Wooden windows from the CNC machine, Photo: Franz Lechner

3. November 2023

Wooden window production in no time

Even smaller projects can make big leaps for companies, just like the investment made by the Franz Lechner Carpentry in Pinzgau in a new CNC machine for the fully automated production of wooden windows and wood-aluminum windows. The Land Salzburg DigiBonus and our Service Center Innovation team made this possible.

“What used to require four to five machines can now be handled with just one machine. In the end, we are faster, which, of course, also saves on personnel and costs,” says Stefanie Graber, Junior Manager and Master Carpenter. According to her, each window saves an hour of production time, allowing employees to work on other tasks during that time. The investment in the new equipment is also reflected in the electricity bill. Graber adds “Now we need about half the electricity that the old machine consumed”.

The Path to Investment

The first angular system (Weinig UC10) was purchased in the mid-1990s, capable of producing end and longitudinal profiles for windows. Over time, the control technology became defective and could not be renewed. Therefore, in 2019, another used angular system of the same type was acquired since there was unfortunately no alternative, newer machine of a suitable size for the small carpentry shop. “If I don’t have space for a machine in the workshop, then I don’t need to buy it,” summarizes Stefanie Graber. However, this 22-year-old system could no longer handle all the demands placed on it. “In 2022, we considered buying a new machine, the Weinig Vario MC50. It is state-of-the-art, and it also fits into our workshop. A friend who was the first in Salzburg to own this system allowed us to inspect and test it. After reevaluating everything, we decided to purchase this equipment,” says Stefanie Graber.

And this decision was spot-on because “the new CNC machine completes the entire window element, including end and longitudinal profiles. Special processing for fittings, door closers, and handles is also possible. With just one machine, we are very flexible,” says the Junior Manager. Previously, four to five machines were needed for these steps, taking about five hours in total. The new CNC system is approximately one hour faster in production.

For advice on innovation funding, the carpentry shop came through a recommendation from Stefanie Graber’s husband, who also owns a carpentry business. They attended a funding consultation day in Zell am See, where they met with Florian Dürager, who introduced them to DigiBonus, the digitalization bonus. “He provided intensive support and helped us to structure the project and create the funding strategy,” Stefanie Graber says about their first contact with our funding expert. The project was then submitted and started in November 2022, running until the end of 2023.

About Franz Lechner Carpentry

  • Family business in its third generation
  • Located in Uttendorf im Pinzgau
  • Eleven employees
  • Specialized in carpentry, window production, including sun and insect protection
  • lechner-fenster.at

Your Contact for funding

Florian Dürager

Mag. (FH) Florian Dürager

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

Our Newsletter

Holzfenster-aus-CNC-Maschine-3
Holzfenster aus der CNC-Maschine, Foto: Franz Lechner

3. November 2023

Holzfenster-Herstellung im Handumdrehen

Auch kleinere Projekte können für Unternehmen große Sprünge sein. So wie etwa die Investition der Tischlerei Franz Lechner aus dem Pinzgau in eine neue CNC-Maschine, mit der Holzfenster und Holz-Alu-Fenster vollautomatisch hergestellt werden. Möglich gemacht hat es der DigiBonus des Landes und unser Team des Servicecenter Innovation.

„Wofür wir vorher vier bis fünf Maschinen gebraucht haben, können wir jetzt mit nur einer Maschine abdecken. So sind wir unterm Strich schneller, was natürlich auch Personal und Kosten spart“, sagt Juniorchefin und Tischlermeisterin Stefanie Graber. Pro Fenster spare man eine Stunde Herstellungszeit, in dieser die Mitarbeiter:innen andere Aufträge erledigen können. Die Investition in das neue Gerät zeigt sich auch auf der Stromrechnung. „Wir benötigen jetzt ungefähr die Hälfte des Stroms, den die alte Maschine verraucht hat“, so Graber weiter.

Der Weg zur Investition

Bereits Mitte der 1990er-Jahre wurde die erste Winkelanlage (Weinig UC10) gekauft, mit der man End- und Längsprofile von Fenstern herstellen kann. Die Steuerungstechnik wurden im Laufe der Zeit leider defekt und konnte nicht mehr erneuert werden. Somit wurde 2019 wieder eine gebrauchte Winkelanlage desselben Typs angeschafft, da es leider noch keine alternative, neuere Maschine in der Größenordnung gab, die in die kleine Tischlerei passt. „Wenn ich in der Werkstatt keinen Platz habe für eine Maschine, dann brauche ich sie auch nicht kaufen“, bringt es Stefanie Graber auf den Punkt. Jedoch machte diese bereits 22 Jahre alte Anlage nicht mehr alles mit, was von ihr gefordert wurde. „Wir haben dann 2022 überlegt, eine neue Maschine zu kaufen, die Weinig Vario MC50. Diese ist auf dem letzten Stand der Technik und sie passt auch in unsere Werkstatt. Ein befreundeter Unternehmer, der der erste in Salzburg war, der diese Anlage besitzt, hat sie uns anschauen und testen lassen. So haben wir nochmal alles durchgerechnet und uns dazu entschieden, dieses Gerät anzuschaffen“, so Stefanie Graber.

Und diese Entscheidung war goldrichtig, denn „die neue CNC-Maschine macht das ganze Fensterelement komplett fertig, sprich End- und Längsprofile. Auch Sonderbearbeitungen für Beschläge, Türschließer und Griffe sind damit möglich. Mit nur einer Maschine sind wir also sehr flexibel“, sagt die Juniorchefin. Früher brauchte man für diese Arbeitsschritte vier bis fünf Maschinen. Der ganze Vorgang dauerte etwa fünf Stunden. Die neue CNC-Anlage ist um rund eine Stunde schneller in der Produktion.

Zur Förderberatung von Innovation Salzburg ist die Tischlerei dann über eine Empfehlung von Stefanie Grabers Mann gekommen, der ebenfalls eine Tischlerei besitzt. Danach ist man erst einmal zu einem Fördersprechtag in Zell am See gegangen. „Dort haben wir Florian Dürager kennengelernt, der uns den DigiBonus vorgestellt hat“, sagt Stefanie Graber über den ersten Kontakt mit unserem Förderexperten. „Er hat uns intensiv betreut und uns bei der Strukturierung des Projekts und der Erstellung der Förderstrategie geholfen“. Das Projekt wurde daraufhin eingereicht und im November 2022 gestartet. Es läuft noch bis Ende 2023.

Über die Tischlerei Franz Lechner

  • Familienunternehmen in dritter Generation
  • Uttendorf im Pinzgau
  • elf Mitarbeiter:innen
  • Spezialisiert auf Tischlerei, Fenster-Produktion inklusive Sonnen- und Insektenschutz
  • lechner-fenster.at

Ihr Kontakt für Förderungen

Florian Dürager

Mag. (FH) Florian Dürager

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

2. Februar 2024

salz21: Salzburg wird wieder zur Bühne für Innovation

Die größte Innovationsveranstaltung des Jahres findet am 6. und 7. März wieder im Messezentrum statt. Wir sind auch dabei und stellen unsere Programmhighlights vor. 

17. Januar 2024

Forschungsprämie beantragen – so geht’s!

KMU können für Aufwendungen in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) eine Forschungsprämie beim Finanzamt beantragen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie es geht!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: mit Technologie zu besserer Bewegung

Mehrere Salzburger Forschungseinrichtungen haben es mit weiteren Partnern geschafft, mit „Digital Motion“ wieder ein COMET-Projekt nach Salzburg zu holen. COMET ist das Flaggschiff-Programm zur Förderung von Spitzenforschung in Österreich.

17. November 2023

Salzburg bekommt erstes Virtual Production Studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam eröffnet erstes Virtual Production Studio Österreichs.

Unser Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.