Pulling together with doc.funds.connect for doctoral education in Austria: Minister of Science Heinz Faßmann, Sabine Seidler (uniko), Johann Kastner (FHK), Christoph Gattringer (FWF), and Martin Gerzabek (CDG). (Photo: FWF/Daniel Novotny)

10. October 2021

FHs and universities jointly train doctoral candidates

Austria’s universities and universities of applied sciences (UAS) are jointly training doctoral students. The Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research and the Austrian Science Fund (FWF) are funding five new joint doctoral programs with one million euros each in Graz, Linz, Salzburg, Vienna, and Wiener Neustadt.

With the funding program doc.funds.connect, five joint doctoral programs can start at universities and universities of applied sciences. The total funding volume for the first call is five million euros, and selection and evaluation were carried out by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF) in collaboration with the Christian Doppler Society. Due to the positive response, the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research is providing an additional seven million euros for a second call.

The following locations were able to establish joint doctoral programs through an international evaluation process:

  • Salzburg University of Applied Sciences, University of Salzburg
  • Upper Austria University of Applied Sciences, University of Linz
  • University of Applied Sciences Technikum Wien, Vienna University of Technology
  • University of Applied Sciences Wiener Neustadt, Medical University of Vienna, University of Veterinary Medicine Vienna
  • University of Applied Sciences Joanneum, Graz University of Technology

“Cooperative doctorates strengthen research cooperation between universities and universities of applied sciences and promote young researchers. Therefore, I am pleased that a total of 28 high-quality project cooperations were submitted. Due to this great response, we will launch a second call with a budget increase to seven million euros by the end of this year,” explains Minister of Science Heinz Faßmann on the occasion of the first round of approvals.

The Salzburg doctoral program “doc.hci – Designing Meaningful Human-Technology Relations”

  • Involved partners: University of Salzburg, Salzburg University of Applied Sciences
  • Coordination: Alexander Meschtscherjakov (University of Salzburg)
  • Funding volume: 1,005,148.04 euros | Project duration: 4 years

The new doctoral program deals with the understanding and design of the relationship between humans and digital technology. Due to the ubiquity of these technologies and their increasing agency, for example, artificial intelligence, humanity is becoming increasingly intertwined with them. This requires a paradigm shift in the field of information and communication technology, which requires significant innovations in theoretical foundations and methodological approaches.

The creation of these foundations is the overarching scientific goal of the doc.hci program. Doctoral candidates deal with the design of meaningful human-machine relationships in five challenging contexts (mobility, health, education, work, play) by taking a radically new perspective on the nature of these relationships. Doc.hci builds on the joint master’s program HCI of the University of Salzburg and Salzburg University of Applied Sciences.

Information on all doctoral programs can be found here.

This might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

8. November 2023

Training courses for Filmmakers

Salzburg is the second-largest media hub in Austria and a versatile location for (film) productions. So, it’s the perfect place to start your education in this field

Our Newsletter

csm_FWF_docfundsconnect_cFWFDanielNovotny_slider_f2e7e459e7
Ziehen mit doc.funds.connect an einem Strang in der österreichischen Doktoratsausbildung: Wissenschaftsminister Heinz Faßmann, Sabine Seidler (uniko), Johann Kastner (FHK), Christoph Gattringer (FWF) und Martin Gerzabek (CDG). (Foto: FWF/Daniel Novotny)

10. Oktober 2021

FHs und Unis bilden gemeinsam Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus

Österreichs Fachhochschulen und Universitäten bilden gemeinsam Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung und der Wissenschaftsfonds FWF fördern dafür fünf neue gemeinsame Doktoratsprogramme mit je einer Million Euro in Graz, Linz, Salzburg, Wien und Wiener Neustadt.

Mit dem Förderungsprogramm doc.funds.connect können fünf gemeinsame Doktoratsprogramme an Fachhochschulen und Universitäten starten. Das gesamte Fördervolumen der ersten Ausschreibungsrunde beträgt fünf Millionen Euro, Auswahl und Begutachtung übernahm der Wissenschaftsfonds FWF gemeinsam mit der Christian Doppler Gesellschaft. Aufgrund des positiven Echos stellt das Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung weitere sieben Millionen Euro für eine zweite Ausschreibungsrunde zur Verfügung.

Folgende Standorte konnten sich im internationalen Begutachtungsverfahren durchsetzen und werden ein gemeinsames Doktoratsprogramm anbieten:

  • Fachhochschule Salzburg, Universität Salzburg
  • Fachhochschule Oberösterreich, Universität Linz
  • Fachhochschule Technikum Wien, Technische Universität Wien
  • Fachhochschule Wiener Neustadt, Medizinische Universität Wien, Veterinärmedizinische Universität Wien
  • Fachhochschule Joanneum, Technische Universität Graz

„Kooperative Doktorate stärken die Forschungszusammenarbeit zwischen Universitäten und Fachhochschulen und fördern gleichzeitig den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs. Insofern freut es mich, dass insgesamt 28 hochwertige Projektkooperationen eingereicht wurden. Aufgrund dieser großen Resonanz werden wir schon mit Ende dieses Jahres eine zweite Ausschreibung starten und auch das dahingehende Budget auf sieben Millionen Euro aufstocken“, erklärt Wissenschaftsminister Heinz Faßmann zur ersten Bewilligungsrunde.

Das Salzburger Doktoratsprogramm „doc.hci – Designing Meaningful Human-Technology Relations“

  • Beteiligte Partner: Universität Salzburg, Fachhochschule Salzburg
  • Koordination: Alexander Meschtscherjakov (Universität Salzburg)
  • Fördervolumen: 1.005.148,04 Euro | Projektlaufzeit: 4 Jahre

Das neue Doktoratsprogramm beschäftigt sich mit dem Verständnis und der Gestaltung der Beziehung zwischen Menschen und digitaler Technologie. Durch die Allgegenwart dieser Technologien und deren zunehmende Akteurhaftigkeit, Stichwort künstliche Intelligenz, wird das Menschsein immer enger mit ihnen verwoben. Dies bedingt einen Paradigmenwechsel im Bereich der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie, der erhebliche Innovationen in den theoretischen Grundlagen und methodischen Ansätzen erfordert.

Die Schaffung dieser Grundlagen ist das übergreifende wissenschaftliche Ziel des doc.hci-Programms. Die Doktorand:innen beschäftigen sich mit der Gestaltung bedeutungsvoller Mensch-Maschine-Beziehungen in fünf anspruchsvollen Kontexten (Mobilität, Gesundheit, Bildung, Arbeit, Spiel), indem sie eine radikal neue Perspektive auf die Natur dieser Beziehungen einnehmen. doc.hci baut auf dem Joint-Masterprogramm HCI von Universität Salzburg und FH Salzburg auf.

Infos zu allen Dokoratsprogrammen finden Sie hier.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

5. Dezember 2022

Für die Fachkräfte von Morgen

Seit 2020 begleiten wir mit Lehre Salzburg junge Menschen bei der Findung des passenden Berufs. Das tun wir auf lehre-salzburg.at und mit einer preisgekrönten Medienkampagne.

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.