Gebäude, das zu 80 Prozent aus wiederverwendeten Materialien erbaut wird. Das funktioniert, indem Beton von alten Gebäuden recycelt oder Holz wiederverwendet.

Neben der Kreislaufwirtschaft ist auch Bioökonomie ein Thema, mit dem sich viele Unternehmen auseinandersetzen. Bioökonomie bedeutet, dass künstliche Materialien gegen natürliche ersetzt werden. Besonders bei Lebensmittelverpackungen ist das herausfordernd. Denn es gilt, nicht nur Plastikverpackungen zu reduzieren, sondern sie tatsächlich auch zu ersetzen. Darüber hinaus müssen im Lebensmittelbereich strenge Hygienevorschriften eingehalten werden. Derweil gelingt das am besten mit PET, weswegen die Abhängigkeit der Lebensmittelindustrie hier sehr groß ist. PET zu ersetzen, ist eines ihrer größten Herausforderungen.

Alte Maschinen für neue Materialien

Doch nicht nur bei den Hygienevorschriften, sondern auch bei der Produktion selbst stehen Unternehmen vor ungeahnten Hindernissen. Bestehende Produktionsanlagen im Lebensmittelbereich sind für „alte“ Materialien gemacht. Neue Rohstoffe haben andere Anforderungen – sie sind beispielsweise hitzeempfindlicher und dehnbarer – und sind daher mit den alten Maschinen nicht kompatibel. Investitionen in neue Anlagen sind teuer. Und meistens müssen Unternehmen auch ihre Lieferant:innen bei der Transformation zu einem anderen Material mit einbeziehen. Kreislaufwirtschaft und Bioökonomie funktioniert daher nur über die gesamte Lieferkette hinweg. Gelingt das, kann auch eine kritische Masse erreicht werden. Einzelkämpfer haben es am Markt schwer, sich durchzusetzen. Doch wenn viele Unternehmen neue Materialien einsetzen, beschleunigt sich die grüne Transformation.

Tobias Stern, Vorstand des Instituts für Umweltsystemwissenschaften der Universität Graz und Bioeconomy Austria Netzwerkpartner, sieht dafür die Zusammenarbeit als Schlüssel zum Erfolg: „Biökonomie kann im Hinblick auf grünes Wachstum und Emissions-Reduktion ein echter Gamechanger sein. Dazu braucht es Netzwerke wie Bioeconomy Austria, die alle Akteure der Wertschöpfungskette an einen Tisch holen.“

Die grüne Transformation muss auch wirtschaftlich rentabel sein. Dass der Umstieg hohe Kosten mit sich bringt, merkt auch die Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG). Die Nachfrage nach Förderungen steigt stetig an. Rund 60 Millionen Euro steuert die FFG jährlich zu Forschungsprojekten zu dem Thema bei. Neben gezielten Förderungen braucht es außerdem bessere gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, wie Unternehmen Rest- und Altstoffe nutzen können und dürfen. Im Bau dürfen beispielsweise nur 38 Prozent Betonrezyklat verwendet werden. Die Technologie ermöglicht aber bereits hundert Prozent.

Weniger ist mehr

Beim Paradigmenwechsel von einer linearen zu einer zirkulären Wirtschaft müssen wir auch die Endlichkeit natürlicher Ressourcen mitbedenken. Ein beliebter Rohstoff ist Holz, was unserem waldreichen Österreich zugutekommt. Doch 88 Prozent des Holzzuwachses werden bereits verwendet. Die restlichen Vorräte stehen in kleinen privaten Wäldern und sind daher schwer zu erschließen. Der Druck auf unseren Wald ist groß. Es gilt daher, nicht nur Rohstoffe zu ersetzen, sondern generell sehr umsichtig und sparsam mit Ressourcen umzugehen.

Technologien allein werden es jedenfalls nicht richten. Wir brauchen eine Wirtschaft, die sich an der Natur orientiert. Der zentrale Baustein einer funktionierenden Kreislaufwirtschaft und Bioökonomie ist die Gesellschaft, welche die Kosten mitträgt. Das Bewusstsein für die Wertigkeit von endlichen Ressourcen muss steigen. Dazu gehört zum Beispiel auch, dass die Menschen wissen, was und wie sie am besten recyceln. Wir müssen lernen, mit den Ressourcen besser umzugehen, damit uns diese nicht ausgehen. Karin Huber-Heim, Executive Director beim Circular Economy Forum Austria betont die Bedeutung einer behutsamen Nutzung wertvoller Ressourcen und ein Bewusstsein für nachhaltigen Konsum: „Entscheidend ist, dass wir jetzt alle gemeinsam und gleichzeitig damit anfangen.“

Das Panel wurde organisiert von Innovation Salzburg, Bioeconomy Austria und dem Salzburger Wissenschafts- und Forschungsrat. Bioeconomy Austria ist das Tor zur Bioökonomie in Österreich. Das wachsende Netzwerk steht allen interessierten Organisationen offen: www.bioeconomy-austria.at

Mit diskutiert haben:

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

2. Februar 2024

salz21: Salzburg wird wieder zur Bühne für Innovation

Die größte Innovationsveranstaltung des Jahres findet am 6. und 7. März wieder im Messezentrum statt. Wir sind auch dabei und stellen unsere Programmhighlights vor. 

17. Januar 2024

Forschungsprämie beantragen – so geht’s!

KMU können für Aufwendungen in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) eine Forschungsprämie beim Finanzamt beantragen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie es geht!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: mit Technologie zu besserer Bewegung

Mehrere Salzburger Forschungseinrichtungen haben es mit weiteren Partnern geschafft, mit „Digital Motion“ wieder ein COMET-Projekt nach Salzburg zu holen. COMET ist das Flaggschiff-Programm zur Förderung von Spitzenforschung in Österreich.

15. November 2023

Ein neues Bindemittel für den Holzbau

Die Bauneg GmbH aus dem Flachgau hat ein neuartiges Bindemittel für den Niveauausgleich von Holzwohnbauten entwickelt, das elastisch bleibt und so für Schallschutz sorgt. Unterstützt wurde das KMU dabei von der Innovationsförderung des Landes und von Innovation Salzburg.

Unser Newsletter