Photo: GetTheLight

20. November 2020

GetTheLight: Lighting planning in the digital space

The digital marketplace GetTheLight brings light planning into the digital space: planning with a professional lighting design, searching and ordering for suitable lamps, and booking an installation appointment. With the all-in-one package, GetTheLight is an innovative pioneer in the industry.

Almost everyone knows it: you move and set up your new apartment or house. In the end, all you need are the right lamps. You go to furniture stores and electrical retailers to find an affordable and suitable light fixture. However, professional lighting design or planning is usually not offered. And even after finally finding a suitable lamp, the installation can be tedious and time-consuming. Does this sound familiar to you?

Certainly not just to you, as the lighting market is a huge market. Every year, 1.5 billion euros are generated nationwide in Austria with light fixtures. However, the market is mostly limited to brick-and-mortar stores. Digitalization has not really made its way there yet. Although there are many online shops for light fixtures, they only focus on selling. Services such as lighting planning or installation are not offered.

Digital all-round service for the perfect lighting

Patrick Müller wants to change that and created GetTheLight, a digital marketplace for light fixtures that includes all steps online – from planning with professional lighting design, searching for the right light sources, ordering, and booking an installation appointment.

Lamp buyers can visit the marketplace as a regular online shop, browse the selection of lamps, and order through the website. Any manufacturer can list their lamps there. GetTheLight now offers a large selection of light fixtures in all price categories on its marketplace with 1,400 different products.

All-in-one: Digital tools and personal support

In addition, GetTheLight also offers a full-service package that includes professional lighting planning. “Interior design is becoming increasingly important, but lighting is often underestimated. Professional lighting design puts the home in the right light,” says Patrick Müller.

A configurator collects basic data from the customer, such as whether it’s a house or an apartment, which room it is, etc. A video call appointment with a lighting planner is also arranged. Further details for the lighting plan are clarified, such as the budget and the desired lamp style. Photos and floor plans of the apartment help with planning.

The lighting design team at GetTheLight provides customers with lighting suggestions with all the important information, such as prices and sizes. A VR app visualizes how the lamps could look in their apartment. If the customer is satisfied with the lighting concept, the light fixtures can be ordered with just a few clicks. At the time of purchase, they can also schedule an installation appointment. However, they always have only one interface: GetTheLight.

GetTheLight_Patrick Müller
Patrick Müller brings lighting planning to the digital space. (Photo: GetTheLight/Patrick Müller)

Creating a nationwide network of electricians for installation

To offer installation services across Austria, the Saalfelden-based company has established a dense network of service partnerships. Electricians are listed digitally, along with their available dates and costs. When a customer books an installation, an appointment is automatically assigned to an expert in the respective postcode area. An algorithm calculates how long it will take for them to install a particular lamp and the respective costs.

Simple funding landscape helps with marketplace development

Patrick Müller founded GetTheLight in 2019. He has been working in the lighting industry for about fifteen years. The lack of access for consumers to professional lighting planning and installation has bothered him for some time. “GetTheLight should make this access as easy as possible,” says the founder. He received digital funding from the State of Salzburg and the aws erp loan to build his marketplace. “The funding landscape in Austria is very good and also very easy to apply for.”

Win-win for all involved

“We give the lighting industry access to a market it didn’t have before,” says Patrick Müller. Electricians also benefit because they get orders without having to do any marketing. “Our intention is also to give more importance to installation by experts. Craftsmanship must have a value.”

The full-service package will be launched in early December. Austria is an ideal but relatively small test market. Patrick Müller’s vision goes beyond the Austrian market. The entire DACH region is to be conquered with GetTheLight. “Our ambition is to become a leading online marketplace for lighting, lamp design and planning, and installation,” he specifies his ambitious goals.

Your contact for funding

Romana Schwab

Mag. Romana Schwab

That might also interest you

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

7. November 2023

Utilizing Funding for Artificial Intelligence (AI)

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice (aws) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) offer various fundings for companies looking to work with new technology.

Our Newsletter

GetTheLight_Screenshot
Foto: GetTheLight

20. November 2020

GetTheLight: Lichtplanung im digitalen Raum

Der digitale Marktplatz GetTheLight holt Lichtplanung in den digitalen Raum: die Planung mit einem professionellen Lichtdesign, die Suche und Bestellung nach passenden Leuchten und die Buchung eines Montagetermins. Mit dem Rundum-Paket ist GetTheLight innovativer Vorreiter in der Branche.

So gut wie Jede und Jeder kennt es: Man zieht um und richtet sich die Wohnung oder das Haus ein. Am Schluss fehlen nur mehr die passenden Lampen. Man klappert Möbelhäuser und den Elektrofachhandel nach einer erschwinglichen und passenden Leuchte ab. Ein professionelles Lichtdesign oder eine Lichtplanung bekommt man dort meistens nicht. Wenn man endlich eine Leuchte gefunden hat, dann kommt noch die meist mühsame und zeitaufwändige Montage. Kommt Ihnen das bekannt vor?

Sicherlich nicht nur Ihnen, denn der Beleuchtungsmarkt ist ein riesiger Markt. Jedes Jahr werden österreichweit 1,5 Milliarden Euro mit Leuchten umgesetzt. Der Markt beschränkt sich jedoch großteils auf den stationären Handel. Die Digitalisierung hat dort noch nicht wirklich Einzug gehalten. Es gibt zwar viele Onlineshops für Leuchten, diese beschränken sich aber rein auf den Verkauf. Services wie Lichtplanung oder Montage werden dort nicht angeboten.

Digitaler Rundum-Service für die passende Beleuchtung

Das möchte Patrick Müller ändern und schuf mit GetTheLight einen digitalen Marktplatz für Beleuchtungen, der alle Schritte online inkludiert – von der Planung mit einem professionellen Lichtdesign, der Suche nach den passenden Leuchtmitteln, der Bestellung und der Buchung eines Montagetermins.

Lampenkäufer:innen können den Marktplatz als normalen Onlineshop besuchen, dort in der Auswahl der Lampen stöbern und über den Shop bestellen. Jede:r Hersteller:in kann seine Lampen dort listen. Mittlerweile bietet GetTheLight auf seinem Marktplatz mit 1.400 verschiedenen Produkten eine große Auswahl an Leuchten in allen Preiskategorien.

Alles in einem: Digitale Tools und persönliche Betreuung

Darüber hinaus bietet GetTheLight aber auch ein Full-Service-Paket an, bei dem man in den Genuss einer professionellen Lichtplanung kommt. „Das Interior-Design wird immer wichtiger, die Belichtung dazu wird aber immer unterschätzt. Ein professionelles Lichtdesign rückt das Zuhause ins richtige Licht“, so Patrick Müller.

Ein Konfigurator ermittelt bei der Kundin oder beim Kunden grundlegende Daten: handelt es sich um eine Wohnung oder ein Haus oder um ein Büro, um welches Zimmer geht es etc. Auch ein Videocall-Termin mit einer Lichtplanerin oder einem Lichtplaner wird vereinbart. Dort werden weitere Details für die Lichtplanung geklärt, wie zum Beispiel das Budget und der gewünschte Lampenstil. Handybilder und Grundrisse der Wohnung helfen bei der Planung.

Das Lichtplanungsteam von GetTheLight übermittelt den Kund:innen Vorschläge für die Beleuchtung mit allen wichtigen Daten, wie zum Beispiel Preise und Größe. Eine VR-App visualisiert, wie die Lampen in ihrer Wohnung aussehen könnten. Ist die Kundschaft mit dem Lichtkonzept zufrieden, können die Leuchten mit nur wenigen Klicks bestellt werden. Beim Kaufabschluss kann sie auch noch gleich ein Montagetermin vereinbaren. Sie hat aber immer nur eine Schnittstelle: GetTheLight.

GetTheLight_Patrick Müller
Patrick Müller bringt Lichtplanung in den digitalen Raum. (Foto: GetTheLight/ Patrick Müller)

Elektriker:innen-Netzwerk für österreichweite Montage

Damit österreichweit die Montage angeboten werden kann, hat das Saalfeldner Unternehmen ein dichtes Netzwerk an Servicepartnerschaften aufgebaut. Die Elektriker:innen werden intern digital mit ihren verfügbaren Terminen und Kosten gelistet. Bucht eine Kundin oder ein Kunde einen Montagetermin, wird automatisch ein Termin der Fachkraft im jeweiligen Postleitzahlgebiet zugeteilt. Ein Algorithmus berechnet, wie lang sie oder er für die Montage einer bestimmten Lampe braucht und die jeweiligen Kosten dafür.

Einfache Förderlandschaft hilft beim Marktplatzaufbau

Gegründet hat Patrick Müller GetTheLight im Jahr 2019. Er ist seit circa fünfzehn Jahren in der Beleuchtungsindustrie tätig. Der schlechte Zugang für Konsument:innen zu einer professionellen Lichtplanung und zur Montage war ihm ein Dorn im Auge. „Mit GetTheLight soll dieser Zugang so einfach wie möglich gestaltet werden“, sagt der Gründer. Für den Aufbau seines Marktplatzes hat er eine Digitalförderung vom Land Salzburg und den aws erp-Kredit bekommen. „Die Förderlandschaft in Österreich ist sehr gut und auch sehr einfach zu beantragen.“

Win-Win für alle Beteiligten

„Wir geben der Beleuchtungsindustrie einen Marktzugang, den sie bisher nicht hatte“, sagt Patrick Müller. Auch die Elektriker:innen profitieren, denn sie bekommen Aufträge ohne eigenes Zutun. „Unsere Intention ist auch, dass die Montage durch Fachkräfte wieder mehr an Bedeutung gewinnt. Das Handwerk muss einen Wert haben.“

Mit Anfang Dezember wird mit dem Full-Service-Paket gestartet. Österreich ist hier ein idealer, jedoch ein relativ überschaubarer Testmarkt. Die Vision von Patrick Müller geht über den österreichischen Markt hinaus. Die gesamte DACH-Region soll mit GetTheLight erobert werden. „Unser Anspruch ist markführend im Online-Bereich zum Thema Leuchten, Lampendesign und –planung und Montage zu werden“, konkretisiert er seine ambitionierten Ziele.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerin für Digitalisierungsförderungen

Mitarbeiter_innenfotos Innovation Salzburg

Mag. Romana Schwab

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

3. Oktober 2022

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.

1. September 2022

Forschungs- und Transferzentren in Salzburg

Salzburg verfügt über eine starke Forschungslandschaft mit sechs Universitäten und Fachhochschulen und zahlreichen außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen. Mit der WISS2025 werden die Salzburger Forschungsstrukturen noch gestärkt.