photo: Adobe Stock

11. March 2022

With software to the research premium

If you want to get the research grant for a software development, the software must offer innovative and new solutions. A fine line to engineering. IOVAVUM shows how to get a research grant in the IT sector.

Springtime is end-of-the-year season for companies. And for research-driven companies, it’s also the time to apply for the FFG Research Premium for the previous year! One company that has been benefiting from this premium for several years is IOVAVUM. With its ongoing innovative software development, the Salzburg SME has already received the premium five times in a row. This is remarkable because in software development, the line between proper research and engineering is narrow. In the latter, software is routinely produced and developed. If a software application offers new solutions to a relevant problem, it can be categorized as research.

IOVAVUM distributes software for logistics companies. At first glance, it may not sound very spectacular, but it is a highly innovative and flexible product. Why? This is due to the special requirements and conditions of logistics companies, which are often very diverse: some have their own fleet of vehicles, others book transport services from external carriers, some need to maintain cold chains, transport in a CO2-neutral manner, or cross borders to third countries and carry customs documents. However, the most important criterion that affects all logisticians is that the routes are well planned and, above all, that no empty runs occur. Because these cost a lot and bring in nothing.

Software development for flexible use

Therefore, IOVAVUM’s software must be flexible and adapt to the needs of each logistics company. But that’s not enough to receive the research premium. In recent years, IOVAVUM has been continuously developing the software and focusing particularly on two core areas.

One area is “intermodal processing.” This refers to the processing of transportation using means other than road transport by truck: for example, when a truck crosses the English Channel on a ferry or completes a section of the route by train. The software should be able to depict this in route planning in the future: automatic ticket booking during route planning, scheduling that matches the ferry or train departure times, and much more. The developers at IOVAVUM work extensively with machine learning to enhance the software so that it can plan such routes through self-learning.

Research Premium: This is how you apply!

The other research area concerns the shortage of skilled workers, which also affects the logistics sector. The keyword here is automation. IOVAVUM is researching where in logistics automated processes can be established.

“We invest a lot of brainpower in our research so that we can methodically solve these problems,” says Yvonne Kienberger, Chief Financial Officer of IOVAVUM. She doesn’t take it for granted that the company receives the research premium for this. However, since they develop new innovative solutions for logistics problems, it falls under research and development.

“Just a call to Innovation Salzburg is enough”

“I get excited every time I submit the application for the research premium and hope that we will receive it again this time.” After all, IOVAVUM invests over 250,000 euros annually in research and development. Quite a lot of money for a small SME.

Yvonne Kienberger’s advice for companies that want to apply for the research premium: “Just a call to Innovation Salzburg.” And: “Good cooperation with a tax consultancy, so that you submit good figures for the premium.”

To be able to benefit from the research premium, we evaluate your research project together with you. So, follow Yvonne Kienberger’s lead and contact us!

Your contact

Romana Schwab

Mag. Romana Schwab

That might be interesting for you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

Our Newsletter

IOVAVUM
Foto: Adobe Stock

11. März 2022

Mit Software zur Forschungs­prämie

Möchte man für eine Software-Entwicklung die Forschungsprämie bekommen, muss die Software innovative und neue Lösungen bieten. Ein schmaler Grad zu Engineering. Wie man im IT-Bereich zur Forschungsprämie kommt, zeigt IOVAVUM.

Frühlingszeit ist Jahresabschlusszeit. Und damit für forschungstreibende Unternehmen auch die Zeit, die FFG Forschungsprämie für das vergangene Jahr zu beantragen! Ein Unternehmen, das bereits seit einigen Jahren von dieser Prämie profitiert, ist IOVAVUM. Mit seiner fortlaufenden innovativen Software-Entwicklung erhielt das Salzburger KMU die Prämie bereits fünf Mal in Folge. Das ist bemerkenswert, denn in der Softwareentwicklung ist der Grad zwischen richtiger Forschung und Engineering ein schmaler. Bei zweiteren wird Software routinemäßig hergestellt und entwickelt. Wenn eine Software-Anwendung neue Lösungen für ein relevantes Problem bietet, kann man sie unter Forschung kategorisieren.

IOVAVUM vertreibt Software für Logistikunternehmen. Das hört sich erstmal nicht sehr spektakulär an, ist aber ein hoch innovatives und flexibles Produkt. Warum? Das hat mit den besonderen Anforderungen und Bedingungen der Logistikunternehmen zu tun, die oft sehr unterschiedlich sind: einige haben einen eigenen Fuhrpark, andere buchen die Transportleistungen von externen Frächtern, manche müssen Kühlketten aufrechterhalten, CO2-neutral transportieren oder Grenzen zu Drittstaaten überqueren und Zollpapiere mitführen. Das wichtigste Kriterium, das alle Logistiker betrifft, ist jedoch, dass die Routen gut geplant sind und das vor allem keine Leerfahrten entstehen. Denn diese kosten viel und bringen nichts ein.

Software-Entwicklung für flexiblen Einsatz

Die Software von IOVAVUM muss daher flexibel sein und sich an die Bedürfnisse des jeweiligen Logistikunternehmens anpassen. Doch das reicht noch nicht aus, um die Forschungsprämie zu bekommen. IOVAVUM entwickelt die Software in den letzten Jahren immer weiter und konzentrierte sich dabei besonders auf zwei Kernbereiche.

Das eine ist der Bereich der „intermodalen Abwicklung“. Darunter versteht man die Transportabwicklung mit Mitteln abseits des LKW-Transports auf der Straße: wenn zum Beispiel ein LKW mit der Fähre den Ärmelkanal überquert oder eine Teilstrecke mit dem Zug absolviert. Die Software soll das in der Tourenplanung in Zukunft abbilden können: automatische Ticketbuchung bei der Routenplanung, Zeitplanung, die mit den Abfahrtszeiten der Fähre oder dem Zug übereinstimmt und vieles mehr. Die Entwickler:innen von IOVAVUM arbeiten dabei viel mit Machine Learning, um die Software so aufzurüsten, dass sie selbstlernend solche Routen planen kann.

Der andere Forschungsbereich betrifft den Fachkräftemangel, der auch die Logistik schwer trifft. Das Stichwort heißt hier Automatisierung. IOVAVUM erforscht, an welchen Stellen in der Logistik automatisierte Prozesse etabliert werden können.

„Wir stecken viel Gehirnschmalz in unsere Forschung, damit wir methodisch diese Probleme lösen können “, sagt Yvonne Kienberger, Chief Financial Officer von IOVAVUM. Dass das Unternehmen dafür die Forschungsprämie erhält, findet sie nicht selbstverständlich. Doch da sie neue innovativen Lösungen für Probelme aus der Logistik entwickeln, wird das unter Forschung und Entwicklung kategorisiert.

Ein Anruf bei Innovation Salzburg genügt

„Ich bin jedes Mal aufgeregt, wenn ich den Antrag für die Forschungsprämie abschicke und hoffe, dass wir sie auch dieses Mal bekommen.“ Schließlich fließen bei IOVAVUM über 250.000 Euro jährlich in die Forschung und Entwicklung. Ziemlich viel Geld für ein kleines KMU.

Yvonne Kienbergers Rat für Unternehmen, die die Forschungsprämie beantragen wollen: „Ein Anruf bei Innovation Salzburg.“ Und: „Eine gute Zusammenarbeit mit einer Steuerberatung, damit man für die Prämie gute Zahlen abgibt.“

Um auch von der Forschungsprämie zu profitieren zu können, evaluieren wir mit Ihnen gemeinsam Ihr Forschungsprojekt. Deswegen machen Sie es wie Yvonne Kienberger und kontaktieren Sie uns!

Schwab2

Mag. Romana Schwab

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

8. März 2024

Wie gestalten wir unsere Zukunft?

Politische und technologische Herausforderungen sowie Lösungsansätze zu Fragen über die Welt von morgen wurden beim gut besuchten Innovations- und Technologieforum salz21 am 6. März in der Messe Salzburg besprochen. Ein Rückblick auf die von Innovation Salzburg organisierten Panels.

2. Februar 2024

salz21: Salzburg wird wieder zur Bühne für Innovation

Die größte Innovationsveranstaltung des Jahres findet am 6. und 7. März wieder im Messezentrum statt. Wir sind auch dabei und stellen unsere Programmhighlights vor. 

17. Januar 2024

Forschungsprämie beantragen – so geht’s!

KMU können für Aufwendungen in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) eine Forschungsprämie beim Finanzamt beantragen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie es geht!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: mit Technologie zu besserer Bewegung

Mehrere Salzburger Forschungseinrichtungen haben es mit weiteren Partnern geschafft, mit „Digital Motion“ wieder ein COMET-Projekt nach Salzburg zu holen. COMET ist das Flaggschiff-Programm zur Förderung von Spitzenforschung in Österreich.

Unser Newsletter