Photo: Marco Riebler

7. December 2020

All digital processes on screen

The company Meissl from Pfarrwerfen is the market leader in large umbrellas, wind protection solutions, and umbrella bars. Digitalization helps them stay innovative and service-oriented.

How much innovation can be packed into an umbrella? The company Meissl Open Air Solutions in Pfarrwerfen shows: a lot. From planning to finished solutions for large umbrellas, wind protection, and umbrella bars, the company is a market leader in its industry and is even considered the inventor of the umbrella bar.

Meissl’s umbrellas come in all shapes and sizes. No matter what the local conditions are, Meissl produces the appropriate umbrella: with different heights of roof slopes, an asymmetrical courtyard, polygonal, round – anything is possible. The umbrellas can be equipped with effect lighting, heaters, and a misting system as desired. In addition, custom rain gutters for house connections are planned and manufactured. The umbrella bars are also fully planned, and can be equipped with cooling systems, effect lighting, and a heating system. The wind protection solutions are just as innovative: retractable, with sliding doors or swing doors, and many other solutions are offered by Meissl.

Efficiency and precision through digitization

Meissl works very solution-oriented. In order to produce an individually adapted product, the employees measure the local conditions precisely, draw up the construction plans, and produce according to the requirements. These processes are complex and time-consuming. To make them faster, more accurate, and more efficient, the company has invested in digitization. “Through digitization, we don’t have less work, but we can be faster and handle more orders in a shorter amount of time. We are constantly improving to work even more precisely,” explains Hermine Meissl, managing director of the company.

marco_riebler-6058
Meissl CEO Hermine Meissl (Photo: Marc Rieber)

Laser measurements and automated production

As an important step towards digital production, Meissl Open Air Solutions has invested in a laser scanner. What was previously done manually, such as measuring buildings, terraces, and surrounding areas, can now be automated. This eliminates the need for multiple site visits due to missing measurements. The laser measures faster and more accurately than is possible by hand, and the data can be transmitted to the design office in Pfarrwerfen on-site. Based on the measurements, the staff can quickly create 3D construction plans and send the corresponding offer. 3D visualizations allow customers to get an idea of the umbrella solution before making a decision.

The production process is also facilitated by the measurement data. The construction plans serve as a template for the textile and cutting workshops. The fabric for the cover and the aluminum or steel for the umbrella stand are prepared and cut to size using a waterjet cutting system, which cuts the materials according to the plan.

The production process, from measurement to planning to production, is already highly digitized, and many manual tasks have been eliminated. Meissl always has all the data at their digital fingertips. “Digitization has made our lives easier,” says Hermine Meissl. “But there is still a lot to do.”

Prototypes from the 3D printer

In addition to the production company, Hermine Meissl also leads the Meissl Research and Development GmbH in Pfarrwerfen. Here, innovation is constantly needed in production to maintain the company’s status as a world leader. This is where the 3D printer comes in, allowing Meissl to quickly and easily produce prototypes.

Innovation through service orientation

Innovation is in the DNA of this family business. “Our customers drive a lot of the innovations because they want custom solutions. Our focus on solutions always leads to new innovative products and processes,” explains Hermine Meissl. “We don’t produce in bulk, but instead provide individually tailored solutions for our customers. That’s what makes us the world leader in this niche.”

That might also interest you

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

7. November 2023

Utilizing Funding for Artificial Intelligence (AI)

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice (aws) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) offer various fundings for companies looking to work with new technology.

Our Newsletter

Meissl
Foto: Marco Riebler

7. Dezember 2020

Alle digitalen Prozesse am Schirm

Das Unternehmen Meissl aus Pfarrwerfen ist Marktführer, wenn es um Großschirme, Windschutzlösungen und Schirmbars geht. Die Digitalisierung hilft dabei, innovativ und serviceorientiert zu bleiben.

Wieviel Innovation kann in einem Schirm stecken? Die Firma Meissl Open Air Solutions in Pfarrwerfen zeigt: jede Menge. Bei der Planung bis zur fertigen Lösung für Großschirme, Windschutz und Schirmbars ist das Unternehmen Marktführer in seiner Branche und gilt sogar als Erfinder der Schirmbar.

Die Schirme von Meissl kommen in allen möglichen Größen und Formen daher. Egal, welche Gegebenheiten vor Ort sind, Meissl produziert den passenden Schirm: verschieden hohe Dachschrägen, ein asymmetrischer Innenhof, vieleckig, rund – alles ist möglich. Die Schirme können je nach Wunsch mit einer Effektbeleuchtung oder Heizstrahler sowie einer Sprühnebelanlage ausgestattet sein. Ergänzend werden passgenaue Regenrinnen für die Hausanschlüsse geplant und gefertigt. Auch die Schirmbars sind komplett durchgeplant. Auch diesen können mit Kühlanlagen, Effektbeleuchtung und mit einem Heizsystem ausgestattet werden. Die Windschutzlösungen sind ebenso innovativ: ein- und ausfahrbar, mit Schiebetüren oder Drehflügel und viele andere Lösungen bietet Meissl an.

Effektivität und Genauigkeit durch Digitalisierung

Meissl arbeitet sehr lösungsorientiert. Um ein individuell angepasstes Produkt produzieren zu können, vermessen die Mitarbeiter:innen die Gegebenheiten vor Ort genau aus, zeichnen die Konstruktionspläne und produzieren nach den Anforderungen. Diese Prozesse sind aufwändig und zeitintensiv. Um sie schneller, genauer und effizienter zu gestalten, hat das Unternehmen in die Digitalisierung investiert. “Wir haben durch die Digitalisierung nicht weniger Arbeit, wir können aber schneller sein und mehr Aufträge in kürzerer Zeit abwickeln. Wir verbessern uns laufend, um noch exakter zu arbeiten“, erklärt Hermine Meissl, Geschäftsführerin des Unternehmens.

marco_riebler-6058
Meissl-Geschäftsführerin Hermine Meissl (Foto: Marc Rieber)

Laser-Messungen und automatisierte Produktion

Als wichtiger Schritt in die digitale Produktion wurde ein Laserscanner angeschafft. Was früher händisch gemacht wurde, vermisst dieser automatisiert: Gebäude, Terrasse und die Umgebung. Eine mehrmalige Anreise, die davor bei fehlenden Messungen notwendig war, kommt nicht mehr vor. Der Laser vermisst schneller und genauer, als es per Hand möglich ist. Die Daten können noch vor Ort an das Konstruktionsbüro in Pfarrwerfen übermittelt werden. So können die Mitarbeiter/innen anhand der Vermessungen die 3D-Konstruktionspläne rasch erstellen und das dazugehörige Angebot rausschicken. 3D-Visualisierungen machen es möglich, dass sie sich die Kundschaft von der Schirmlösung vor der Entscheidung eine Vorstellung machen kann.

Auch die Produktion wird anhand der Messdaten erleichtert. Die Konstruktionspläne dienen als Vorlage für die Textil- und Schneidewerkstätten. Dort wird der Stoff für die Bespannung vorbereitet und das Aluminium oder der Stahl für die Schirmständer in die Wasserstrahlschneideanlage eingelegt. Diese schneidet exakt nach Plan die Materialien zu.

Der Produktionsprozess – von der Vermessung, zur Planung bis zur Produktion – ist somit schon stark digitalisiert. Viele manuelle Tätigkeiten fallen weg. Meissl hat alle Daten somit immer am digitalen Schirm. „Die Digitalisierung hat uns das Leben erleichtert“, so Hermine Meissl. „Aber es gibt auch noch viel zu tun.“

Prototypen aus dem 3D-Drucker

Neben der Produktionsfirma führt Hermine Meissl auch die Meissl Forschungs- und Entwicklungs GmbH in Pfarrwerfen. Besonders hier sind immer wieder Innovationen in der Produktion gefragt, um den Status des Weltmarktführers aufrecht erhalten zu können. Dazu trägt auch ein 3D-Drucker bei, mit dem Meissl schnell und einfach Prototypen herstellen kann.

Innovation durch Serviceorientierung

Innovation liegt dem Familienbetrieb im Blut. „Innovationen werden bei uns auch viel von den Kundinnen und Kunden angetrieben, weil sich diese Sonderlösungen wünschen. Unsere Lösungsorientierung bringt daher immer wieder neue innovative Produkte und Prozesse hervor“, erklärt Hermine Meissl. „Wir produzieren nicht in der Masse, sondern individuell angepasste Lösungen für unsere Kund/innen. Das macht uns zum Weltmarktführer in dieser Nische.“

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

2. Februar 2024

salz21: Salzburg wird wieder zur Bühne für Innovation

Die größte Innovationsveranstaltung des Jahres findet am 6. und 7. März wieder im Messezentrum statt. Wir sind auch dabei und stellen unsere Programmhighlights vor. 

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: mit Technologie zu besserer Bewegung

Mehrere Salzburger Forschungseinrichtungen haben es mit weiteren Partnern geschafft, mit „Digital Motion“ wieder ein COMET-Projekt nach Salzburg zu holen. COMET ist das Flaggschiff-Programm zur Förderung von Spitzenforschung in Österreich.

17. November 2023

Salzburg bekommt erstes Virtual Production Studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam eröffnet erstes Virtual Production Studio Österreichs.

15. November 2023

Ein neues Bindemittel für den Holzbau

Die Bauneg GmbH aus dem Flachgau hat ein neuartiges Bindemittel für den Niveauausgleich von Holzwohnbauten entwickelt, das elastisch bleibt und so für Schallschutz sorgt. Unterstützt wurde das KMU dabei von der Innovationsförderung des Landes und von Innovation Salzburg.

Unser Newsletter

Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus. / Please fill in the required field.
Bitte füllen Sie das Pflichtfeld aus.