Esther Lind from SAG at salz21, photo: Innovation Salzburg/Benedikt Schemmer

15. June 2022

Why SAG relies on liquid hydrogen as fuel

Liquid hydrogen (LH2) is increasingly becoming the focus of attention when it comes to alternative fuels for commercial vehicles. The Salzburg Aluminium Group is researching how to store it in tanks. Esther Lind from SAG told us at our Industry Talks at the salz21 innovation festival how SAG manages to store LH2 at – 253 degrees.

Diesel fuel cannot be replaced by just one technology in transport. Esther Lind, General Manager Sales and Innovation at the Salzburger Aluminium Group (SAG), made people sit up and take notice at the Industry Talks of Innovation Salzburg at salz21.

For a long time, diesel was THE solution for all transport applications. But it now has to be replaced due to its high CO2 emissions. Electric and increasingly also hydrogen drives are gaining ground on the market for passenger transport. Hydrogen propulsion is either by combustion or fuel cells and is stored in gaseous or liquid form. Today, gaseous storage is the most widespread. With this, an average range of 400 to 900 kilometres can be achieved. However, gas requires a lot of space for storage and thus more tanks per vehicle. It is therefore not the right fuel for every application.

Storage of liquid hydrogen as a challenge

For commercial vehicles, research is therefore also being conducted into alternative forms of propulsion. In recent years, liquid hydrogen (LH2) has also come into focus. It is more sustainable, the range is longer and, above all, it does not require as much space for storage. “Aviation is also becoming more and more involved with this technology. This was unthinkable a few years ago,” Esther Lind summarised the dynamics in current research.

SAG is therefore researching storage tanks for liquid hydrogen. The big challenge here is that it has to be stored at -253 degrees. The temperature must be kept stably so cold. This works with insulators, which are also used in space travel. More than 500 different components are installed in the storage tank. “SAG is working its way into a completely new, very complex segment here. And we are working with suppliers who do not normally manufacture their products in these quantities,” says Esther Lind.

Do not think sustainable mobility alone

The entire research is therefore a major challenge that requires close cooperation between many industry segments and partners. “We cannot think about sustainable mobility alone. We need the industries, the users, but also the infrastructure. To get prototypes on the road, you first need filling stations where liquid hydrogen can be refuelled. For the development to work, we need innovative strength on all sides and joint and open work in networks,” said Esther Lind.

The costly research also raises questions at SAG: “How can you finance such costly research into new technologies and also scale it up quickly? Currently, switching from propulsion systems to LH2-powered vehicles would not be economical.” There is no doubt that the decarbonisation of transport must happen quickly. Which fuel will prevail in truck transport is still unclear. Esther Lind: “There will be many technologies, and not THE one. Each user will choose the drive that suits his market well.”

That might be interesting for you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

15. November 2023

A new binder for timber construction

Bauneg GmbH from Flachgau has developed a new type of binding agent for levelling wooden residential buildings that remains elastic and thus provides sound insulation. The SME was supported by the state’s innovation funding programme and Innovation Salzburg.

3. November 2023

Development of raw material recycling thanks to funding

The extraction of gravel produces extremely fine material that was previously considered waste. An innovation from Pongau makes it possible to utilise this material for the first time. This means that 100 per cent of the raw material can be used. The mechanical recovery process was developed by Christian Ehrensberger GmbH from Tenneck near Werfen.

Our Newsletter

SAG
Esther Lind von der SAG bei salz21. (Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Benedikt Schemmer)

15. Juni 2022

Warum die Salzburger Aluminium Group auf flüssigen Wasserstoff als Treibstoff für die Zukunft setzt

Bei alternativen Kraftstoffen für Nutzfahrzeuge rückt Flüssigwasserstoff (LH2) immer mehr in den Fokus. Die Salzburger Aluminium Group forscht daran, diesen in Tanks speichern zu können. Wie die SAG es schafft, LH2 bei – 253 Grad speichern zu können, erzählte Esther Lind von der SAG bei unseren Industry Talks beim Innovationsfestival salz21.

Der Dieselkraftstoff ist im Verkehr nicht nur durch eine einzige Technologie ersetzbar. Esther Lind, General Manager Sales and Innovation bei der Salzburger Aluminium Group (SAG), ließ damit bei den Industry Talks von Innovation Salzburg bei salz21 aufhorchen.

Lange Zeit war der Diesel DIE Lösung für alle Anwendungen im Verkehr. Doch muss er nun aufgrund seiner großen CO2-Emissionen ersetzt werden. Elektro- und zunehmend auch Wasserstoffantriebe setzen sich am Markt für den Personenverkehr durch. Der Wasserstoffantrieb erfolgt dabei entweder durch Verbrennung oder Brennstoffzellen und wird dabei gasförmig oder flüssig gespeichert. Heute am weitesten verbreitet ist die gasförmige Speicherung. Damit kann eine mittlere Reichweite von 400 bis 900 Kilometer erreicht werden. Das Gas braucht aber viel Platz beim Speichern und damit auch mehr Tanks pro Fahrzeug. Es ist daher nicht für jede Anwendung der richtige Treibstoff.

Speicherung von Flüssigwasserstoff als Herausforderung

Für Nutzfahrzeuge wird daher auch an alternativen Antriebsformen geforscht. In den letzten Jahren tritt dabei auch der Flüssigwasserstoff (LH2) in den Fokus. Er ist nachhaltiger, die Reichweite ist höher und vor allem benötigt er nicht so viel Platz für die Speicherung. „Auch die Luftfahrt beschäftigt sich immer mehr mit dieser Technologie. Das war vor einigen Jahren undenkbar“, fasste Esther Lind die Dynamik in der aktuellen Forschung zusammen.

Die SAG forscht daher an Speichertanks für flüssigen Wasserstoff. Die große Herausforderung dabei ist, dass dieser bei -253 Grad gespeichert werden muss. Die Temperatur muss stabil so kalt gehalten werden. Das funktioniert mit Isolatoren, die auch in der Raumfahrt Verwendung finden. Im Speichertank werden über 500 verschiedene Komponenten verbaut. „Die SAG arbeitet sich hier in ein völlig neues, sehr komplexes Segment ein. Und wir arbeiten mit Lieferanten, die ihre Produkte normalerweise nicht in diesen Mengen fertigen“, so Esther Lind.

Nachhaltige Mobilität nicht allein denken

Die gesamte Forschung ist daher eine große Herausforderung, die eine enge Zusammenarbeit von vielen Industriesegmenten und -partnern erfordert. „Wir können nachhaltige Mobilität nicht allein denken. Wir brauchen die Industrien, die Anwender:innen, aber auch die Infrastruktur. Damit man Prototypen auf die Straße bekommt, braucht es erstmal Tankstellen, wo Flüssigwasserstoff getankt werden kann. Damit die Entwicklung klappt, braucht es auf allen Seiten Innovationskraft und gemeinsames und offenes Arbeiten in Netzwerken“, sagte Esther Lind.

Die aufwändige Forschung wirft bei der SAG auch Fragen auf: „Wie kann man so eine aufwändige Forschung in neue Technologien finanzieren und auch schnell skalieren? Aktuell wäre der Umstieg von Antrieben auf LH2-betriebenen Fahrzeugen nicht wirtschaftlich.“ Dass die Dekarbonisierung des Verkehrs schnell gehen muss, daran gibt es keinen Zweifel. Welcher Treibstoff sich beim LKW-Verkehr durchsetzen werden, ist noch unklar. Esther Lind: „Es wird viele Technologien geben, und nicht DIE eine. Jeder Verwender wird den Antrieb wählen, der für seinen Markt gut passt.“

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

17. November 2022

Bioeconomy Austria: Wissenstransfer zu KMU

Das österreichweite Bioökonomie-Netzwerk befindet sich erfolgreich im Aufbau. Über 150 Partner:innen aus regionalen Clustern & Plattformen, Wirtschaft, Forschung, Politik und Gesellschaft sind bereits Teil des wachsenden Netzwerks und vom gemeinsamen Erfolg überzeugt.

3. Oktober 2022

Warum der Europäische Green Deal auch KMU betrifft

Die EU schafft mit dem Green Deal politische und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, um die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig umzubauen. Was bedeutet das für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU? Unsere Expertin Romana Schwab klärt im Interview auf.