Our experts answer your questions about collaborations and partnership search!

2. August 2022

Collaborations and partnership search in research

To conduct research and development, companies often need competent partners from the world of academia. Here you can learn how to best approach the search for such partners and what to consider when forming a cooperation.

What does knowledge and technology transfer mean?

Knowledge and technology transfer is the interface between science and business. Know-how, research efforts and results, information, patents, infrastructure, personnel, material, financial resources, and more are exchanged. We support you in finding the right transfer partner and identify suitable funding opportunities for innovation cooperation.

Who owns the invention in a collaboration between a company and a research institution?

This is often a legal discussion point when it is too late. It is important to define in advance in an agreement which partner is authorized or required to apply for a patent with the patent office. At the same time, the right to publish the results scientifically should be regulated.

Does a non-disclosure agreement with the research institution protect against unintentional disclosure of the invention?

It is recommended to conclude a non-disclosure agreement with all persons involved in the project (Important: also think of each individual student involved when collaborating with universities or colleges!). However, even if confidentiality is breached, a concrete economic damage may be difficult to prove. Such an agreement should also include a clause prohibiting commercial prior use.

Where can I find suitable partners for technical development to help me implement my idea into a functioning prototype?

The consultants of Innovation Salzburg GmbH are at your side in all aspects of a project with advice and coaching, and find university and non-university research and innovation partners for you.

I am looking for a partner in the European region, what support is available here?

The Enterprise Europe Network (EEN) offers a large database of potential technology partners in the European region. You can either set up your own profile or search for suitable partners here. The services are mostly free of charge. Innovation Salzburg is the regional contact point for the EEN and is happy to assist you with any questions and support you with input and searches in the network for successful innovation cooperation or business cooperation.

Contact

Romana Schwab

Mag. Romana Schwab

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

3. November 2023

Development of raw material recycling thanks to funding

The extraction of gravel produces extremely fine material that was previously considered waste. An innovation from Pongau makes it possible to utilise this material for the first time. This means that 100 per cent of the raw material can be used. The mechanical recovery process was developed by Christian Ehrensberger GmbH from Tenneck near Werfen.

13. October 2023

Circular Economy:
Building with and in Existing Structures

“Dismantle. Breakthrough. Departure.” was the motto of this year’s Alpine Construction Symposium at the Salzburg University of Applied Sciences on October 12, 2023. The focus was on topics related to construction in existing structures and the recycling of materials from decommissioned buildings. There are many challenges in this regard, but also solutions.

Our Newsletter

Unsere Expert:innen beantworten Ihre Fragen zu Kooperationen und Partnersuche!

2. August 2022

Kooperationen und Partnersuche in der Forschung

Um Forschung und Entwicklung zu betreiben, brauchen Unternehmen oft kompetente Partner aus der Wissenschaft. Wie man die Suche am besten angeht und was es bei Kooperationen zu beachten gilt, erfahren Sie hier.

Was heißt Wissens- und Technologietransfer?

Wissens- und Technologietransfer ist die Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Ausgetauscht werden Know-How, Forschungsanstrengungen und -ergebnisse, Informationen, Patente, Infrastruktur, Personal-, Sach- und Finanzmittel und weiteres. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Suche nach dem richtigen Transferpartner und identifizieren geeignete Fördermöglichkeiten zur Innovationskooperation.

Wem gehört bei einer Kooperation zwischen Firma und Forschungseinrichtung die Erfindung?

Dies ist oftmals dann ein juristischer Diskussionspunkt, wenn es zu spät ist. Unbedingt VORAB in einer Vereinbarung festlegen, welcher Partner eine Erfindung beim Patentamt anmelden darf oder muss. Parallel dazu soll das Recht auf die wissenschaftliche Publikation der Ergebnisse geregelt werden.

Schützt eine Geheimhaltungsvereinbarung mit der Forschungseinrichtung gegen eine ungewollte Vorveröffentlichung der Erfindung?

Der Abschluss einer Geheimhaltungsvereinbarung mit allen am Projekt beteiligten Personen ist empfehlenswert (Wichtig: bei der Zusammenarbeit mit Universitäten oder Fachhochschulen an jeden einzelnen beteiligten Studenten denken!). Allerdings wird auch bei einer Verletzung der Geheimhaltung ein konkreter wirtschaftlicher Schaden schwer nachweisbar sein. Eine derartige Vereinbarung sollte auch eine Klausel beinhalten, die eine gewerbliche Vorbenutzung untersagt.

Wo finde ich geeignete Partner für die technische Entwicklung, die mir bei der Umsetzung meiner Idee zu einem funktionsfähigen Prototyp helfen?

Die Beraterinnen und Berater der Innovation Salzburg GmbH stehen Ihnen in allen Belangen eines Projektes mit Beratung und Coaching zur Seite und finden universitäre und außeruniversitäre Forschungs- und Innovationspartner für Sie.

Ich suche einen Partner im europäischen Raum, welche Unterstützung gibt es hier?

Das Enterprise Europe Network (EEN) bietet eine große Datenbank an potentiellen Technologiepartnern im europäischen Raum. Sie können hier sowohl ihr eigenes Profil einstellen, oder auch nach passenden Partnern suchen. Die Services sind zum größten Teil kostenlos. Als regionale Ansprechstelle für das EEN steht Ihnen Innovation Salzburg gerne bei allen Fragen zur Verfügung und unterstützt Sie bei der Eingabe und Suche im Netzwerk zur erfolgreichen Innovationskooperation oder Unternehmenskooperation.

Kontakt

Schwab2

Mag. Romana Schwab

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

17. Januar 2024

Forschungsprämie beantragen – so geht’s!

KMU können für Aufwendungen in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) eine Forschungsprämie beim Finanzamt beantragen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie es geht!

8. März 2024

Wie gestalten wir unsere Zukunft?

Politische und technologische Herausforderungen sowie Lösungsansätze zu Fragen über die Welt von morgen wurden beim gut besuchten Innovations- und Technologieforum salz21 am 6. März in der Messe Salzburg besprochen. Ein Rückblick auf die von Innovation Salzburg organisierten Panels.

2. Februar 2024

salz21: Salzburg wird wieder zur Bühne für Innovation

Die größte Innovationsveranstaltung des Jahres findet am 6. und 7. März wieder im Messezentrum statt. Wir sind auch dabei und stellen unsere Programmhighlights vor. 

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: mit Technologie zu besserer Bewegung

Mehrere Salzburger Forschungseinrichtungen haben es mit weiteren Partnern geschafft, mit „Digital Motion“ wieder ein COMET-Projekt nach Salzburg zu holen. COMET ist das Flaggschiff-Programm zur Förderung von Spitzenforschung in Österreich.

Unser Newsletter