Romana Schwab is a member of the WIKARUS jury this year. Photo: Innovation Salzburg)

13. June 2022

Behind the scenes of the WIKARUS jury

Who are the most innovative companies in Salzburg? This is the question asked by the WIKARUS jury, who will award the Salzburg Business Prize on 27 September. The submissions are currently being evaluated. As our innovation expert and head of the Innovation Service Centre Romana Schwab is part of the jury in the “Innovation” category, we are allowed to take a look behind the scenes.

What role does Innovation Salzburg play in WIKARUS?

We support the Salzburg Chamber of Commerce in the innovation category, because innovation is our core mission. We help with the application process, organize the jury and pre-select the submissions. We also moderate the jury meeting.

What happens in the jury meeting?

We provide the pre-selected submissions to the jury. During the jury meeting on Thursday, July 7th, the jury members jointly evaluate the six best submissions and choose a winner in the innovation category. However, the result remains strictly confidential.

How does the jury evaluate the submissions?

There are specific criteria by which each submission is evaluated. One criterion is the degree of innovation: Is the innovation only new for the company or is it a world first? Are there patents behind it? Companies must describe how their innovation differs from competitors in their submission.

Entrepreneurial performance also plays a role: What was the risk of development? How much money was invested in relation to turnover? Is the innovation a core product or a development that does not affect the company’s core business or opens up a completely new business area?

We also evaluate whether the innovation has an impact on the market and the location, and whether there have been collaborations with scientific institutions, for example. This increases the quality of the innovation. Really innovative products can hardly be developed alone, it requires a network.

Moni+Romana-2-Ausschnitt
Innovation expertsMonika Feichtner and Romana Schwab support the WIKARUS jury. (photo: Innovation Salzburg)

What happens after the jury meeting?

The result remains under wraps for now. However, the top five ranked companies will be contacted and filmed. The awards ceremony will take place during the WIKARUS gala evening on September 27th where the winners will be announced.

Are there any innovation trends in the submissions?

I can reveal that we have some truly outstanding companies and innovations, real world firsts on the market. It’s hard to say who will win, but we will see worthy winners. The trends are definitely in the areas of digitalization and sustainability.

What makes Salzburg companies innovative?

Innovations depend on people. Many Salzburg companies give their employees the conditions, time, and creative freedom to try out ideas. Innovation needs free spirits and not narrow conditions.

How can a small company be innovative?

You have to create exactly these framework conditions for your employees. I know companies that give their employees weekly time budgets to work on ideas. Large budgets and modern machines help to be innovative, but even small companies can give their employees room for innovations.

Why is it worth submitting to the WIKARUS?

The WIKARUS brings visibility. We have many highly innovative companies, hidden champions, that are not seen. WIKARUS winners are presented in various media and also nominated for the State Prize for Innovation. Therefore, the advertising effect is great.

What would you like to say about the WIKARUS in conclusion?

We can be happy that we have so many innovative companies in Salzburg. It’s great what they have achieved in these difficult times.

 

Contact

Mag. Romana Schwab

Monika Feichtner

Monika Feichtner, MBA

(on maternity leave)
Service Center Innovation

+43 5 7599 722 75
monika.feichtner@innovation-salzburg.at

That might be interesting for you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

3. November 2023

Development of raw material recycling thanks to funding

The extraction of gravel produces extremely fine material that was previously considered waste. An innovation from Pongau makes it possible to utilise this material for the first time. This means that 100 per cent of the raw material can be used. The mechanical recovery process was developed by Christian Ehrensberger GmbH from Tenneck near Werfen.

Our Newsletter

romana
Romana Schwab ist heuer Teil der WIKARUS-Jury. (Foto: Innovation Salzburg)

13. Juni 2022

Hinter den Kulissen der WIKARUS-Jury

Wer sind die innovativsten Unternehmen in Salzburg? Diese Frage stellt sich die WIKARUS-Jury, die den Salzburger Wirtschaftspreis am 27. September vergeben. Aktuell werden die Einreichungen bewertet. Da unsere Innovationsexpertin und Leiterin des Servicecenter Innovation Romana Schwab Teil der Jury in der Kategorie „Innovation“ ist, dürfen wir einen Blick hinter die Kulissen werfen.

Welche Rolle spielt Innovation Salzburg beim WIKARUS?

Wir unterstützen die Wirtschaftskammer Salzburg bei der Kategorie Innovation, denn Innovation – das ist unser ureigenster Auftrag. Wir helfen unter anderem bei der Bewerbung, wir organisieren die Jury und selektieren die Einreichungen vor. Außerdem moderieren wir die Jurysitzung.

Was passiert in der Jurysitzung?

Die Jury bekommt von uns die vorselektierte Auswahl. In der Jurysitzung am Donnerstag, 7. Juli, bewerten die Jurymitglieder gemeinsam die sechs besten Einreichungen und küren auch schon einen Sieger in der Kategorie Innovation. Das Ergebnis bleibt aber noch streng geheim.

Wie bewerten die Jury die Einreichungen?

Es gibt konkrete Kriterien, nach denen jede Einreichung bewertet wird. Ein Kriterium ist zum Beispiel der Innovationsgrad: Ist die Innovation nur neu für das Unternehmen oder ist es eine Weltneuheit? Stehen Patente dahinter? Die Unternehmen müssen bei der Einreichung beschreiben, wie sich ihre Innovation von den Mitbewerbern abhebt.

Die unternehmerische Leistung spielt eine Rolle: Wie groß war das Risiko der Entwicklung? Wieviel Geld wurde im Verhältnis zum Umsatz investiert? Handelt es sich bei der Innovation um ein Kernprodukt oder um eine Entwicklung, die gar nicht das Kerngeschäft des Unternehmens betrifft oder ein völlig neues Geschäftsfeld eröffnet?

Wir bewerten auch, ob die Innovation Auswirkungen auf den Markt und den Standort hat, und ob es Kooperationen mit zum Beispiel wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen gab. Das erhöht die Qualität der Innovation. Wirklich innovative Produkte kann man fast nicht allein entwickeln, da braucht es ein Netzwerk.

Moni+Romana-2-Ausschnitt
Innovationsexpertinnen Monika Feichtner und Romana Schwab unterstützen die Jury des WIKARUS. (Foto: Innovation Salzburg)

Was passiert nach der Jurysitzung?

Das Ergebnis bleibt noch unter Verschluss. Die fünf bestgereihten Unternehmen werden aber kontaktiert und es werden Filme mit ihnen gedreht. Die Preisverleihung findet im Rahmen des WIKARUS-Galaabends am 27. September statt. Dort werden die Sieger gekürt.

Gibt es Innovations-Trends bei der Einreichung?

Ich kann so viel verraten: Wir haben wirklich großartige Unternehmen und Innovationen dabei, echte Weltneuheiten am Markt. Es ist schwer zu sagen, wer gewinnt, aber wir werden würdige Sieger sehen. Die Trends liegen hier definitiv bei Digitalisierung und Nachhaltigkeit.

Was macht denn Salzburger Unternehmen innovativ?

Innovationen hängen von Personen ab. Viele Salzburger Unternehmen geben ihren Mitarbeiter:innen Rahmenbedingungen, Zeit und kreative Freiräume Ideen auszuprobieren. Innovation braucht freie Geister und keine eingeengten Bedingungen.

Wie wird man denn als kleines Unternehmen innovativ?

Man muss den Mitarbeiter:innen genau diese Rahmenbedingungen schaffen. Ich kenne Unternehmen, die ihren Mitarbeitenden wöchentliche Zeitkontingente geben, um an Ideen zu arbeiten. Große Budgets und moderne Maschinen helfen zwar innovativ zu sein, aber auch kleine Unternehmen können ihren Mitarbeiter:innen Raum für Innovationen geben.

Warum zahlt es sich aus für den WIKARUS einzureichen?

Der WIKARUS bringt Sichtbarkeit. Wir haben viele hochinnovative Unternehmen, Hidden Champions, die nicht gesehen werden. WIKARUS-Gewinner werden in diversen Medien präsentiert und außerdem für den Staatspreis Innovation nominiert. Die Werbewirkung ist daher groß.

Was möchtest du zum Schluss zum WIKARUS noch sagen?

Wir dürfen uns freuen, dass wir so viele innovative Unternehmen in Salzburg haben. Es ist großartig, was sie in diesen schwierigen Zeiten zustande gebracht haben.

Kontakt

Mitarbeiter_innenfotos Innovation Salzburg

Mag. Romana Schwab

Mitarbeiter_innenfotos Innovation Salzburg

Monika Feichtner, MBA

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

3. Oktober 2022

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.