Photo: Mitchell Johnson on unsplash

22. December 2021

Public transport planning with geospatial data

Salzburg Research is regularly commissioned to analyze real-time delays in public transportation. With an objective and detailed evaluation based on this data, transport planners can optimize the public transit network.

The utilization of public transportation is primarily influenced by the quality of connections and adherence to schedules. However, in bus transportation, deviations from the timetable often occur.

Salzburg Research uses satellite-based movement data from bus lines to identify deviations from schedules and calculate time losses on specific road segments. This allows them to determine the length of traffic congestion or time losses at traffic signals or roundabouts. They analyze data from bus routes, within the city area, and along entry roads from the surrounding area, for example.

weg_zeit_1a-1024×512
Photo: Salzburg Research

Such evaluations have been commissioned by transport associations, federal states, or cities in Austria and Germany in recent months. The requested data has been used for various applications, such as monitoring and evaluating new bus lanes, prioritizing public transportation, coordinating traffic signals, relocating bus stops, managing temporary construction sites, and calculating time-dependent travel patterns.

Transport planners and operators of public transportation systems receive an objective basis for decision-making and a meaningful impact assessment through such detailed evaluations. This knowledge enables them to develop targeted measures to improve traffic efficiency and make public transit more attractive.

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

7. November 2023

Utilizing Funding for Artificial Intelligence (AI)

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice (aws) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) offer various fundings for companies looking to work with new technology.

Our Newsletter

mitchell-johnson-nd5oU1Duhf0-unsplash
Foto: Mitchell Johnson on unsplash

22. Dezember 2021

Öffentliche Verkehrsplanung mit Geo-Daten

Salzburg Research wird regelmäßig mit der Analyse von realen Fahrzeitverlusten im öffentlichen Personennahverkehr beauftragt. Mit einer objektiven Detailbewertung als Datenbasis können Verkehrsplaner den Liniennetzplan optimieren.

Die Nutzung des öffentlichen Verkehrs wird vor allem durch die Qualität der Verbindungen bzw. die Einhaltung von Fahrplänen beeinflusst. Gerade im Busverkehr kommt es jedoch immer wieder zu starken Abweichungen vom Fahrplan.

Salzburg Research identifiziert anhand von Satelliten-basierten Bewegungsdaten von Linienbussen Fahrzeitverluste bezogen auf individuelle Straßenabschnitte. Dadurch lassen sich Rückstau-Längen bzw. Verlustzeiten vor Lichtsignalanlagen oder Kreisverkehren ermitteln. Untersucht werden beispielsweise Fahrdaten entlang einer Linie, im Stadtgebiet oder entlang von Einfahrtstraßen aus dem Umland.

weg_zeit_1a-1024×512
Foto: Salzburg Research

Solche Auswertungen wurden in den vergangenen Monaten von Verkehrsverbünden, Bundesländern oder Städten in Österreich und Deutschland beauftragt. Die angeforderten Daten waren Basis für Anwendungsfälle, wie die Begleitung und Evaluierung von neuen Busspuren, die Priorisierung von öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln, die Ansteuerung von Pförtner-Ampeln, die Verlegung von Haltestellen, temporäre Baustellen sowie für die Berechnung von tageszeitabhängigen Ganglinien.

Verkehrsplaner:innen bzw. Betreiber von öffentlichen Verkehrssystemen erhalten mit einer derartigen Detailbewertung eine objektive Entscheidungsgrundlage und ein aussagekräftiges Wirkungsmonitoring. Dieses Wissen ermöglicht es, gezielte Maßnahmen zu entwickeln, um den Verkehr effizienter beziehungsweise den öffentlichen Linienverkehr attraktiver zu gestalten.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.

19. September 2022

PMU erforscht regeneratives Potential von extrazellulären Vesikeln zusammen mit Boehringer Ingelheim

Extrazelluläre Vesikel Theralytische Technologien ist ein Leitprojekt der Wissenschafts- und Innovationsstrategie des Landes Salzburg und wird aus Mitteln des Landes Salzburg und des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung für Investitionen in Wachstum und Beschäftigung gefördert.