Our experts help you to finance the protection of your intellectual property!

7. March 2022

These funding opportunities exist for intellectual property rights

99 percent of companies in the EU are SMEs, yet only nine percent have registered rights for Intellectual Property (IP). However, there are many support services available that can help with IP protection. We strongly encourage you to invest in your intellectual property strategy.

The basis: the IP strategy

Technical innovations, trademarks, and designs can be protected through patents, utility models, design patents, trademark protection, or contracts. The IP strategy determines how you protect your IP and can be defined accordingly. To assess the value of your IP and develop an IP strategy, small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) can, for example, make use of the Discover.IP service. IP experts provide free information on suitable protection and funding opportunities.

Funding in the IP field

Support services include not only consultations but also financial assistance.

  • The Patent Voucher is a grant provided by the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) and the Austrian Patent Office. Once a year, SMEs can have their research idea assessed for patentability. In addition, the Patent Voucher supports patent application and monitoring. The FFG covers up to eighty percent of the costs (maximum 10,000 euros).
  • The SME Fund of the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) supports European SMEs in the development and implementation of their IP strategy. Funding is available for national, European, or international trademark and/or design applications. The application for a patent is also eligible for a 50 percent funding. Both can be applied for by each SME every calendar year.

Innovation Salzburg: Your contact for IP matters

Innovation Salzburg is your contact for regional, national, and European IP protection strategies. If you require assistance on this topic, we welcome you to our free seminars. During our regular patent, trademark, and funding consultation days, you can receive one-on-one consultations. Please refer to our event calendar for more information.

Your contact for funding and intellectual property advisory services

Romana Schwab

Mag. Romana Schwab

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

7. November 2023

Utilizing Funding for Artificial Intelligence (AI)

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice (aws) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) offer various fundings for companies looking to work with new technology.

Our Newsletter

Unsere Expert:innen helfen Ihnen, den Schutz Ihres geistiges Eigentums zu finanzieren!

7. März 2022

Diese Förderungen gibt es für Schutzrechte

99 Prozent der Unternehmen in der EU sind KMU, jedoch besitzen nur neun Prozent eingetragene Rechte für Intellectual Property (IP – geistiges Eigentum). Dabei gibt es viele Unterstützungsleistungen, die beim Schutz von IP helfen können. Wir legen Ihnen daher ans Herz: Investieren Sie in Ihre Strategie für geistiges Eigentum.

Die Basis: die IP-Strategie

Technische Innovationen, Marken und Design können durch Patente, Gebrauchsmuster, Geschmacksmuster, Markenschutz bzw. Verträge geschützt werden. Welche IP Sie wie schützen, wird in der IP-Strategie festgelegt. Um den Wert ihrer IP festzustellen und eine IP-Strategie zu entwickeln, können KMU zum Beispiel das Angebot Discover.IP nutzen. IP-Expert:innen informieren Sie kostenfrei über passende Schutz- und auch Fördermöglichkeiten.

Förderungen im IP-Bereich

Als Unterstützungsleistungen stehen nicht nur Beratungen, sondern auch finanzielle Hilfeleistungen zur Verfügung.

  • Der Patent.Scheck ist eine Förderung der FFG und des Österreichischen Patentamts. Einmal pro Jahr können KMU eine Forschungsidee auf ihre Patentierbarkeit prüfen lassen. Zusätzlich dazu fördert der Patent.Scheck die Patentanmeldung und das -monitoring. Die FFG übernimmt bis zu achtzig Prozent der Kosten (max. 10.000 Euro).
  • Der KMU-Fonds des Amts der EU für geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO) unterstützt europäische KMU bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung ihrer IP-Strategie. Gefördert werden nationale sowie unionsweite bzw. internationale Marken- und/oder Muster (Design)anmeldung. Auch die Anmeldung eines Patents wird mit 50 Prozent gefördert. Pro KMU kann beides jedes Kalenderjahr beantragt werden.

Innovation Salzburg: Ihr Ansprechpartner zum Thema IP

Innovation Salzburg ist Ihr Ansprechpartner für regionale, nationale und europäische Schutzstrategien. Sollten Sie Unterstützung zu diesem Thema brauchen, heißen wir Sie gerne bei unseren kostenfreien Seminaren willkommen. Bei den regelmäßigen Patent-, Marken- und Fördersprechtagen erhalten Sie Beratungen im Einzelgespräch Hier geht es zu unserem Veranstaltungskalender.

Ihr Kontakt für Förderungen und Schutzrechtberatung

Mitarbeiter_innenfotos Innovation Salzburg

Mag. Romana Schwab

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Januar 2023

Die neue österreichische Filmförderung ist da

Das neue Fördermodell soll die heimische Filmwirtschaft stärken und Arbeitsplätze schaffen.

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

3. Oktober 2022

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.