Photo: Satel Film/Toni Muhr

1. July 2020

On the film set of “Die Toten von Salzburg”

In Salzburg, not only does the film roll, but the pen also rolls over the screenplay. And not just in the case of the tourist magnet Sound of Music, but also in the successful case of the film crew of “Die Toten von Salzburg” among the familiar faces that have already been in front of the camera in Salzburg.

In Arenbergstraße, in the city of Salzburg, the silver catering truck shines, announcing the well-deserved lunch break for the film crew. Filming is underway again in Salzburg, specifically the sixth episode, ‘Swan Song for a Dead Conductor,’ of the successful TV crime series ‘Die Toten von Salzburg,’ a Satel Film production in co-production with ORF and ZDF. From the beginning, the production has been supported by the Austrian Television Fund, the state of Salzburg, and the city of Salzburg, with film locations supported by Innovation Salzburg GmbH.

“Die Toten von Salzburg” and the snowball effect

Up to 952,000 viewers watched the episode “Mordwasser” of the TV crime films in March on ORF 2, and the creators are confident that they can achieve these sensational ratings for the next episodes as well. The award-winning production, which won the Romy, continues to rely on the proven actors, including Fanny Krausz, Michael Fitz, and Erwin Steinhauer in the lead roles. Director Erhard Riedlsperger believes in the zeitgeist of his films and the filming location of Salzburg. “The big films, Sound of Music and all the others, are a thing of the past. When we started filming six years ago, there was no TV movie, no TV series that took place in Salzburg. I wanted to change that. As a Salzburg native, I had never filmed in Salzburg before. That’s why we wanted to try it and came up with a story that appealed to ZDF and ORF. Now suddenly, a lot of filmmakers are filming in Salzburg,” says Riedlsperger, referring to the snowball effect. He is pleased that his production has set the ball rolling.

According to the director, film subsidies are essential for films and series to be created in a particular location. “Subsidies are extremely important. Sometimes, they are the crucial ten percent of why a project happens or why it doesn’t. And even a small subsidy and good service from Innovation Salzburg can achieve a lot,” says Riedlsperger. Filmmakers can not only apply for subsidies from Innovation Salzburg but also receive support in all other aspects of production.

Your contact with the Filmlocation Salzburg

You might also be interested in

27. May 2024

Mr. Eddy: How interesting is Salzburg for Netflix?

In the name of our film location Salzburg, we had the opportunity to host a delegation from Netflix. During a stroll through the city center and Hellbrunn, the team could get an impression of Salzburg’s film scenery. Steve Eddy, Director of the DACH Region for Netflix, answered a few questions for us on that occasion.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

8. November 2023

Training courses for Filmmakers

Salzburg is the second-largest media hub in Austria and a versatile location for (film) productions. So, it’s the perfect place to start your education in this field

31. July 2023

“Algorithms, Brands & Emotions” at the Salzburg Media Summit

On July 28th, creatives, experts, and managers from the media and technology industry gathered for the traditional event organized by the Association of Film and Music Salzburg, Innovation Salzburg, and the Salzburg Chamber of Commerce at Schloss Leopoldskron.

Our Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.

Die Toten von Salzburg
Foto: Satel Film/Toni Muhr

1. Juli 2020

Am Filmset von „Die Toten von Salzburg“

In Salzburg rollt nicht nur die Filmrolle, sondern auch der Stift über das Drehbuch. Und das nicht nur im Fall vom Touristenmagnet Sound of Music sehr erfolgreich. Unter den bekannten Gesichtern, die in Salzburg schon vor der Linse standen, findet sich auch die Filmcrew von „Die Toten von Salzburg“.

In der Arenbergstraße in der Stadt Salzburg glänzt der silberne Cateringtruck und kündigt die wohlverdiente Mittagspause der Filmcrew an. Es wird wieder gedreht in Salzburg, und zwar die mittlerweile sechste Folge „Schwanengesang für einen toten Dirigenten“ der erfolgreichen TV-Krimireihe Die Toten von Salzburg, eine Produktion von Satel Film in Koproduktion mit ORF und ZDF. Von Beginn an wurde die Produktion durch den Fernsehfonds Austria, das Land Salzburg und die Stadt Salzburg gefördert und die Filmlocation der Innovation Salzburg GmbH unterstützt.

Die Toten von Salzburg und der Schneeballeffekt

Bis zu 952.000 Zuseherinnen und Zuseher sahen die Folge „Mordwasser“ der TV-Krimifilme im März auf ORF 2 und die Macher sind zuversichtlich, diese sensationellen Quoten auch für die nächsten Episoden erreichen zu können. Die mit der Romy preisgekrönte Produktion setzt weiterhin auf die bewährten Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler, in den Hauptrollen Fanny Krausz, Michael Fitz und Erwin Steinhauer. Regisseur Erhard Riedlsperger glaubt an den Zeitgeist seiner Filme und den Drehort Salzburg. „Die großen Filme, Sound of Music und wie sie alle heißen, sind lange her. Als wir vor sechs Jahren angefangen haben zu drehen, gab‘s keinen Fernsehfilm, keine Fernsehserie, die in Salzburg gespielt hat. Das wollte ich ändern. Ich hatte als Salzburger noch nie in Salzburg gedreht. Deshalb wollten wir das versuchen und haben eine Geschichte entworfen, die dann beim ZDF und ORF Anklang gefunden hat. Jetzt drehen auf einmal wahnsinnig viele Filmemacher in Salzburg“, sagt Riedlsperger und spricht vom Schneeballeffekt, er freut sich, dass seine Produktion den Stein ins Rollen gebracht hat.

Damit Filme und Serien überhaupt an einem Standort entstehen können, sind Filmförderungen essentiell, so der Regisseur. „Förderungen sind extrem wichtig. Das sind manchmal die entscheidenden zehn Prozent, warum ein Projekt passiert oder warum nicht. Und da kann eine Förderung, auch wenn sie klein ist, und ein gutes Service durch Innovation Salzburg sehr viel erreichen“, so Riedlsperger. Filmschaffende können sich nicht nur mit Förderanträgen an Innovation Salzburg wenden, sondern erhalten auch Unterstützung in allen anderen Belangen der Produktion.

Ihr Kontakt für die Filmlocation Salzburg

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

17. November 2023

Salzburg bekommt erstes Virtual Production Studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam eröffnet erstes Virtual Production Studio Österreichs.

8. November 2023

Ausbildung für Filmschaffende

Salzburg ist der zweitgrößte Medienstandort in Österreich und ein vielseitiger Standort für (Film-)Produktionen. Der perfekte Ort also, um hier auch eine Ausbildung in diesem Bereich zu beginnen.

31. Juli 2023

„Algorithmen, Brands & Emotionen“ beim Salzburg Media Summit

Am 28. Juli trafen sich Kreative, Expert:innen und Manager:innen aus der Medien- und Technologiewirtschaft zum traditionsreichen Event der Fachvertretung Film und Musik Salzburg, Innovation Salzburg und der Industriellenvereinigung Salzburg im Schloss Leopoldskron.

5. April 2023

Keine Filme ohne Filmförderung

Interview mit dem Salzburger Filmemacher Adrian Goiginger, der bekannt wurde durch seinen herzzerreißenden Film, Die beste aller Welten, der Salzburg aus einer unerwarteten Perspektive zeigt. Wir haben über die Bedeutung von Förderungen für Filmschaffende, Salzburg als Filmstandort und seine persönlichen Entwicklungen seit seinem Erstlingswerk gesprochen.

Unser Newsletter