Peter Dorfinger, Photo: Salzburg Research

22. December 2020

Internationally recognized expertise

Salzburg Research won the silver medal in an international challenge on the topic of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning in the field of 5G, surpassing more than 900 international teams with their expertise.

Communications networks are an important lifeline of our society. In order to keep up with the enormous technological progress, they will be operated with the support of Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) in the future. “Especially with regard to real-time networks, where transmission guarantees must be given and adhered to, good and rapid prediction of delays in the backbone network is important,” says Peter Dorfinger, Head of the Intelligent Connectivity department at Salzburg Research. “With the help of reliable predictions, network operators can quickly reconfigure their network or test various network configurations.”

Numerous organizations worldwide are researching how Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML) can best be used in future networks, including 5G networks. In an international challenge, 911 teams from 62 countries competed with their know-how in 23 individual challenges. The best teams were invited to the final in late December 2020. Salzburg Research achieved an excellent second place across all 23 challenges.

Gold went to China Mobile. Among the other participants were TU Berlin, Imperial College London, Eurecom, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Inria, Fraunhofer HHI, NEC, IMDEA and many more.

Efficient AI solution

The research team primarily achieved second place through the efficiency of the developed AI/ML solution: “While the solutions of other teams had to learn for a whole week, the AI from Salzburg Research was only trained for 48 hours and still predicted the delay excellently,” says Dorfinger. Another decisive factor for success is the interdisciplinarity in the research team, consisting of mathematicians and computer scientists. “Our knowledge of networks enabled us to keep the complexity of the system low. The expertise from mathematics provided additional performance,” Dorfinger continues.

The research and development work of the Salzburg Research researchers Martin Happ, Christian Maier, Jia Lei Du and Matthias Herlich was carried out within the framework of the IDA Lab Salzburg.

That might also interest you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

7. November 2023

Utilizing Funding for Artificial Intelligence (AI)

The Austria Wirtschaftsservice (aws) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) offer various fundings for companies looking to work with new technology.

Our Newsletter

IMG_0884_web
Peter Dorfinger, Foto: Salzburg Research

22. Dezember 2020

International ausgezeichnetes Know-how

Salzburg Research erreichte bei einer internationalen Challenge zum Thema Künstliche Intelligenz und Maschinelles Lernen im Bereich 5G die Silbermedaille. Damit setzten sich die Forscher mit ihrem Know-how gegen mehr als 900 internationale Teams durch.

Kommunikationsnetze sind eine wichtige Lebensader unserer Gesellschaft. Damit sie mit dem enormen technologischen Fortschritt schritthalten können, werden sie in Zukunft mit Unterstützung von Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) und maschinellem Lernen (ML) betrieben werden. „Gerade im Hinblick auf Echtzeitnetze, in denen Übertragungsgarantien gegeben und eingehalten werden müssen, ist eine gute und rasche Vorhersage von Verzögerungen im Backbone-Netzwerk wichtig“, sagt Peter Dorfinger, Leiter des Bereichs Intelligent Connectivity bei Salzburg Research. „Mit Hilfe von zuverlässigen Vorhersagen können Netzwerkbetreiber ihr Netz rasch umkonfigurieren oder verschiedene Netzwerkkonfigurationen testen.“

Weltweit forschen zahlreiche Organisationen, wie Künstliche Intelligenz/Machine Learning (KI/ML) in zukünftigen Netzwerken, einschließlich 5G-Netzwerken, am besten eingesetzt werden kann. Bei einer internationalen Challenge traten 911 Teams aus 62 Ländern mit ihrem Know-how bei 23 Einzel-Challenges an. Die besten Teams wurden Ende Dezember 2020 ins Finale eingeladen. Salzburg Research erreichte dort den hervorragenden zweiten Platz über alle 23 Challenges hinweg.

Gold ging an China Mobile. Unter den weiteren Teilnehmern waren die TU Berlin, das Imperial College London, die Eurecom, die Chinese Academy of Sciences, Inria, Fraunhofer HHI, NEC, IMDEA und viele mehr.

Effiziente KI-Lösung

Den zweiten Platz erreichte das Forscherteam vorrangig durch die Effizienz der entwickelten KI/ML-Lösung: „Während die Lösungen anderer Teams teilweise eine ganze Woche lang lernen mussten, wurde die KI aus dem Hause Salzburg Research nur 48 Stunden lang trainiert und konnte dennoch die Verzögerung hervorragend vorhersagen“, sagt Dorfinger. Entscheidend für den Erfolg ist außerdem die Interdisziplinarität im Forschungsteam, bestehend aus Mathematikern und Informatikern. „Durch unser Wissen über Netzwerke konnten wir die Komplexität des Systems niedrig halten. Das Know-how aus der Mathematik sorgte für zusätzliche Performanz“, so Dorfinger weiter.

Die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit der Salzburg Research-Forscher Martin Happ, Christian Maier, Jia Lei Du und Matthias Herlich erfolgte im Rahmen des IDA Lab Salzburg.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.

19. September 2022

PMU erforscht regeneratives Potential von extrazellulären Vesikeln zusammen mit Boehringer Ingelheim

Extrazelluläre Vesikel Theralytische Technologien ist ein Leitprojekt der Wissenschafts- und Innovationsstrategie des Landes Salzburg und wird aus Mitteln des Landes Salzburg und des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung für Investitionen in Wachstum und Beschäftigung gefördert.