Photo: filmperlen

14. July 2020

“Liefering is more inspiring to me than any trendy district in Vienna.”

Filmmaker Adrian Goiginger, known for his successful debut film “Die Beste aller Welten,” discussed with us in an interview why Salzburg remains his top choice as a film location.

As a Salzburg resident, I find Liefering more inspiring than any trendy district in Vienna. It showcases a different side of the city, offering an honest and unfiltered Salzburg experience, far away from the well-trodden tourist paths. In the film ‘Die Beste aller Welten’ (‘The Best of All Worlds’), we follow the story of a young boy growing up in a drug environment but experiencing a beautiful childhood thanks to his caring mother. It’s no wonder that Salzburg-born director Adrian Goiginger identifies himself as a local patriot. In our conversation, he weighs the advantages and disadvantages of the regional funding landscape.

Is Salzburg a flourishing place for film productions?

Salzburg has many advantages for filmmakers, but the main concentration of the Austrian film industry is in Vienna. All other regions have to try to keep up. Salzburg is doing quite well in that regard, especially with its university of applied sciences, which produces exciting graduates. That is a clear advantage. The film location provided by Innovation Salzburg also supports filmmakers before and after production, offering consultations on funding and other concerns. Another clear advantage in recent years has been Servus TV. We are currently working with them again, and they are particularly interested in Salzburg stories, which is fantastic. We hope that a lot more can be created in the future. While Salzburg may have lower film funding compared to Vienna or South Tyrol, it has good support for emerging talent with smaller funding resources. I was able to finance my first production as an 18-year-old through this support. At that age, you’re not looking to make a profit but rather to gain work experience.

How important are government funding programs for the domestic film industry?

They are crucial. In Europe as a whole, there would be no film productions without funding. The production standards also depend on the amount and accessibility of the funding. South Tyrol, for example, has a high budget for film funding and also boasts incredibly beautiful scenery. Countries like the Czech Republic and Hungary are currently investing heavily in supporting their film industries. If funding in Salzburg were five times higher tomorrow, we would see even more productions.

Would it be beneficial if more Austrian cinemas showed more Austrian films?

Absolutely! That’s essential. There are some cinemas that do show domestic films, but there could be many more! “Das Kino” in Salzburg, for example, sees itself as a cultural institution with a cultural mission. “Die Beste aller Welten” would have faced greater challenges if such institutions didn’t exist. I am delighted whenever an Austrian cinema screens an Austrian film, especially in smaller towns where there is only one small cinema. In Salzburg, Vienna, and larger cities, at least there is a better selection.

As a filming location, Salzburg is still highly sought after internationally, right?

Absolutely. Salzburg is a well-known city that everyone is familiar with. Particularly in the United States, “The Sound of Music” was one of the most successful films of the 1960s, and everyone knows it. That’s the first association they have. When I attended the American premiere of “Die Beste aller Welten” in Indianapolis, everyone was surprised to learn that there are drugs in beautiful Salzburg (laughs). They envision Salzburg residents dressed in traditional costumes! It’s quite amusing. But they also enjoyed seeing a different side of Salzburg. We shouldn’t be afraid to show that. It doesn’t scare people away, and Salzburg doesn’t lose its reputation as a film location because of it. I believe Salzburg will always remain a popular filming destination. For my next film, set in the 1920s in Salzburg, I’m also looking for filming locations in the surrounding area.

How has the search been going so far?

It’s been a bit challenging because the Pinzgau region, where the story takes place, has undergone significant changes in the last 100 years. We’re working closely with Filmlocation of Innovation Salzburg GmbH to find suitable locations. Together with the cinematographer and production designer, we visit various places, not only in Salzburg but also in South Tyrol and Germany.

With your feature film “Die Beste aller Welten,” you achieved worldwide success, yet your production company, 2010 Entertainment, is still based in Salzburg. Is there enough inspiration for you here?

Absolutely. I’m not someone who needs to live in a big city. Even though many people approach me and ask why I don’t move to Vienna, there’s a reason why I still live in Salzburg. I grew up in Liefering, and I feel more comfortable there. It’s more authentic to me than any trendy district in Vienna. I’m also a passionate athlete and enjoy being in the mountains, both in summer and winter. Whether it’s cycling, skiing, or swimming, I can do it all in Salzburg.

Your contact for the film location

This might also interest you

27. May 2024

Mr. Eddy: How interesting is Salzburg for Netflix?

In the name of our film location Salzburg, we had the opportunity to host a delegation from Netflix. During a stroll through the city center and Hellbrunn, the team could get an impression of Salzburg’s film scenery. Steve Eddy, Director of the DACH Region for Netflix, answered a few questions for us on that occasion.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

8. November 2023

Training courses for Filmmakers

Salzburg is the second-largest media hub in Austria and a versatile location for (film) productions. So, it’s the perfect place to start your education in this field

31. July 2023

“Algorithms, Brands & Emotions” at the Salzburg Media Summit

On July 28th, creatives, experts, and managers from the media and technology industry gathered for the traditional event organized by the Association of Film and Music Salzburg, Innovation Salzburg, and the Salzburg Chamber of Commerce at Schloss Leopoldskron.

Our Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.

Film/ Die beste aller Welten
Foto: filmperlen

14. Juli 2020

„Liefering ist für mich inspirierender als jeder Bobo-Bezirk in Wien“

Der durch seinen erfolgreichen Debütfilm „Die Beste aller Welten“ bekannt gewordene Filmemacher Adrian Goiginger hat mit uns im Interview über den Standort Salzburg als seine erste Wahl als Filmlocation gesprochen.

Als Salzburgerin und Salzburger kennt man seinen Film „Die Beste aller Welten“ als einen, der eine andere Seite der Stadt, ein ehrliches, ungeschöntes Salzburg zeigt – fernab der viel bewanderten Touristenpfade. Es geht um einen kleinen Jungen, der im Drogenmilieu aufwächst, dennoch dank seiner fürsorglichen Mutter eine schöne Kindheit erlebt. Nicht verwunderlich also, dass sich der Salzburger Regisseur Adrian Goiginger als Lokalpatriot bezeichnet. Im Gespräch wägt er Vor- und Nachteile der regionalen Förderlandschaft ab.

Salzburg: ein florierender Ort für Filmproduktionen?

Salzburg hat viele Vorteile für Filmemacherinnen und Filmemacher, die Hauptkonzentration der österreichischen Filmschaffenden ist aber in Wien. Alle anderen Bundesländer müssen versuchen mitzuhalten. Salzburg macht das schon ganz gut, allen voran mit der Fachhochschule, die auch spannende Absolventinnen und Absolventen hervorbringt. Das ist ein klarer Vorteil. Die Filmlocation von Innovation Salzburg unterstützt zusätzlich vor und nach der Produktion mit Beratungen zu Förderungen und anderen Anliegen. Ein anderer klarer Vorteil ist in den letzten Jahren Servus TV geworden. Mit ihnen produzieren wir aktuell wieder, sie suchen vor allem Salzburger Geschichten, das ist super. Wir hoffen, dass da auch in Zukunft viel entstehen kann. Salzburg hat zwar niedrigere Filmförderungen als Wien oder Südtirol, allerdings hat Salzburg eine gute Nachwuchsförderung mit kleineren Fördertöpfen. Meine erste Produktion als 18-Jähriger habe ich damit finanzieren können. Und in dem Alter willst du nicht Gewinn machen, sondern Arbeitserfahrung sammeln.

Wie wichtig sind staatliche Förderungen für die heimische Filmbranche?

Ohne geht’s nicht. In ganz Europa gäbe es ohne Förderungen keine Filmproduktionen. Nach der Höhe und der Zugänglichkeit der Förderung richten sich auch die Produktionsstandards. Südtirol hat beispielsweise ein hohes Budget für Filmförderungen und dazu außerdem eine wahnsinnig schöne Natur. Auch Tschechien und Ungarn nehmen gerade Geld in die Hand, um ihre Filmwirtschaft zu unterstützen. Wenn morgen die Förderung in Salzburg fünfmal so hoch wäre, gäbe es noch mehr Produktionen.

Wäre es eine Unterstützung, wenn mehr österreichische Kinos mehr österreichische Filme zeigen würden?

Natürlich! Das ist das Um und Auf. Es gibt nicht so wenig von denen, die heimische Filme spielen, aber es könnten noch viel mehr sein! „Das Kino“ sieht sich in Salzburg ja als Kultureinrichtung und hat dabei einen Kulturauftrag. „Die Beste aller Welten“ hätte es sonst schwerer gehabt, wenn es solche Institutionen nicht gäbe. Ich freue mich über jedes österreichische Kino, das einen österreichischen Film spielt. Gerade in kleineren Orten, wo es nur ein kleines Kino gibt! In Salzburg, Wien und in größeren Städten hat man zumindest eine bessere Auswahl.

Als Drehort ist Salzburg auch international noch immer sehr gefragt?

Nach wie vor, ja. Salzburg kennt jeder als Stadt. Gerade in Amerika ist „The Sound of Music“ einer der erfolgreichsten Filme der 60er gewesen, den kennt wirklich jeder. Das ist die erste Assoziation, die sie haben. Als ich mit „Die Beste aller Welten“ bei der Amerika-Premiere in Indianapolis war, waren alle ganz erstaunt, dass es im schönen Salzburg auch Drogen gibt (lacht). Alle sehen Salzburgerinnen und Salzburger nur in Trachten herumlaufen! Das ist schon witzig. Es hat ihnen aber auch getaugt, einmal eine andere Seite von Salzburg zu sehen. Man darf keine Angst davor haben, das zu zeigen. Das schreckt nicht ab, dadurch verliert Salzburg seinen guten Ruf als Filmlocation nicht. Ich glaube, Salzburg wird immer ein beliebter Drehort bleiben. Für meinen nächsten Film, der in den 20-er Jahren in Salzburg spielt, suche ich auch nach Drehorten im Umland.

Wie gestaltet sich die Suche bis jetzt?

Es ist etwas schwierig, weil sich im Pinzgau, wo die Geschichte spielt, in den letzten 100 Jahren sehr viel verändert hat. Wir sind für die Suche nach Locations jedenfalls in enger Abstimmung mit Filmlocation der Innovation Salzburg GmbH. Gemeinsam mit Kameramann und Szenenbildner besichtigen wir Orte, allerdings nicht nur in Salzburg, sondern auch in Südtirol und Deutschland.

Mit Ihrem Spielfilm „Die Beste aller Welten“ haben Sie weltweit Erfolge gefeiert, trotzdem ist Ihre Produktionsfirma 2010 Entertainment noch in Salzburg. Gibt es hier genug Inspiration für Sie?

Absolut. Ich bin keiner, der unbedingt in einer Großstadt wohnen muss. Auch wenn mich viele ansprechen und fragen, warum ich nicht nach Wien ziehe. Es hat einen Grund, warum ich immer noch in Salzburg wohne. Ich bin in Liefering aufgewachsen, ich fühle mich dort wohler und es ist für mich authentischer, als in irgendeinem Bobo-Bezirk in Wien. Ich bin auch leidenschaftlicher Sportler, bin gerne auf den Bergen unterwegs, im Sommer und im Winter. Ob Radfahren, Skifahren, Schwimmen, das bekomme ich alles in Salzburg.

Ihr Kontakt zur Filmlocation

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

27. Mai 2024

Mr. Eddy: Wie interessant ist Salzburg für Netflix?

Im Namen unserer Filmlocation Salzburg durften wir eine Delegation von Netflix empfangen. Beim Spaziergang durch die Innenstand und Hellbrunn konnte sich das Team einen Eindruck der Filmkulisse Salzburg machen. Steve Eddy, Director der DACH Region für Netflix, hat uns bei der Gelegenheit ein paar Fragen beantwortet.

17. November 2023

Salzburg bekommt erstes Virtual Production Studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam eröffnet erstes Virtual Production Studio Österreichs.

8. November 2023

Ausbildung für Filmschaffende

Salzburg ist der zweitgrößte Medienstandort in Österreich und ein vielseitiger Standort für (Film-)Produktionen. Der perfekte Ort also, um hier auch eine Ausbildung in diesem Bereich zu beginnen.

31. Juli 2023

„Algorithmen, Brands & Emotionen“ beim Salzburg Media Summit

Am 28. Juli trafen sich Kreative, Expert:innen und Manager:innen aus der Medien- und Technologiewirtschaft zum traditionsreichen Event der Fachvertretung Film und Musik Salzburg, Innovation Salzburg und der Industriellenvereinigung Salzburg im Schloss Leopoldskron.

Unser Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.