Photo: AustroCel

18. February 2022

Green Innovation: More than just paper

For 125 years, AustroCel Hallein has been a part of the Tennengau region. This longstanding company demonstrates how to stay at the forefront and successfully apply circular economy principles, showcasing Green Innovation made in Salzburg!

For 125 years, AustroCel Hallein has been manufacturing and selling chemical pulp, extracting cellulose from wood. The company has positioned itself as a forward-thinking industrial enterprise by producing environmentally friendly textile pulp and utilizing by-products for bioenergy.

Annually, they produce 155,000 tons of pulp for the textile industry and other applications. The generated bioenergy supplies up to 20,000 households in Hallein and Salzburg. 90 percent of the wood used for pulp production is PEFC certified, meaning no trees need to be felled specifically for pulp production. They utilize sawmill residues from Austrian (two-thirds) and Bavarian (one-third) sawmills. In 2021, they received an Energy Globe Award in the “Fire” category.

Generating energy with zero waste

Petra Wollboldt, Head of R&D, and her team are working on implementing a physical separation process to reduce water consumption and chemical usage in pulp sorting. The resulting short-fiber fraction will be further processed instead of being discarded as waste. A funding application supported by Innovation Salzburg was successfully submitted to the state of Salzburg for this purpose.

In their own biorefinery, AustroCel aims to utilize all components of the wood. By fermenting hemicellulose into hemicellulosic sugars, they produce second-generation bioethanol exclusively derived from plant materials. Wollboldt states, “Following the zero waste principle, this allows us to generate energy and district heating for the site while also enhancing the region by strengthening the research cluster around Salzburg.”

About AustroCel Hallein GmbH

  • Location: Hallein
  • Approximately 290 employees
  • Manufacturer of textile pulp and bioenergy

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

3. November 2023

Development of raw material recycling thanks to funding

The extraction of gravel produces extremely fine material that was previously considered waste. An innovation from Pongau makes it possible to utilise this material for the first time. This means that 100 per cent of the raw material can be used. The mechanical recovery process was developed by Christian Ehrensberger GmbH from Tenneck near Werfen.

Our Newsletter

Foto 1 Green Spirit co_AustroCel
Foto: AustroCel

18. Februar 2022

Green Innovation: Mehr als nur Papier

AustroCel Hallein gehört seit nunmehr 125 Jahren zum Standort Tennengau. Das alteingesessene Unternehmen zeigt, wie man am Puls der Zeit bleibt und Kreislaufwirtschaft erfolgreich anwendet – so geht Green Innovation made in Salzburg!

Bei AustroCel Hallein wird seit 125 Jahren Chemie-Zellstoff hergestellt und verkauft. Dabei wird Zellstoff aus dem Zelluloseanteil des Holzes gewonnen. Mit Herstellung von umweltfreundlichem Textil-Zellstoff und Verwertung der Nebenströme in Form von Bioenergie hat sich AustroCel als zukunftsweisendes Industrieunternehmen positioniert.

Jährlich werden 155.000 Tonnen Zellstoff für die Textilindustrie und andere Anwendungen produziert. Mit der erzeugten Bioenergie werden bis zu 20.000 Haushalte in Hallein und Salzburg versorgt. 90 Prozent des für die Zellstoffproduktion eingesetzten Holzes ist nach PEFC zertifiziert. Das bedeutet, dass kein Baum zur Herstellung von Zellstoff gefällt werden muss. Verwendet wird Sägerestholz aus Sägebetrieben in Österreich (zwei Drittel) und Bayern (ein Drittel). Dafür gab es 2021 einen Energy Globe Award in der Kategorie „Feuer“.

Mit Zero Waste Energie erzeugen

Petra Wollboldt, Leiterin der F&E-Abteilung, arbeitet mit ihrem Team an der Implementierung eines physikalischen Trennverfahrens zur Sortierung des Zellstoffs, um Wasserverbrauch und Einsatz von Chemikalien zu senken. Der anfallende Kurzfaseranteil soll auch, anstatt als Abbauprodukt ausgeschieden, weiterverarbeitet werden. Dafür wurde ein Förderantrag mit Unterstützung von Innovation Salzburg beim Land Salzburg erfolgreich eingereicht.

In der eigenen Bioraffinerie versucht AustroCel alle Bestandteile des Holzes zu verwerten. Aus Holzzucker, der in Braunlauge fermentiert wird, entsteht Bio-Ethanol der zweiten Generation, das ausschließlich aus Pflanzenmaterial gewonnen wird. „Nach dem Motto zero waste kann so Energie und Fernwärme für den Standort produziert werden“, so Wollboldt, „und die Region findet Aufwertung durch Stärkung des Forschungsclusters um Salzburg“.

Über AustroCel Hallein GmbH

  • Hallein
  • rund 290 Mitarbeiter:innen
  • Hersteller von Textil-Zellstoff und Bioenergie

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

17. November 2022

Bioeconomy Austria: Wissenstransfer zu KMU

Das österreichweite Bioökonomie-Netzwerk befindet sich erfolgreich im Aufbau. Über 150 Partner:innen aus regionalen Clustern & Plattformen, Wirtschaft, Forschung, Politik und Gesellschaft sind bereits Teil des wachsenden Netzwerks und vom gemeinsamen Erfolg überzeugt.

3. Oktober 2022

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.