Toothbrushes in production (Photo: M+C Schiffer)

5. August 2021

The toothbrush comes from Adnet

Many of the toothbrushes that we use daily are produced in Adnet by M+C Schiffer. The company has implemented projects towards digitalization and ecological sustainability, resulting in resource savings and relieving the workload of employees.

When you think of toothbrushes, you might think of oral hygiene, electric and manual toothbrushes, and bristle hardness. But who actually manufactures them and where? Many of the toothbrushes we use every day, in fact, have not traveled far: they are produced in Adnet. The company M+C Schiffer produces 35 million manual toothbrushes and 50 million injection-molded parts for brush heads of all well-known brands of electric toothbrushes every year.

Saving resources with circular economy

The company has now taken a step towards digitization with a project towards circular economy: toothbrush packaging has been switched from plastic to multiple recycled cardboard. “Our entire production should be more resource-efficient, and we ourselves want to work in a more resource-efficient way,” emphasizes CEO Karl Hofstätter, who has been running the business since 2017. An important aspect for him is also the relief of his employees.

New systems were installed on the production and packaging lines. These detect malfunctions faster and immediately report them to those responsible via smartphone. This way, the employees at the respective head stations have a better overview of the entire production. With the new system, for which the company has received three grants in the areas of circular economy and digitization, less waste is also produced. “We now have only 0.1 to 0.15 percent waste in injection molding instead of the usual one to two percent. This improvement is only possible through the more accurate monitoring of our production,” says Hofstätter.

Pandemic-induced upswing

The coronavirus crisis has brought the company an unexpected upswing. The largest production countries of toothbrushes, India and China, could no longer deliver their products cheaply to Europe. Due to the pandemic, transport from and to Asia became more expensive. “As a result, demand in Europe has increased, and we were able to increase our capacities,” reports Hofstätter. He emphasizes that “the best way to get a company out of a crisis is through innovation.”

About M+C Schiffer GmbH

  • in Adnet in the Tennengau
  • about 50 employees
  • manufactures manual toothbrushes and injection molded parts for brush attachment heads

www.mcschiffer.at

This might also interest you

5. August 2021

The toothbrush comes from Adnet

Many of the toothbrushes that we use daily are produced in Adnet by M+C Schiffer. The company has implemented projects towards digitalization and ecological sustainability, resulting in resource savings and relieving the workload of employees.

12. December 2021

Innovation Lab for the Education of the Future

The digitization has transformed the way we access information, and it has particularly influenced the way young people consume information. As a result, new approaches are needed to communicate socially relevant topics. The Innovation Lab for Education aims to test cooperative and interdisciplinary methods that can be integrated into schools to make them future-ready.

19. July 2023

From Mozart to Hightech

In the Austria Picture that aired on ORF 2 on June 11th, our CEO Walter Haas stated, “Salzburg should stand for research, technology, and the future.” The program, produced by the Salzburg Regional Studio, focused on our innovation ecosystem.

24. May 2023

EdTech Austria Summit: How modern education works

On June 1st, the second EdTech Austria Summit will take place. The event, organized by EdTech Austria and Innovation Salzburg, focuses on the future of education.

Our Newsletter

Zahnbürsten in der Produktion
Zahnbürsten in der Produktion (Foto: M+C Schiffer).

5. August 2021

Die Zahnbürste kommt aus Adnet

Viele der Zahnbürsten, die wir tagtäglich verwenden, werden in Adnet bei M+C Schiffer produziert. Das Unternehmen hat Projekte in Richtung Digitalisierung und Ökologisierung umgesetzt und spart dadurch Ressourcen und entlastet die Mitarbeiter:innen.

Denkt man an Zahnbürsten, kommen Mundhygiene, elektrische und Handzahnbürsten sowie der Härtegrad in den Sinn. Aber: Wer stellt sie eigentlich her und wo? Viele der Zahnbürsten, die wir tagtäglich verwenden, haben nämlich gar keinen weiten Weg hinter sich: Sie werden in Adnet produziert. Das Unternehmen M+C Schiffer produziert jährlich 35 Millionen Handzahnbürsten und 50 Millionen Spritzgussteile für Bürstenaufsteckköpfe der Elektrozahnbürsten aller namhaften Marken.

Ressourcen sparen mit Kreislaufwirtschaft

Das Unternehmen hat nun einen Schritt in die Digitalisierung mit einem Projekt in Richtung Kreislaufwirtschaft gesetzt: Verpackungen von Zahnbürsten wurden von Plastik auf mehrfach recycelten Karton umgestellt. „Unsere ganze Produktion soll ressourcensparender sein und wir selbst wollen auch Ressourcen sparender arbeiten“, betont Geschäftsführer Karl Hofstätter, der den Betrieb seit 2017 leitet. Ein wichtiger Aspekt ist für ihn zudem die Entlastung seiner Mitarbeiter:innen.

Bei den Produktions- und Verpackungslinien wurden neue Systeme installiert. Diese erkennen Störungen schneller und melden sie sofort an die Zuständigen per Smartphone. So haben die Mitarbeiter:innen an den jeweiligen Kopfstationen einen besseren Überblick über die gesamte Produktion. Mit dem neuen System, für das das Unternehmen drei Förderungen in den Bereichen Kreislaufwirtschaft und Digitalisierung erhalten hat, wird zudem weniger Ausschuss produziert. „Wir haben mittlerweile nur mehr 0,1 bis 0,15 Prozent Ausschuss im Spritzguss statt den üblichen ein bis zwei Prozent. Diese Verbesserung ist nur durch die genauere Überwachung unserer Produktion möglich“, sagt Hofstätter.

Aufschwung durch Pandemie

Die Coronakrise hat dem Unternehmen einen unerwarteten Aufschwung beschert. Die größten Produktionsländer von Zahnbürsten, Indien und China, konnten ihre Produkte nicht mehr günstig nach Europa liefern. Durch die Pandemie wurde der Transport aus und nach Asien teurer. „Dadurch ist die Nachfrage in Europa gestiegen und wir konnten unsere Kapazitäten steigern“, berichtet Hofstätter. Er betont, dass „der beste Weg, um ein Unternehmen aus einer Krise herauszuholen, mittels Innovation gegangen wird.“

Weitere Links

M+C Schiffer GmbH

  • Adnet im Tennengau
  • rund 50 Mitarbeiter:innen
  • Stellt Handzahnbürsten und Spritzgussteile für Bürstenaufsteckköpfe her.

www.mcschiffer.at

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

5. August 2021

Die Zahnbürste kommt aus Adnet

Viele der Zahnbürsten, die wir tagtäglich verwenden, werden in Adnet bei M+C Schiffer produziert. Das Unternehmen hat Projekte in Richtung Digitalisierung und Ökologisierung umgesetzt und spart dadurch Ressourcen und entlastet die Mitarbeiter:innen.

12. Dezember 2021

Innovationslabor für die Bildung der Zukunft

Die Digitalisierung hat die Art, wie wir Informationen beziehen, verändert. Besonders junge Menschen nehmen Informationen anders auf. Daher benötigt es auch neue Ansätze, um gesellschaftsrelevante Themen zu vermitteln. Im Innovationslabor für Bildung werden kooperative und interdisziplinäre Ansätze erprobt. Diese sollen dann in Schulen integriert werden, um sie zukunftsfit zu machen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

17. November 2022

Bioeconomy Austria: Wissenstransfer zu KMU

Das österreichweite Bioökonomie-Netzwerk befindet sich erfolgreich im Aufbau. Über 150 Partner:innen aus regionalen Clustern & Plattformen, Wirtschaft, Forschung, Politik und Gesellschaft sind bereits Teil des wachsenden Netzwerks und vom gemeinsamen Erfolg überzeugt.