Research is carried out in a cleanroom environment in the GMP laboratory (Photo: PMU/wildbild)

8. June 2021

How to promote better integration of cochlear implants

Tiny particles released by human stem cells are called extracellular vesicles. The world’s first administration of therapeutics based on vesicles took place in Salzburg. This allows, among other things, hearing implants to heal better. The research team led by Mario Gimona and Eva Rohde discovered that vesicles can do much more than previously thought.

Vesicles have the ability to suppress inflammatory processes and thus reduce scarring. These properties offer numerous possibilities for application in modern medicine. In the renowned journal “Journal of Extracellular Vesicles”, Salzburg researchers Mario Gimona and Eva Rohde report on their research on vesicles and their help in healing hearing implants.

Hearing implants often associated with inflammation

Hearing loss is the most common neurodegenerative disorder in humans, affecting over 450 million people worldwide. For many patients, surgical insertion of a hearing implant is required. However, side effects can occur, such as acute or chronic inflammation due to the procedure itself or as a reaction to the foreign body. These can further damage the already diseased inner ear. The destruction of additional inner ear cells can lead to the complete disappearance of the remaining hearing ability. Currently, there are no accompanying therapies for the insertion of hearing implants.

Vesicle therapy protects the ear during hearing implantation

In their preliminary work, Salzburg researchers Mario Gimona and Eva Rohde were able to show that the administration of the so-called nanovesicular therapeutic after noise damage can protect the sensory cells in the ear and reduce hearing loss. The research was carried out in cooperation with the Hannover Medical School. Therefore, the scientists suspect that vesicles from human stem cells can exert therapeutic effects in the inner ear and alleviate inflammation.

In the journal “Journal of Extracellular Vesicles,” Salzburg researchers report on the world’s first administration of the therapeutic in humans. A 24-month follow-up period is part of the study.

A patient with bilateral hearing loss received the first hearing implant in 2014. In 2018, a second identical implant was inserted, this time in combination with simultaneous administration of the nanovesicular therapeutic. During the follow-up period, there were no medical abnormalities that suggest a problematic reaction of the body to the therapeutic. On the contrary, an improvement in speech understanding was observed on the side where the therapeutic was applied. A further clinical study is currently being prepared.

Salzburg as a pioneer in vesicle research

Research in modern regenerative medicine has evolved over time from the study of precursor cells to tissue cells. This has led to the concept of using only extracellular vesicles instead of their viable parent cells. Observations of improved regeneration after strokes as well as attenuation of nerve inflammation and scar formation after spinal cord injuries have strengthened the concept of using extracellular vesicles to treat neurodegenerative diseases.

These therapies are therefore manufactured in Salzburg under the highest quality standards. The GMP laboratory of the Center for Spinal Cord and Tissue Regeneration (SCI-TReCS) at the Paracelsus Medical University Salzburg (PMU) is involved. GMP stands for Good Manufacturing Practice, which also means compliance with pharmaceutical guidelines and regulations.

Research center for therapeutic use

The goal of the Salzburg researchers is to investigate the efficacy and safety of nanovesicular therapeutics in clinical studies. For this purpose, the Transfer Center for Extracellular Vesicles Theralytic Technologies (EV-TT) was founded in 2019 by Mario Gimona and Eva Rohde (PMU) together with Nicole Meisner-Kober (PLUS). The EV-TT develops new technologies for the therapeutic use of extracellular vesicles. The focus is on supporting healing processes and drug delivery. The EV-TT is a flagship project of the Science and Innovation Strategy (WISS 2025) of the state of Salzburg and is funded by the state and the European Regional Development Fund, Investments in Growth and Employment (IWB/EFRE).

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

13. October 2023

Circular Economy:
Building with and in Existing Structures

“Dismantle. Breakthrough. Departure.” was the motto of this year’s Alpine Construction Symposium at the Salzburg University of Applied Sciences on October 12, 2023. The focus was on topics related to construction in existing structures and the recycling of materials from decommissioned buildings. There are many challenges in this regard, but also solutions.

18. September 2023

At the Interface Between Human and Computer: The New III.Lab in Salzburg

The triple I in the lab name stands for “Intelligent Interfaces Innovation,” describing research at the intersection of humans and technologies. The lab was inaugurated on September 15, 2023, and is available for collaborations with companies, emphasizing planned application-oriented research.

19. July 2023

From Mozart to Hightech

In the Austria Picture that aired on ORF 2 on June 11th, our CEO Walter Haas stated, “Salzburg should stand for research, technology, and the future.” The program, produced by the Salzburg Regional Studio, focused on our innovation ecosystem.

Our Newsletter

20210609_Aktuelles_Wie Hörimplantate besser heilen
Im GMP-Labor wird in Reinraumumgebung geforscht (Foto: PMU/wildbild)

8. Juni 2021

Wie Hörimplantate besser einheilen

Winzige Teilchen, die von menschlichen Stammzellen abgegeben werden, sind die sogenannten extrazellulären Vesikel. Die weltweit erste Verabreichung von Therapeutika, die auf Vesikeln basieren, fand in Salzburg statt. Damit können unter anderem Hörimplantate besser einheilen. Das Forschungsteam rund um Mario Gimona und Eva Rohde fand heraus, dass Vesikel viel mehr können als bisher gedacht.

Vesikel haben die Fähigkeit, entzündliche Prozesse zu unterdrücken und dadurch die Narbenbildung zu reduzieren. Diese Eigenschaften bieten zahlreiche Möglichkeiten zur Anwendung in der modernen Medizin. Im renommierten Fachjournal „Journal of Extracellular Vesicles“ berichten die Salzburger Forscher:innen Mario Gimona und Eva Rohde über ihre Forschung an Vesikeln und deren Hilfe beim Einheilen von Hörimplantaten.

Hörimplantate oft mit Entzündungen verbunden

Hörverlust ist die häufigste neurodegenerative Störung beim Menschen, von der weltweit mehr als 450 Millionen Menschen betroffen sind. Für viele Patient:innen ist ein chirurgisches Einsetzen eines Hörimplantats erforderlich. Dabei können aber Nebenwirkungen auftreten, wie akute oder chronische Entzündungen durch den Eingriff selbst, oder als Reaktion auf den Fremdkörper. Diese können das bereits erkrankte Innenohr weiter schädigen. Die Zerstörung von weiteren Innenohrzellen kann dazu führen, dass das restliche Hörvermögen gänzlich verschwindet. Derzeit gibt es aber keine Begleittherapien zum Einsetzen von Hörimplantaten.

Vesikel-Therapie schützt Ohr bei Hörimplantation

Bereits in ihren Vorarbeiten konnten die Salzburger Forscher:innen Mario Gimona und Eva Rohde zeigen, dass die Verabreichung des sogenannten nanovesikulären Therapeutikums nach Lärmschädigung die Sinneszellen im Ohr schützen und den Hörverlust verringern kann. Die Forschung fand in Kooperation mit der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover statt. Dadurch vermuten die Wissenschaftler:innen, dass Vesikel von menschlichen Stammzellen therapeutische Wirkungen im Innenohr entfalten und Entzündungen abschwächen können.

Im Fachjournal „Journal of Extracellular Vesicles“ berichten die Salzburger Forscher:innen über die weltweit ersten Verabreichung des Therapeutikums beim Menschen. Eine 24-monatige Nachbeobachtungszeit ist Teil der Studie.

Ein Patient mit beidseitigem Hörverlust erhielt 2014 das erste Hörimplantat. 2018 wurde ein zweites, identisches Implantat, diesmal aber in Kombination mit der gleichzeitigen Verabreichung des nanovesikulären Therapeutikums eingesetzt. Innerhalb der Nachbeobachtungszeit gab es keine medizinischen Auffälligkeiten, die auf eine problematische Reaktion des Körpers auf das Therapeutikum schließen lassen. Im Gegenteil: Es wurde sogar eine Verbesserung des Sprachverständnisses auf der Seite beobachtet, auf der das Therapeutikum angewendet wurde. Derzeit wird eine weiterführende klinische Studie vorbereitet.

Salzburg als Vorreiter in der Vesikelforschung

Die Forschung in der modernen regenerativen Medizin hat sich im Lauf der Zeit von der Erforschung der Vorläuferzellen hin zu Gewebezellen entwickelt. Daraus hat sich schließlich das Konzept ergeben, ausschließlich extrazelluläre Vesikel anstelle ihrer lebensfähigen Elternzellen zu verwenden. Beobachtungen einer verbesserten Regeneration nach Schlaganfällen sowie der Abschwächung von Nervenentzündungen und Narbenbildung nach Rückenmarksverletzungen haben das Konzept gestärkt, extrazelluläre Vesikel zur Behandlung von neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen zu verwenden.

Unter höchstmöglichen Qualitätsvorgaben werden diese Therapien deshalb in Salzburg hergestellt. Beteiligt ist das GMP-Labor des Zentrums für Querschnitt- und Geweberegeneration (SCI-TReCS) der Paracelsus Medizinischen Privatuniversität Salzburg (PMU). GMP steht für Good Manufacturing Practice, also gute Herstellungspraxis, und damit auch für die Einhaltung der pharmazeutischen Vorgaben und Regelwerke.

Forschungszentrum für therapeutischen Einsatz

Ziel der Salzburger Forscher:innen ist die Untersuchung der Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit nanovesikulärer Therapeutika in klinischen Studien. Dafür wurde 2019 das Transferzentrum für Extracellular Vesicles Theralytic Technologies (EV-TT) von Mario Gimona und Eva Rohde (PMU) gemeinsam mit Nicole Meisner-Kober (PLUS) gegründet. Das EV-TT entwickelt neue Technologien für den therapeutischen Einsatz von extrazellulären Vesikeln. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Unterstützung von Heilungsvorgängen und die Wirkstoffverabreichung. Das EV-TT ist ein Leitprojekt der Wissenschafts- und Innovationsstrategie (WISS 2025) des Landes Salzburg und wird vom Land und dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung, Investitionen in Wachstum und Beschäftigung (IWB/EFRE) gefördert.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

2. Februar 2024

salz21: Salzburg wird wieder zur Bühne für Innovation

Die größte Innovationsveranstaltung des Jahres findet am 6. und 7. März wieder im Messezentrum statt. Wir sind auch dabei und stellen unsere Programmhighlights vor. 

17. Januar 2024

Forschungsprämie beantragen – so geht’s!

KMU können für Aufwendungen in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) eine Forschungsprämie beim Finanzamt beantragen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie es geht!

13. Oktober 2023

Kreislaufwirtschaft:
Bauen mit und im Bestand

„Abbruch. Ausbruch. Aufbruch.“ lautete das Motto des diesjährigen Fachsymposiums Brennpunkt Alpines Bauen an der Fachhochschule Salzburg am 12. Oktober 2023. Im Mittelpunkt standen Themen rund um das Bauen im Bestand und die Wiederverwertung von vorhandenen Materialien aus ausgedienten Gebäuden. Schwierigkeiten gibt es dabei viele, Lösungen aber auch.

18. September 2023

An der Schnittstelle zwischen Mensch und Computer: Das neue III.Lab in Salzburg

Das dreifache I im Labnamen steht für „Intelligent Interfaces Innovation“ und beschreibt damit Forschung an der Schnittstelle von Menschen und Technologien. Das Lab wurde am 15. September 2023 eröffnet und steht mit der geplanten anwendungsorientierten Forschung auch für Kooperationen mit Unternehmen zur Verfügung.

Unser Newsletter