Christian Neureiter, Senior Lecturer for Information Technology and System Management and Director of the Josef Ressel Center for Model-Based Development of Dependable Systems. Photo: Lagler/FH Salzburg.

14. June 2021

Salzburg’s innovative spirit: Christian Neureiter

Christian Neureiter is the head of the new Josef Ressel Center at FH Salzburg, where research is conducted on “Dependable System-of-Systems Engineering”. Together with industry partners, they are investigating how complex systems, such as Industry 4.0, can be reliably developed.

In examples such as Smart Grid, Smart Cities, Automotive, and Industry 4.0, the team led by Christian Neureiter, together with business partners, develops methods for reliably developing such complex systems. Josef Ressel Centers are characterized by the cooperation of science and industry, which jointly advance application-oriented research. Christian Neureiter explains his research to us.

You are researching cyber-physical systems – what does that mean?

This refers to a combination of hardware and software, such as software-controlled production facilities or autonomous driving cars. A critical aspect here is naturally reliability. For example, if an artificial intelligence in an online shop makes bad recommendations to the customer, not much happens. But if the software of a self-driving car makes a mistake, the consequences can be dramatic. So, it’s about ensuring that such systems work reliably in everyday life. To take into account critical properties such as reliability or safety “by design,” such systems must be viewed holistically and interdisciplinarily. That is also the motivation for our research: How can we enable a common understanding across all disciplines to create the basis for reliability?

What is meant by System-of-Systems?

The advancing networking holds the potential for more intensive cooperation between different systems. When systems decide to cooperate voluntarily to enable greater benefits, this is also called “System-of-Systems.” An example of this would be cooperation between the power grid and electric vehicles to make charging smarter.

What would be the greater benefit in our example of an electric car – power grid?

This could, for example, be more efficient use of the power grid while ensuring reliability. With price-controlled charging of electric vehicles, there could be many simultaneous switching operations, which could lead to undesired effects such as oscillations in the grid in the worst case. This is referred to as emergent behavior. To address this aspect in time, the simultaneous consideration of vehicles and the power grid is necessary – which in turn requires interdisciplinary cooperation between people from the automotive and power grid domains.

What needs to happen for systems to work together?

Systems become more complex by being connected to other systems. To be able to manage this, the people in the system need to come together. At the core of our research, it’s actually about people. They speak different languages of expertise, work with different methods, taxonomies, and terms. For example, the term “function” has a completely different meaning in software engineering and hardware engineering. In our research, we try to create a unified approach. This can be imagined with a small analogy from house construction. Here, architects, electricians, and plumbers have learned to work with 3D models together. Modeling is therefore an answer to complexity. The challenge here is to find a unified modeling concept.

What role do industry partners play in research?

Our industry partners play a crucial role, not only through funding our research and providing input, but also in making this center possible. The drive to establish the center was to institutionalize existing expertise structurally, an initiative that was well received and actively supported by our partners. We are particularly proud of the mix of our partners. In addition to the well-known global players Bosch and Siemens from Germany, we also have two particularly innovative Salzburg-based companies, GeoConsult Group and Has to be GmbH, on board. These partners and the combination provide a fantastic breeding ground for innovation.

How important is the connection to industry for you?

Very important. My own background is industrial, and I landed in academia almost by chance. Through my work at Salzburg AG in the context of the “Smart Grid Model Region Salzburg,” I had the opportunity to move into higher education with the founding of the first Josef Ressel Center in Salzburg. However, the connection to industry is still very important to me. That is also the reason why I have kept an industrial foothold. On the one hand, this grounds our work, and on the other hand, it provides the basis for research ideas and projects. This form of collaboration requires a lot of trust.

What fascinates you about Systems Engineering?

What fascinates me is that it’s really about bringing people together. As a natural generalist, I have always found it exciting to bring the individual puzzle pieces together, not just technically, but especially on the human and organizational level. And that’s actually what’s exciting about Systems Engineering: successful Systems Engineering doesn’t happen by prescribing new methods, but rather by integrating the people involved within an organization. There is a nice saying: “What does a math teacher teach? Simply put, children.” And it’s a bit like that in Systems Engineering. Interdisciplinary development begins with interdisciplinary teams, that is, the people who work together.

This might also interest you

25. August 2021

Salzburg’s Innovative Spirit: Karl Wagner

Karl Wagner is the CEO of CUBES GmbH, an innovative production company for molds of components for airplanes and cars. Conventional methods are expensive and time-consuming. Until now, mold makers could only cast large blocks and then cut the final shape with a milling machine. This results in a lot of waste material, long processing times, and delivery times.

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

Our Newsletter

Christian Neureiter__Copyright Lagler_FH Salzburg_2
Christian Neureiter, Senior Lecturer Informationstechnik & System-Management und Zentrumsleiter Josef Ressel Zentrum für modellbasierte Entwicklung verlässlicher Systeme. Foto: Lagler/FH Salzburg

14. Juni 2021

Salzburger Innovationsgeist: Christian Neureiter

Christian Neureiter ist Leiter des neuen Josef Ressel Zentrums an der FH Salzburg, in dem an „Dependable System-of-Systems Engineering“ geforscht wird. Gemeinsam mit Partnern aus der Wirtschaft erforschen sie, wie komplexe Systeme, wie Industrie 4.0, verlässlich entwickelt werden können.

An den Beispielen Smart Grid, Smart Cities, Automotive und Industrie 4.0 entwickelt das Team rund um Christian Neureiter gemeinsam mit Unternehmenspartnern Methoden, wie solche komplexen Systeme verlässlich entwickelt werden können. Josef Ressel Zentren zeichnen sich durch die Kooperation von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft aus, die gemeinsam anwendungsorientierte Forschung vorantreiben. Christian Neureiter erklärt uns seine Forschung.

Sie forschen an cyber-physischen Systemen – was versteht man darunter?

Darunter versteht man eine Kombination aus Hardware und Software, zum Beispiel durch Software gesteuerte Produktionsanlagen oder autonom fahrende Autos. Ein kritischer Aspekt hierbei ist naturgemäß die Verlässlichkeit. Wenn zum Beispiel eine künstliche Intelligenz in einem Webshop dem Kunden schlechte Vorschläge macht, passiert nicht viel. Wenn sich aber die Software eines selbstfahrenden Autos irrt, dann können die Konsequenzen dramatisch sein. Es geht also darum, dass solche Systeme im Alltag verlässlich funktionieren. Um kritische Eigenschaften wie Zuverlässigkeit oder Sicherheit „by design“ zu berücksichtigen, müssen solche Systeme ganzheitlich und interdisziplinär betrachten werden. Das ist auch die Motivation für unsere Forschung: Wie können wir ein gemeinsames Verständnis über alle Disziplinen hinweg ermöglichen, um damit die Basis für Verlässlichkeit zu schaffen?

Was versteht man unter System-of-Systems?

Die fortschreitende Vernetzung birgt das Potential für eine intensivere Kooperation zwischen unterschiedlichen Systeme. Wenn sich Systeme zur freiwilligen Kooperation entscheiden um einen höheren Nutzen zu ermöglichen, spricht man auch von „System-of-Systems“. Ein Beispiel hierfür wäre eine Kooperation zwischen Stromnetz und Elektrofahrzeug, um den Ladevorgang smart zu gestalten.

Was wäre der höhere Nutzen bei unserem Beispiel Elektroauto – Stromnetz?

Das könnte zum Beispiel eine effizientere Nutzung des Stromnetzes bei gleichzeitiger Gewährleistung von Zuverlässigkeit sein. Durch ein preisgesteuertes Laden von Elektrofahrzeugen könnte es zum Beispiel zu vielen gleichzeitigen Schaltvorgängen kommen, wodurch sich im schlimmsten Fall unerwünschte Effekte wie Schwingungen im Netz ergeben. Man spricht hier von emergentem Verhalten. Um diesem Aspekt rechtzeitig zu begegnen ist die simultane Betrachtung von Fahrzeugen und Stromnetz erforderlich – was wiederum eine interdisziplinäre Kooperation zwischen Menschen aus der Automotive und der Stromnetz Domäne voraussetzt.

Was muss passieren, damit Systeme zusammenarbeiten können?

Systeme werden durch die Vernetzung mit anderen Systemen komplexer. Um das beherrschen zu können, muss man die Menschen im System zusammenbringen. Beim Kern unserer Forschung geht es daher eigentlich um Menschen. Diese sprechen unterschiedliche Fachsprachen, arbeiten mit unterschiedlichen Methoden, Taxonomien und Begriffen. Zum Beispiel hat der Begriff „Funktion“ in Software- und in Hardware-Engineering eine vollständig unterschiedliche Bedeutung. In unserer Forschung versuchen wir, einen einheitlichen Zugang zu erschaffen. Das kann man sich mit einer kleinen Analogie vom Hausbau vorstellen. Hier haben Architekt:innen, Elektriker:innen und Installateur:innen gelernt, mit 3D-Modellen miteinander zu arbeiten. Modellierung ist also eine Antwort auf Komplexität. Die Herausforderung hierbei ist es, ein einheitliches Modellierungskonzept zu finden.

Welche Rolle spielen die Industriepartner in der Forschung?

Unsere Industriepartner spielen eine ganz zentrale Rolle, nicht nur durch die Finanzierung unserer Forschung und den Input den sie liefern. Vielmehr haben sie auch einen wesentlichen Anteil daran, dass dieses Zentrum erst möglich wurde. Ein Antriebe für die Gründung des Zentrums war es ja, bereits vorhandene Kompetenz strukturell zu institutionalisieren. Ein Vorhaben, das bei unseren Partnern auf offene Ohren gestoßen ist und aktiv mitgetragen wurde. Besonders stolz sind wir auch auf die Mixtur unserer Partner. Neben den bekannten Global Playern Bosch und Siemens aus Deutschland haben wir mit der GeoConsult Gruppe und der Has to be GmbH auch zwei besonders innovationsstarke Salzburger Unternehmen an Board. Diese Partner bzw. die Kombination stellt einen fantastischen Nährboden für Innovation dar.

Wie wichtig ist Ihnen die Verbindung zur Industrie?

Sehr wichtig. Mein eigener Background ist ja auch industriell und ich bin eher aus Zufall in der Wissenschaft gelandet. Durch meine Tätigkeit bei der Salzburg AG im Rahmen der „Smart Grid Modellregion Salzburg“ ergab sich die Chance, mit der Gründung des ersten Josef Ressel Zentrums in Salzburg in den Hochschulbereich zu wechseln. Der Bezug zur Industrie ist mir aber nach wie vor sehr wichtig. Das ist auch der Grund, warum ich mir ein industrielles Standbein behalten habe. Einerseits erdet das unsere Arbeit, andererseits liefert das die Basis für Forschungsideen und Projekte. Diese Form der Zusammenarbeit setzt aber sehr viel Vertrauen voraus.

Was fasziniert Sie so an Systems Engineering?

Mich fasziniert, dass es eigentlich um das Zusammenbringen von Menschen geht. Als geborener Generalist habe ich es schon immer spannend gefunden, die einzelnen Puzzlestücke zusammenzubringen. Nicht nur technisch, sondern ganz besonders auch auf der menschlichen und organisatorischen Ebene. Und das ist eigentlich bei Systems Engineering auch das Spannende: Erfolgreiches Systems Engineering passiert nicht durch das Verordnen neuer Methoden, sondern ganz wesentlich auf der Integration der der beteiligten Menschen innerhalb einer Organisation. Es gibt ja den schönen Spruch: „Was unterrichtet ein Mathelehrer? Ganz einfach: Kinder.“ Und so ist es auch ein bisschen in Systems Engineering. Interdisziplinäre Entwicklung beginnt mit interdisziplinären Teams, also den Menschen, die zusammenarbeiten.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

25. August 2021

Salzburger Innovationsgeist: Karl Wagner

Karl Wagner ist Geschäftsführer der CUBES GmbH, einer innovativen Produktionsfirma von Formen für Bauteile von Flugzeugen und Autos. Herkömmliche Verfahren sind teuer und zeitaufwändig. Bisher konnten Formenbauer nur große Blöcke gießen und daraus mit der Fräse die endgültige Form zuschneiden. Viel Verschnittmaterial, lange Bearbeitungszeiten und Lieferzeiten sind die Folge.

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.