Photo: Gerd Altmann on Pixabay

16. December 2020

New Josef Ressel Center: How to connect complex systems

The new Josef Ressel Center at the Salzburg University of Applied Sciences is researching how systems can be built to reliably function in conjunction with other systems.

In technical development, various trends can currently be observed. On the one hand, things are becoming “smart”, i.e. they are receiving software-supported functionality, and on the other hand, they are being interconnected. But what happens when these trends affect sensitive areas on which we depend? At the end of November, the “Josef Ressel Centre for Dependable System-of-Systems Engineering” was opened at the University of Applied Sciences Salzburg, which addresses these questions.

The watch has long since become a smartwatch with a built-in fitness tracker. Devices such as televisions, computers, and mobile phones are connected to each other, so that movies stored on the computer can easily be watched on the TV via WLAN. But networking is not only entering the field of consumer electronics.

Sensitive areas such as the power grid (smart grid), transportation (e-mobility), industrial production (industry 4.0), or entire cities (smart cities) are now interconnected. Since there are significantly more different components involved here than with a smartwatch, these are referred to as complex systems. These can in turn form into system-of-systems, for example, when electric vehicles are connected to the power grid for charging.

Complex systems in combination as a challenge

Mastering highly complex systems – especially in combination as “system-of-systems” – is a central challenge of the future. These systems must above all be able to ensure reliable operation.

For example, the power grid and e-mobility are developed and operated by completely different actors. The various disciplines use different technical languages, concepts, and methods. When these systems are supposed to work together, unplanned effects can occur that affect their reliability.

If, for example, e-mobility is further expanded in the future and cheaper charging for electric cars is offered at certain times, simultaneity effects can occur. If many electric cars are waiting for the rate to become cheaper and start charging at that moment, there can be negative feedback on the power grid in the worst case scenario. To ensure reliable operation, the power grid and e-mobility must be considered as a system-of-systems in their entirety. Similar to building a house, the different actors must work together well – in our case, for example, vehicle developers with energy providers. They must find a common “language” and understand each other’s concepts.

Christian Neureiter__Copyright Lagler_FH Salzburg_2
Christian Neureiter, Senior Lecturer Informationtechnic & System-Management and Director of the Josef Ressel Center for Model-Based Development of Dependable Systems is researching reliable systems. Photo: Lagler/FH Salzburg

The Josef Ressel Center is researching System-of-Systems

At a new research center at FH Salzburg, they are dealing precisely with this issue. At the Josef Ressel Center for Model-Based Development of Dependable Systems, innovative development methods for interdisciplinary engineering of such highly complex systems are being researched. A central research question for the next five years is how systems can be built to function reliably and be compatible as a system-of-systems. The goal is to develop reference models – a kind of “catalog of prefabricated houses” – for systems that work essentially and have been tested and can be adapted to specific needs as required.

That might also be of interest to you

17. January 2024

Research premium – this is how you apply!

SMEs can apply to the tax office for a research premium for expenditure on research and development (R&D). We show you how it works!

23. November 2023

Digital Motion: Enhancing Movement with Technology

Several research institutions in Salzburg, along with additional partners, have succeeded in bringing another COMET project to Salzburg with “Digital Motion.” COMET is the flagship program for promoting cutting-edge research in Austria.

17. November 2023

Salzburg gets its first virtual production studio

Take 2 Studios in Salzburg Sam opens Austria’s first virtual production studio.

8. November 2023

Training courses for Filmmakers

Salzburg is the second-largest media hub in Austria and a versatile location for (film) productions. So, it’s the perfect place to start your education in this field

Our Newsletter

smart-home-g4d85f275f_1920
Foto: Gerd Altmann on Pixabay

16. Dezember 2020

Neues Josef Ressel Zentrum: Wie man komplexe Systeme verbindet

Im neuen Josef Ressel Zentrum an der FH Salzburg wird erforscht, wie Systeme so gebaut werden können, dass sie im Verbund mit anderen Systemen verlässlich funktionieren können.

In der technischen Entwicklung sind aktuell verschiedene Trends zu beobachten. Zum einen werden Dinge „smart“, erhalten also Software-gestützte Funktionalität, zum anderen werden sie vernetzt. Doch was passiert, wenn diese Trends sensible Bereiche betreffen, auf die wir angewiesen sind? Ende November wurde das »Josef Ressel Centre for Dependable System-of-Systems Engineering« an der FH Salzburg eröffnet, das diesen Fragen nachgeht.

Die Uhr ist längst zur Smartwatch mit eingebautem Fitness-Tracker geworden. Geräte wie Fernseher, PC und Handy sind miteinander verbunden, sodass am Rechner gespeicherte Filme problemlos über WLAN am TV-Gerät angeschaut werden können. Doch nicht nur in der Unterhaltungselektronik hält die Vernetzung Einzug.

Sensible Bereiche wie das Stromnetz (Smart Grid), der Verkehr (E-Mobilität), die industrielle Produktion (Industrie 4.0) oder ganze Städte (Smart Cities) sind mittlerweile vernetzt. Da hier wesentlich mehr unterschiedliche Komponenten im Spiel sind als etwa bei einer Smartwatch, spricht man von komplexen Systemen. Diese können sich wiederum zu System-of-Systems formieren, beispielsweise wenn elektrische Fahrzeuge beim Aufladen mit dem Stromnetz verbunden werden.

Komplexe Systeme im Verbund als Herausforderung

Das Beherrschen hochkomplexer Systeme – insbesondere im Verbund als „System-of-Systems“ – stellt eine zentrale Herausforderung der Zukunft dar. Diese Systeme müssen vor allem eines können: einen verlässlichen Betrieb gewährleisten.

Stromnetz und E-Mobilität beispielsweise werden aber von völlig unterschiedlichen Akteur:innen entwickelt und betrieben. Die verschiedenen Disziplinen verwenden unterschiedliche Fachsprachen, Konzepte und Methoden. Wenn diese Systeme zusammenarbeiten sollen, kann es zu ungeplanten Effekten kommen, die deren Verlässlichkeit beeinflussen.

Wird zum Beispiel die Elektromobilität in Zukunft weiter ausgebaut und wird zu gewissen Zeiten kostengünstigeres Laden für E-Autos angeboten, kann es zu Gleichzeitigkeitseffekten kommen. Wenn viele E-Autos darauf warten, dass der Tarif günstiger wird und in dem Moment zu laden beginnen, kann es im ungünstigsten Fall zu negativen Rückwirkungen auf das Stromnetz kommen. Um einen verlässlichen Betrieb zu gewährleisten, müssen Stromnetz und E-Mobilität als System-of-Systems in ihrer Ganzheit betrachtet werden. Ähnlich wie beim Bau eines Hauses müssen die verschiedenen Akteur:innen gut zusammenarbeiten – in unserem Fall etwa Fahrzeugentwickler:innen mit Energie-Anbieter:innen. Sie müssen eine gemeinsame „Sprache“ finden und ihre jeweiligen Konzepte verstehen.

Christian Neureiter__Copyright Lagler_FH Salzburg_2
Christian Neureiter, Senior Lecturer Informationstechnik & System-Management und Zentrumsleiter Josef Ressel Zentrum für modellbasierte Entwicklung verlässlicher Systeme. Foto: Lagler/FH Salzburg

Josef Ressel Zentrum erforscht System-of-Systems

In einem neuen Forschungszentrum an der FH Salzburg beschäftigt man sich genau mit dieser Problematik. Am Josef Ressel Zentrum für modellbasierte Entwicklung verlässlicher Systeme wird an innovativen Entwicklungsmethoden für interdisziplinäres Engineering solcher hochkomplexer Systeme geforscht. Eine zentrale Forschungsfrage für die nächsten fünf Jahre ist, wie Systeme so gebaut werden können, dass sie als System-of-Systems verlässlich funktionieren und kompatibel sind. Ziel ist es, Referenz-Modelle – sozusagen einen „Fertigteilhaus-Katalog“ – für Systeme zu entwickeln, die im wesentlichen funktionieren und erprobt sind und im Bedarfsfall an die spezifischen Bedürfnisse angepasst werden können.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

5. Dezember 2022

Für die Fachkräfte von Morgen

Seit 2020 begleiten wir mit Lehre Salzburg junge Menschen bei der Findung des passenden Berufs. Das tun wir auf lehre-salzburg.at und mit einer preisgekrönten Medienkampagne.

1. Dezember 2022

Das sollten Sie über Förderungen wissen

Damit Sie für den nächsten Förderantrag gewappnet sind, beantworten wir Ihnen hier die wichtigsten Fragen rund um das Thema Innovationsförderungen.

28. November 2022

Gesünderer Lebensstil durch digitale Hilfsmittel

Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für digitale Gesundheit und Prävention in Salzburg feiert dreijährigen Geburtstag.

30. September 2022

COPA-DATA eröffnet neues Gebäude

Ende September wurde das zweite Bürogebäude von COPA-DATA in Salzburg eröffnet. Dort wurden moderne Arbeitsplätze für 120 Mitarbeiter:innen geschaffen. Wir waren bei der Eröffnung dabei.