Photo: freepik - your_photo

17. December 2020

Research meets Business: The DIH West

The Digital Innovation Hub (DIH) West supports SMEs from Western Austria in their digital transformation through a collaboration of universities, interest groups, and companies from Salzburg, Tyrol, and Vorarlberg. The range of services includes educational offerings, coaching sessions, and joint working groups.

There is no way around digitization for most companies. However, SMEs often find it difficult to take this path. Lack of know-how and high investment costs are major hurdles.

In particular, the first hurdle is to be overcome by the Digital Innovation Hubs (DIHs). The DIHs are competence networks that support Austrian SMEs in their digitization efforts with their expertise and infrastructure.

DIH West: Western Austrian network for digitization promotion

In DIH West, universities, interest groups, and companies from Salzburg, Tyrol, and Vorarlberg are working together on digital transformation. SMEs in western Austria benefit from industry know-how and research in the areas of production, tourism, and IT services. Process know-how in innovation processes, IT quality management, and IT risk management complements the offering. Targeted support, innovation, and research networks and knowledge transfer strengthen the innovation potential of small and medium-sized enterprises.

“The DIH West brings the expertise on digitization from research institutions to SMEs and is the central point of contact with a network of service points where SMEs receive targeted hands-on support,” says Walter Haas from Innovation Salzburg, partner of DIH West and contact person for Salzburg companies in all matters related to digitization.

Digital market advantage for production and tourism

The target groups of DIH are manufacturing companies and companies from the tourism industry. Methodological focuses are on automation and cyber-security as well as data analytics and artificial intelligence.

DIH services for companies range from individual consulting sessions, coaching, and further education to thematic networking of SMEs and research institutions in working groups. The pre-competitive educational offer is free of charge for SMEs. More in-depth cooperation with DIH West is subject to fees.

Digitalization for beginners and professionals

The extensive range of services offered by DIH West caters to both digitalization beginners and professionals. For instance, Digital Readiness Checks provide initial guidance, while basic training and workshops offer SMEs insights and further education on topics such as Innovation Management 4.0, Virtual Reality in Tourism, Cyber Security, or Data Science for companies. Additionally, eleven strategic working groups offer SMEs continuous exchanges with experts from higher education institutions on topics such as Collaborative Robotics, Digital Health, Sports and Tourism, or Software-Based Innovation. Moreover, companies can utilize infrastructure for applying new technologies and testing products, such as the eTourism Lab or the Smart Factory Lab at Salzburg University of Applied Sciences, the Cyber Security Range at Vorarlberg University of Applied Sciences, or the Robotics Center at MCI Management Center Innsbruck.

Partners and sponsors of DIH West

The Digital Innovation Hubs program is supported by the Federal Ministry for Digital and Economic Affairs (BMDW) and implemented by the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG). DIH West locations are in Salzburg, Innsbruck, Kufstein, and Dornbirn. In DIH West, SMEs in western Austria are supported by eight universities and research institutions, as well as Innovation Salzburg, the Tirol Location Agency, the Vorarlberg Economic Development Corporation (WISTO), and the Tyrol Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Federation of Austrian Industries Tyrol as digitalization partners.

“With a strong network of research institutions, DIH West manages to support all companies, regardless of their digitalization status, to make it easier to embark on the path to digitalization and take advantage of tailored offers,” says Nicole Ferber of Innovation Salzburg.

Your contact for DIH West

Nicole Ferber

Nicole Ferber, MSc

(on maternity leave)
Science and Innovation Ecosystem, ICT

+43 5 7599 722 33
nicole.ferber@innovation-salzburg.at

That might also interest you

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

8. November 2023

Training courses for Filmmakers

Salzburg is the second-largest media hub in Austria and a versatile location for (film) productions. So, it’s the perfect place to start your education in this field

Our Newsletter

Technology digital wave background concept.
Foto: freepik - your_photo

17. Dezember 2020

Forschung meets Wirtschaft: Der DIH West

Im Digital Innovation Hub (DIH) West unterstützen Hochschulen, Interessensvertretungen und Unternehmen aus Salzburg, Tirol und Vorarlberg KMU aus Westösterreich beim digitalen Wandel. Das Angebot reicht von Bildungsangeboten, Coachings bis hin zu gemeinsamen Arbeitsgruppen.

An der Digitalisierung führt für die meisten Unternehmen kein Weg vorbei. Diesen Weg zu beschreiten, fällt KMU aber oft nicht leicht. Fehlendes Know-how und hohe Investitionskosten sind große Hürden.

Besonders die erste Hürde soll durch die Digital Innovation Hubs (DIH) abgebaut werden. Die DIHs sind Kompetenznetzwerke, die mit ihrer Expertise und Infrastruktur österreichische KMU bei ihren Digitalisierungsbestrebungen unterstützen.

DIH West: westösterreichisches Netzwerk zur Digitalisierungsförderung

Im DIH West arbeiten Hochschulen, Interessensvertretungen und Unternehmen aus Salzburg, Tirol und Vorarlberg gemeinsam am digitalen Wandel. KMU in Westösterreich profitieren vom Branchen-Know-how und der Forschung in den Bereichen Produktion, Tourismus und IT-Dienstleistung. Prozess-Know-how in den Bereichen Innovationsprozesse, IT-Qualitätsmanagement und IT-Risikomanagement ergänzt das Angebot. Durch gezielte Unterstützung, Innovations- und Forschungsnetzwerke und Wissenstransfer wird das Innovationspotenzial von kleinen und mittleren Betrieben gestärkt.

„Der DIH West bringt die Expertise über Digitalisierung aus den Forschungseinrichtungen zu den KMU und ist die zentrale Anlaufstelle mit einem Netzwerk aus Servicestellen, wo KMU zielgerichtete Hands-on-Unterstützung bekommen“, so Walter Haas von Innovation Salzburg, Partner des DIH West und Ansprechpartner für Salzburger Unternehmen in allen Fragen rund um die Digitalisierung.

Digitaler Marktvorsprung für Produktion und Tourismus

Die Zielgruppen des DIH sind produzierende Betriebe und Unternehmen aus der Tourismusbranche. Methodische Schwerpunkte bilden die Themen Automation und Cyber-Security sowie Data Analytics und Künstliche Intelligenz.

Die DIH-Services für Unternehmen reichen von individuellen Beratungsgesprächen, Coachings und Weiterbildungsangeboten bis hin zu thematischen Vernetzungen von KMU und Forschungseinrichtungen in Arbeitsgruppen. Das vorwettbewerbliche Bildungsangebot ist für KMU kostenlos. Tiefergehende Kooperationen mit dem DIH West sind kostenpflichtig.

Digitalisierung für Einsteiger:innen und Profis

Das umfangreiche Angebotspaket im DIH West richtet sich sowohl an Digitalisierungs-Einsteiger:innen als auch -Profis: So unterstützen zum Beispiel Digital Readiness Checks bei der ersten Orientierung. Basisschulungen und Workshops bieten KMU Einblicke und Weiterbildung, beispielsweise zu den Themen Innovationsmanagement 4.0, Virtual Reality im Tourismus, Cyber Security oder Data Science für Unternehmen. Elf strategische Arbeitsgruppen wiederum bieten KMU einen kontinuierlichen Austausch mit Expert/innen der Hochschuleinrichtungen, wie zu den Beispielthemen Kollaborative Robotik, Digital Health, Sport und Tourismus oder softwarebasierte Innovation. Darüber hinaus können Unternehmen Infrastruktur zum Anwenden neuer Technologien und zum Testen von Produkten nützen – zur Verfügung stehen zum Beispiel das eTourism-Lab oder das Smart Factory Lab der Fachhochschule Salzburg, die Cyber Security-Range der Fachhochschule Vorarlberg oder das Robotik-Zentrum des MCI Management Center Innsbruck.

Partner und Förderer des DIH West

Das Programm Digital Innovation Hubs wird vom Bundesministerium für Digitalisierung und Wirtschaftsstandort (BMDW) gefördert und von der Österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG) abgewickelt. Standorte des DIH West sind Salzburg, Innsbruck, Kufstein und Dornbirn. Westösterreichs Unternehmen stehen im DIH West acht Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen sowie Innovation Salzburg, die Standortagentur Tirol, die Wirtschafts-Standort Vorarlberg GmbH (WISTO) sowie die WK Tirol und IV Tirol als Digitalisierungspartner zur Seite.

„Mit dem soliden Netzwerk an Forschungseinrichtungen gelingt es dem DIH West, alle Unternehmen – unabhängig von ihrem jeweiligen Digitalisierungsstand – dabei zu unterstützen, den Weg in die Digitalisierung leichter zu beschreiten und maßgeschneiderte Angebote  für sich nützen zu können“, sagt Nicole Ferber von Innovation Salzburg.

Ihr Kontakt zum DIH West

Mitarbeiter_innenfotos Innovation Salzburg

Nicole Ferber, MSc

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

5. Dezember 2022

Für die Fachkräfte von Morgen

Seit 2020 begleiten wir mit Lehre Salzburg junge Menschen bei der Findung des passenden Berufs. Das tun wir auf lehre-salzburg.at und mit einer preisgekrönten Medienkampagne.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

3. Oktober 2022

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.