Interview with Innovation Expert Romana Schwab (Photo: Innovation Salzburg)

4. April 2023

Why the European Green Deal also affects SMEs

The EU is creating political and legal frameworks with the Green Deal to transform the economy and society sustainably. What does this mean for companies, especially SMEs? Our expert Romana Schwab clarifies in the interview.

What is the Green Deal?

The EU has set the framework for a sustainable transformation of the economy with the Green Deal. The 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG targets) of the United Nations form the basis for this transformation. These goals are in the areas of environmental protection, poverty reduction and social justice. With the Green Deal, the EU aims to make the economy more sustainable not only in terms of environmental and climate protection but also in terms of social aspects. This transformation is in full swing, which means that companies must also take action.

What can companies expect with the Green Deal?

The goals of the Green Deal are transformed by EU member states into political and legal frameworks that drive the transformation of the economy. For example, the EU Supply Chain Act requires companies to comply with human rights and environmental standards throughout their entire value chain. Member states must implement the directive into national law by 2026. Although small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) are not directly affected by the law, they are indirectly affected as suppliers to larger, affected companies.

In addition, reporting requirements on sustainability aspects for companies will be expanded. This means that from 2025 onwards, companies with more than 250 employees must provide information on how they comply with the 17 SDG targets, such as how they combat corruption and bribery or respect human rights.

What is the EU Taxonomy Regulation?

The Taxonomy Regulation is also a central part of the Green Deal – parts of it have been in effect since January 1, 2022. It is part of the “Action Plan on Financing Sustainable Growth” and is intended to direct capital flows into ecologically sustainable economic activities. Climate and environmental protection becomes a criterion of risk management in the financial industry. This means that in the future, for example, sustainability criteria will play a stronger role in the awarding of loans to companies. Climate-damaging investments are thus to be made more difficult.

What do these regulations mean for SMEs?

These laws affect not only large corporations but also SMEs. This means that in the future, companies will no longer be able to act sustainably only out of intrinsic motivation. It is not a matter of wanting or shouldering, but of having to. And the sooner companies take steps to become more sustainable, the better. Because in the long run, this can lead to competitive advantages. Companies are then prepared for the sustainable transformation of the economy. They are more attractive to customers and suppliers who are transforming their supply chains sustainably. And they can receive financial support for their investments in sustainable projects.

There are many measures that can be taken in terms of sustainability. How can companies find the right ones for them?

I recommend: just start! There are many possibilities: for example, saving energy through heat recovery or renovation of the company building, switching to green electricity, switching to regional, sustainable suppliers or products. There is a lot of potential where you can start. The WKO offers checklists on the topics of energy, mobility, devices and production processes. The checks provide good tips on what measures companies can take.

Are there programs that support SMEs?

There are support services available from various sources. For example, with the help of experts from the Enterprise Europe Network (EEN), SMEs can have their previous sustainability activities analyzed for free. Based on this analysis, the EEN can provide recommendations to companies on what goals to pursue and what measures to take. We are a partner of the EEN and can also assist with funding applications and finding cooperation partners.

The Austrian Control Bank (ÖKG) offers a free online tool that evaluates the sustainability activities of companies. Banks use these evaluations as decision-making aids for lending. Banks are rated based on how many “green” loans they grant – this is part of the EU Taxonomy Regulation.

How can companies finance such measures?

There are now numerous funding opportunities from the federal government and the state of Salzburg, not only in the field of environmental protection, but also for social measures or for research and development in the field of sustainable innovations.

However, the Climate and Transformation Offensive is particularly noteworthy. To make the Green Deal a reality, initial funding is being distributed here. For example, companies receive 5,000 euros per employee for digital and sustainable training. That’s a huge amount! Research will also be funded with 55 million euros in 2023.

Where can companies turn for help?

They can contact us to discuss their plans. We are the first point of contact and have a good overview of the contact persons if they need advice or experts who can help them implement sustainability projects. We also provide advice on funding and assist with applications.

Companies can also contact the Environmental Law Department of the Salzburg Chamber of Commerce or the Environmental Service Salzburg (uss) directly. The uss provides advice on energy, mobility, waste, resources, and the environment.

Your contact for innovations and funding

Romana Schwab

Mag. Romana Schwab

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

7. November 2023

Utilizing Funding for Artificial Intelligence (AI)

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice (aws) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) offer various fundings for companies looking to work with new technology.

Our Newsletter

romana
Innovationsexpertin Romana Schwab im Interview. (Foto: Innovation Salzburg)

4. April 2023

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.

Was ist der Green Deal?

Die EU hat mit dem Green Deal den Rahmen gesteckt, um die Wirtschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Die Grundlage für den Umbau sind die 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG-Ziele) der Vereinten Nationen. Das sind Ziele im Bereich Umweltschutz, Armutsbekämpfung und sozialer Gerechtigkeit. Die EU möchte mit dem Green Deal die Wirtschaft also nicht nur nachhaltiger in Bezug auf Umwelt- und Klimaschutz, sondern auch in Bezug auf soziale Aspekte gestalten. Dieser Umbau ist in vollem Gange – das bedeutet, dass auch Unternehmen handeln müssen.

Was erwartet Unternehmen mit dem Green Deal? 

Die Ziele des Green Deal werden von den EU-Mitgliedstaaten in politische und rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen gegossen, die den Umbau der Wirtschaft vorantreiben. Das EU-Lieferkettengesetz zum Beispiel verpflichtet Unternehmen, Menschenrechte und Umweltstandards in ihrer gesamten Wertschöpfungskette einzuhalten. Die Mitgliedsstaaten müssen die Richtlinie bis 2026 in nationales Recht umsetzen. Kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) sind zwar nicht direkt von dem Gesetz betroffen, aber indirekt z. B. als Zulieferer von größeren, betroffenen Unternehmen.

Außerdem wird die Berichtspflicht über Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte für Unternehmen ausgeweitet. Das bedeutet, dass ab dem Jahr 2025 Firmen mit über 250 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern darüber Auskunft geben müssen, wie sie die 17 SDG-Ziele einhalten, also wie sie zum Beispiel Korruption und Bestechung bekämpfen oder die Menschenrechte achten.

Was versteht man unter der EU-Taxonomie-Verordnung?

Die Taxonomie-Verordnung ist auch zentraler Bestandteil des Green Deals – Teile davon gelten bereits seit 1. Jänner 2022. Sie ist Bestandteil des „Aktionsplans zur Finanzierung von nachhaltigem Wachstum“ und soll Kapitalflüsse in ökologisch nachhaltige Wirtschaftsaktivitäten lenken. Klima- und Umweltschutz wird zu einem Kriterium des Risikomanagements in der Finanzwirtschaft. Das bedeutet, dass zum Beispiel bei der Vergabe von Krediten an Unternehmen Nachhaltigkeitskriterien in Zukunft stärker eine Rolle spielen. Klimaschädliche Investitionen sollen so erschwert werden.

Was bedeuten diese Regelungen für KMU?

Diese Gesetze betreffen nicht nur große Konzerne, sondern auch KMU. Das bedeutet, dass Unternehmen in Zukunft nicht mehr nur aus intrinsischer Motivation nachhaltig agieren können. Es ist kein Wollen oder Sollen, sondern ein Müssen. Und je eher Unternehmen Schritte setzen, um nachhaltiger zu werden, umso besser. Denn daraus können sich langfristig Wettbewerbsvorteile ergeben. Unternehmen sind dann für den nachhaltigen Umbau der Wirtschaft gerüstet. Sie sind für Kund:innen und Lieferant:innen, die ihre Lieferkette nachhaltig umbauen, attraktiver. Und sie können für ihre Investments in nachhaltige Projekte Finanzspritzen bekommen.

Es gibt in Bezug auf Nachhaltigkeit viele Maßnahmen, die man setzen kann. Wie können Unternehmen die für sie passenden finden?

Ich empfehle: einfach anfangen! Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten: Energiesparen zum Beispiel durch Wärmerückgewinnung oder durch die Sanierung des Firmengebäudes, Umstieg auf Ökostrom, Umstieg auf regionale, nachhaltige Lieferant:innen oder Produkte. Da gibt es viel Potenzial, wo man ansetzen kann. Die WKO bietet Checklisten zu den Themen Energie, Mobilität, Geräte und Produktionsprozesse. Die Checks geben gute Tipps, welche Maßnahmen Unternehmen setzen können.

Gibt es Programme, die KMU unterstützen?

Es gibt von verschiedenen Stellen Unterstützungsleistungen. Mit den Expert:innen des Enterprise Europe Network (EEN) können KMU zum Beispiel ihre bisherigen Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten kostenlos analysieren. Darauf aufbauend können sie den Unternehmen Empfehlungen geben, welche Ziele diese verfolgen und welche Maßnahmen sie setzen können. Wir sind Partner des EEN und können zusätzlich bei Förderanträgen und bei Suche nach Kooperationspartnern behilflich sein.

Die Österreichische Kontrollbank (ÖKG) bietet ein kostenfreies Online-Tool an, welches die Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten von Unternehmen bewertet. Banken ziehen diese Bewertungen als Entscheidungshilfe für die Kreditvergabe heran. Denn Banken werden danach eingestuft, wie viele „grüne“ Kredite sie vergeben – das ist Teil der EU-Taxonomie-Verordnung.

Wie können Unternehmen solche Maßnahmen finanzieren?

Es gibt mittlerweile zahlreiche Förderangebote vom Bund und vom Land Salzburg, nicht nur im Bereich des Umweltschutzes, sondern auch für soziale Maßnahmen oder für Forschung und Entwicklung im Bereich der nachhaltigen Innovationen.

Hervorzuheben ist aber insbesondere die Klima- und Transformationsoffensive. Um den Green Deal Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen, werden hier erste Förderungen ausgeschüttet. Ein Beispiel: Unternehmen bekommen für digitale und nachhaltige Weiterbildungen 5.000 Euro pro Mitarbeiter:in. Das ist eine enorme Summe! Forschung wird heuer mit 55 Millionen Euro im Jahr 2023 gefördert.

Wo können sich Unternehmen hinwenden?

Sie können sich an uns wenden, um Ihr Vorhaben zu besprechen. Wir sind Erstanlaufstelle und haben einen guten Überblick über Ansprechpartner:innen, wenn sie Beratungen brauchen oder Expert:innen, die ihnen bei der Umsetzung von Nachhaltigkeitsprojekten helfen. Wir beraten außerdem zu Förderungen und helfen bei der Einreichung.

Unternehmen können sich auch direkt an die Abteilung Umweltrecht der Wirtschaftskammer Salzburg oder das umwelt service Salzburg (uss) wenden. Das uss unterstützt mit Beratungen zu Energie, Mobilität, Abfall, Ressourcen und Umwelt.

Ihr Kontakt für Innovationen & Förderungen

Schwab2

Mag. Romana Schwab

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

8. März 2024

Wie gestalten wir unsere Zukunft?

Politische und technologische Herausforderungen sowie Lösungsansätze zu Fragen über die Welt von morgen wurden beim gut besuchten Innovations- und Technologieforum salz21 am 6. März in der Messe Salzburg besprochen. Ein Rückblick auf die von Innovation Salzburg organisierten Panels.

2. Februar 2024

salz21: Salzburg wird wieder zur Bühne für Innovation

Die größte Innovationsveranstaltung des Jahres findet am 6. und 7. März wieder im Messezentrum statt. Wir sind auch dabei und stellen unsere Programmhighlights vor. 

17. Januar 2024

Forschungsprämie beantragen – so geht’s!

KMU können für Aufwendungen in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) eine Forschungsprämie beim Finanzamt beantragen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie es geht!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: mit Technologie zu besserer Bewegung

Mehrere Salzburger Forschungseinrichtungen haben es mit weiteren Partnern geschafft, mit „Digital Motion“ wieder ein COMET-Projekt nach Salzburg zu holen. COMET ist das Flaggschiff-Programm zur Förderung von Spitzenforschung in Österreich.

Unser Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.