Sabine Seidler is Rector of TU Wien and President of uniko, photo: Raimund Appel

14. June 2022

Achieving visible peaks through cooperation – Interview with Sabine Seidler

On 8 June 2022, we welcomed top-class speakers in Salzburg on the subject of universities and higher education in the 21st century. One of them was Sabine Seidler, Rector of the Vienna University of Technology. We asked her what the university of the future looks like for her and how a location can be successful despite small-scale structures and demographic change.

How do you envision the university of the 21st century?

In any case, it is an interdisciplinary one and one with digital and physical components. It is international and probably very large. Large, on the one hand, because many students can connect from all over the world. Large, on the other hand, because it requires just as much space resources on site. Both for teaching and learning activities. We will probably no longer need such large lecture halls as we currently have at the TUW, because mass events are streamed. For that we need other rooms, differently structured and more.

We also have to overcome subject divisions to a certain extent. There is the keyword of digital humanism, where the human being is at the centre of digital solutions. That means we also need humanities graduates who work on solutions together with technicians. Future graduates must certainly have these competences.

I am a technician myself and have an idea of what innovation is. When we discuss ideas with artists, the result is certainly different than when we do it alone. But certainly nothing worse. Such approaches will be needed more and more.

What is the current state of Austrian higher education?

This question is difficult to answer because it is always a question of what you compare. In any case, there are special features in Austria: For example, there are 73 tertiary institutions that offer a very large variety. This has advantages and disadvantages: The advantage is the broad range of education for young people. The disadvantage is that this makes us small-scale in many areas and often perhaps not as visible as we would like. But when it comes to the best brains, international visibility is essential.

So things are not particularly good for our excellence?

You can’t say that. Austria is top in individual subjects. This applies, for example, to subjects in the humanities and social sciences, in physics or in the biotech sector or in the arts. However, as institutions we do not have 20 world-class groups each, but one or two.

Austria is not particularly big either…

Neither is Switzerland. As a TU rector, when I look at Switzerland, I naturally look at the ETH. But there are also universities there that are not so well funded.

To what extent does success depend on money?

In the end, it always comes down to money. I need buildings and rooms and I need good supervision ratios, i.e. many professors for few students. Of course, it always depends on what you do with the money, more doesn’t have to be better. But you can’t do it without money.

What do you think makes a university location attractive?

The more small-scale it is, the more you should look for who can join forces and how you can create excellent peaks through cooperation. Salzburg, with its six institutions, represents the entire tertiary system of universities, private universities, universities of applied sciences and colleges, the entire breadth that also exists nationwide. On the one hand, this is good for those who want to study here. On the other hand, it needs visible peaks through cooperation.

As far as internationality is concerned, one can learn a lot from art universities, which are much more international than others because of their admission procedures.

In any case, Salzburg is an attractive location. Not least because of the beauty of the city and its surroundings.

Do you mean the view of researchers or students?

That is more the view of researchers. If you look at the students’ point of view, it’s certainly a bit more differentiated. Here we have a challenge in Austria in terms of distribution. In Vienna, for example, we have too many applicants for computer science and not all places can be filled in the provinces. We – and here I can only speak from my point of view – recommend other study institutions outside of Vienna, but that doesn’t help much. The life decision often comes before the career decision. Young people, especially if they grew up in the country, are drawn to the city. With Master’s and doctoral studies, this can sometimes change and play a greater role in where I do it and where I can possibly start a career.

To what extent do the needs of business and universities diverge?

I think the main problem is the time scales. If we start from basic research, we have an extremely long time span and companies need quick solutions. Through funding programmes like the FFG or also for cooperations via the Christian Doppler Society, there are solutions here for how research can respond to these business requirements. In Austria we are very well positioned in this respect.

However, we have a shortage of graduates. Since 2015-16, we have been observing the demographic problem and the numbers are continuously decreasing. We would do well to seek out talent from the so-called “educationally disadvantaged classes” and promote them. In my view, targeted immigration would also be necessary, but it cannot come only from Europe, otherwise we would be stepping on each other’s toes. But you would have to turn a lot of screws for that to have an effect.

That might be interesting for you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

8. November 2023

Training courses for Filmmakers

Salzburg is the second-largest media hub in Austria and a versatile location for (film) productions. So, it’s the perfect place to start your education in this field

13. October 2023

Circular Economy:
Building with and in Existing Structures

“Dismantle. Breakthrough. Departure.” was the motto of this year’s Alpine Construction Symposium at the Salzburg University of Applied Sciences on October 12, 2023. The focus was on topics related to construction in existing structures and the recycling of materials from decommissioned buildings. There are many challenges in this regard, but also solutions.

18. September 2023

At the Interface Between Human and Computer: The New III.Lab in Salzburg

The triple I in the lab name stands for “Intelligent Interfaces Innovation,” describing research at the intersection of humans and technologies. The lab was inaugurated on September 15, 2023, and is available for collaborations with companies, emphasizing planned application-oriented research.

Our Newsletter

Sabine Seidler
Sabine Seidler ist Rektorin der TU Wien und Präseidentin der uniko. (Foto: Raimund Appel)

14. Juni 2022

Sichtbare Spitzen durch Zusammenarbeit erreichen – Interview mit Sabine Seidler

Am 8.6. begrüßten wir Salzburg hochkarätige Redner:innen zum Universitäts- und Hochschulstandort im 21. Jahrhundert. Eine davon war Sabine Seidler, Rektorin der TU Wien und Präsidentin der Österreichischen Universitätenkonferenz. Wir haben sie gefragt, wie für sie die Universität der Zukunft aussieht und wie ein Standort trotz Kleinteiligkeit und demografischer Veränderung erfolgreich sein kann.

Wie stellen sie sich die Universität des 21. Jahrhunderts vor?

Sie ist jedenfalls eine interdisziplinäre und eine mit digitalen und physischen Komponenten. Sie ist international und vermutlich sehr groß. Groß zum einen, weil sehr viele Studierende sich von überall in der Welt zuschalten können. Groß zum anderen, weil es genauso Raumressourcen vor Ort braucht. Sowohl für die Lehr- als auch die Lerntätigkeiten. Wir werden solche großen Hörsäle wie es sie derzeit an der TUW gibt wohl irgendwann nicht mehr brauchen, weil Massenveranstaltungen gestreamt werden. Dafür benötigen wir andere Räume, anders strukturierte und mehr.

Wir müssen auch ein Stück weit Fächertrennungen überwinden. Es gibt das Stichwort des digitalen Humanismus, bei dem der Mensch im Mittelpunkt von digitalen Lösungen steht. D.h. auch die Geisteswissenschaftler:innen brauchen wir, die gemeinsam mit Techniker:innen an Lösungen arbeiten. Zukünftige Absolvent:innen müssen sicher diese Kompetenzen haben.

Ich bin selbst Technikerin und habe eine Vorstellung davon, was Innovation ist. Wenn wir Ideen mit Künstler:innen diskutieren, kommt sicher etwas anderes heraus, als wenn wir das alleine machen. Aber sicher nichts Schlechteres. Solche Vorgehensweisen wird es vermehrt brauchen.

Wie steht es derzeit um den österreichischen Hochschulstandort?

Diese Frage ist schwer zu beantworten, weil es immer darum geht, was man vergleicht. Es gibt jedenfalls Besonderheiten in Österreich: Es gibt zum Beispiel 73 tertiäre Einrichtungen, die eine sehr große Vielfalt bieten. Diese hat Vor- und Nachteile: Vorteilhaft dabei ist das breite Bildungsangebot für junge Menschen. Von Nachteil ist, dass wir dadurch in vielen Bereichen kleinteilig sind und oftmals vielleicht nicht so sichtbar, wie wir es uns wünschen. Wenn es um die besten Köpfe geht, ist aber internationale Sichtbarkeit unerlässlich.

Es steht also nicht besonders gut um unsere Exzellenz?

So kann man das nicht sagen. Österreich ist in einzelnen Fächern spitze. Das gilt zum Beispiel für Fächer im geisteswissenschaftlichen und sozialwissenschaftlichen Bereich, in der Physik oder im Biotech-Bereich oder in der Kunst. Wir haben als Institutionen aber nicht je 20 Weltspitzengruppen, sondern eine oder zwei.

Österreich ist auch nicht besonders groß…

Das ist die Schweiz auch nicht. Wenn ich als TU-Rektorin in die Schweiz schaue, dann natürlich auf die ETH. Es gibt dort aber auch Universitäten, die nicht so gut finanziell ausgestattet sind.

Inwiefern hängt der Erfolg am Geld?

Am Schluss kommt es immer auf das Geld an. Ich brauche Gebäude und Räume und ich brauche gute Betreuungsverhältnisse, also viele Professor:innen für wenige Studierende. Es kommt natürlich immer darauf an, was man mit dem Geld macht, mehr muss nicht gleich besser sein. Aber ohne Geld geht es nicht.

Was denken Sie, macht einen Hochschul- und Universitätsstandort attraktiv?

Je kleinteiliger dieser ist, desto mehr sollte man danach trachten, wer sich zusammentun kann und wie man durch Kooperation exzellente Spitzen schaffen kann. Salzburg repräsentiert mit seinen sechs Einrichtungen das gesamte tertiäre System an Universitäten, Privatuniversitäten, Fachhochschulen und Hochschulen die gesamte Breite, die es auch bundesweit gibt. Das ist zum einen gut für jene, die hier studieren möchten. Zum anderen braucht es eben sichtbare Spitzen durch Zusammenarbeit.

Was Internationalität angeht, kann man viel von Kunstunis lernen, die schon aufgrund ihrer Aufnahmeverfahren viel internationaler sind als andere.

Als Standort ist Salzburg jedenfalls attraktiv. Nicht zuletzt durch die Schönheit der Stadt und ihr Umfeld.

Sie meinen hier die Sicht von Forscher:innen oder auch Studierenden?

Das ist eher die Sicht von Forscher:innen. Wenn man jene der Studierenden betrachtet, ist das sicher etwas differenzierter. Hier haben wir in Österreich eine Herausforderung hinsichtlich der Verteilung. In Wien haben wir zum Beispiel zu viele Studienwerber:innen für Informatik und in den Bundesländern können nicht alle Plätze besetzt werden. Wir – und hier kann ich nur aus meiner Warte sprechen – empfehlen zwar andere Studieneinrichtungen außerhalb von Wien weiter, das bringt aber nicht viel. Da steht die Lebensentscheidung oft vor der Berufsentscheidung. Junge Leute, vor allem wenn sie am Land aufgewachsen sind, zieht es dabei in die Stadt. Bei Master- und Doktoratsstudien kann sich das mitunter ändern und eine größere Rolle spielen, wo ich das mache und wo ich eventuell auch eine Karriere starten kann.

Inwiefern gehen Bedürfnisse von Wirtschaft und Hochschulen auseinander?

Das Hauptproblem sind glaube ich die Zeitskalen. Wenn wir von Grundlagenforschung ausgehen, haben wir eine extrem lange Zeitspanne und Unternehmen brauchen schnelle Lösungen. Durch Förderprogramme wie der FFG oder auch für Kooperationen über die Christian Doppler Gesellschaft gibt es hier Lösungen, wie Forschung auf diese Unternehmensanforderungen eingehen kann. In Österreich sind wir da sehr gut aufgestellt.

Wir haben jedoch einen Absolvent:innenmangel. Seit 2015-16 beobachten wir das demografische Problem und die Zahlen gehen kontinuierlich zurück. Wir täten gut daran, Talente aus sogenannten „bildungsfernen Schichten“ aufzuspüren und sie zu fördern. Aus meiner Sicht wäre auch eine gezielte Zuwanderung nötig, die allerdings nicht nur aus Europa kommen kann, da wir uns sonst gegenseitig auf die Füße steigen. Doch man müsste an vielen Stellschrauben drehen, damit das Wirkung zeigt.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

5. Dezember 2022

Für die Fachkräfte von Morgen

Seit 2020 begleiten wir mit Lehre Salzburg junge Menschen bei der Findung des passenden Berufs. Das tun wir auf lehre-salzburg.at und mit einer preisgekrönten Medienkampagne.

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

19. September 2022

PMU erforscht regeneratives Potential von extrazellulären Vesikeln zusammen mit Boehringer Ingelheim

Extrazelluläre Vesikel Theralytische Technologien ist ein Leitprojekt der Wissenschafts- und Innovationsstrategie des Landes Salzburg und wird aus Mitteln des Landes Salzburg und des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung für Investitionen in Wachstum und Beschäftigung gefördert.